We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #13 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a group of parents with children on the arts trip to learn about Mozart. The management and staff has been friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating. All the places of interest are withing walking distance. We were attracted by the location and beauty and history of the hotel. We plan to be back and will only stay in Elefant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeraSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 461 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

I at first was not going to rank this as a five, due to the difficult internet service, but that is a small matter in the larger picture. This hotel is directly in the old city, with most of the most favorite sites such as the Residence, Mozart birthplace, Dome, restaurants, shops, small grocer, market, and more within a two minute walk. The bed and bedding are excellent, the breakfast includes some hot items and a friendly staff along with tical Austrian breakfast items. If you can get an oversized room, go for it, as it makes your stay even more comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get the oversized double if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abclsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Although a little confusing to actually find if you're new to Salzburg, actually a wonderful and well-located hotel! We loved everything about staying here. It introduced us to truly staying IN the city centre. Breakfast every morning with an outstanding staff who knew that a positive attitude in the morning made all the difference in the rest of the day. A sitting room on the same floor as the breakfast room for a little 'home away from home' (although the computer could be updated and run a little quicker please?!). And the reception staff, especially Stephanie, (can you please come home with me and run things around here too?!), were super helpful, interested, and positive too. Also, just a little shout out to the Stein Hotel across the river that helped us on a dark and rainy night to find Hotel Elefant and invited us back to sit on their outdoor dining roof top on a dryer evening - which we did the next 2 nights in a row!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had an okay stay at the BW Hotel Elefant. It is right in the main pedestrian district. There is nearby parking which is about a 5 minute walk away. Some of the less than stellar experiences include automatic water in the bathroom sink. Unless you had your hands right under and close to the faucet, it did not turn on. Our shower door was broken and had to be replaced. The single room which we booked for our daughter was very tiny - more like a small cabin on a ship.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmarymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I was reminded I needed to write a review when going through my photos and finding a grainy picture of dust on a lampshade. I had wanted to take more but as my stay at this hotel was part of a birthday surprise I thought it would seem ungrateful, but there was loads of built in dirt in our small room.
Breakfast was also disappointing. The first morning there the breakfast room was really busy and the only table free was piled with crockery, clearly other guests had been clearing tables to it. If staff upon seeing us hovering with nowhere to sit had. ILearned the table straight away it would have been ok. Instead they kept rushing past us, refilling half empty juice jugs. We did get a table when I eventually getting someone's attention and we were able to fill up on cake and cracker bread. The food matched the service.
Given the amazing TA reviews my boyfriend had thought he was booking a treat hotel, really it's location and the fact it's not full on filthy is the only thing it's got.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silentboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,138 reviews
0.3 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
596 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,054 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,576 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: ₹ 8,122 - ₹ 33,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing