We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base in Salzburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Ranked #19 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
250 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good base in Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Nice hotel walking distance from the railway station. Has also parking available for driving guests. We had a huge room with big bathroom and a separate toilet room with a sink. Towels and linen clean and of good quality. We did not have breakfast. Staff helpful and polite. We did not use the rooftop sauna. A good place to stay in Salzburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    371
    109
    24
    9
See reviews for
209
339
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen is wonderfully located near the train station and walking distance from Mirabell Gardens and close enough to the old town. The staff, overall was friendly and helpful. Daniel was probably the most friendliest of the staff.

The rooms were very spacious. However, the beds were very hard and the noise level from the street was LOUD. If we closed the windows, the room would get very hot and stuffy. We tried to turn the fan on, but it would just blow hot hair...or worse, we could smell what was cooking in the restaurant. The furnishings were outdated....super outdated.

Perhaps we were spoiled with our hotel in Paris, but Achat should have at least been similar in quality as they were both rated 4 Star hotels. The difference in quality was day and night. At best, I would rate Achat a 2.5 star. It received 4 stars perhaps because of the location?

12 Euros for breakfast per person was not appropriate for this property. Although 12 Euros is not a lot, you can find better breakfast at near by restaurants for a lot less....near Mirabell Gardens.

Although we spent very little time in our room, we would have enjoyed a more comfortable accommodation after long days of touring.

Room Tip: Do not elect the breakfast. Find better breakfast at nearby restaurants for A LOT less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Achat Plaza for 3 nights. The Hotel is located about three to four blocks from the Salzburg train and bus station. The staff at the Hotel was very helpful and easy to deal for any additional request.

The location is a plus for any tourist or business person because the hotel has a large private parking lot for those that rent or use a car.

The room was well laid out and clean. The bathroom shower was a little small but I didn't mind that too much like I need to sleep on it. They offer free Wifi, TV (not flat screen but I didn't care too much about it), heating and air on the rooms (not all hotels in Europe offer A/C). Also, there is a little refrigerator for your use if you want to go to and buy at the gocery store or the Shell gas station and put there your wine, beer etc... plus you get you wine & beer glass ware. You also have at your disposition an electric kettle to make tea or coffee (for those that need their morning pick me up first sip). Plenty of space on the furnitures to store your clothes or other items. For valuables the room comes with a safe.

Breakfast is not free but it cost 12 euro per person. It might be a little bit high for some but they do have a great selection of meats, cheeses, bread, cereals etc. They have a nice bar for those that need to have some beers or any nite cap.

Just be careful with the light fixtures laid out on the walls of the rooms if you are a little bit tall (5',10" or 1.78 meters plus), you can bump your head and it hurts. I will recommend the hotel to remove those fixtures and place them somewhere else.

Other than that the Achat Plaza is nice Hotel to spend some nights in Salzbrug.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iskch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Achat Plaza for 3 nights and found it very comfortable. The staff was amazing and the location was great. Able to get around Salzburg very easy. The rooms were nice and clean. Stay away from the Shell gas station as they were very over priced. Walk across the street to the Army Store which is actually a very nice mall with a grocery store which has great prices including beer and wine. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is not a high end chain, but worth the money. I usually do not write review, but this hotel has value. Hope you enjoyed this review!

Room Tip: Go out the front and about a block down same side of road is a local bar and restaurant. Local fare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Achat. For three nights in May. The room we had was spacious and the bathroom was one of the largest we have used during the past 6 weeks of travel. The hotel was very clean and quiet and the staff were courteous and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 km away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#24 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.8 km away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.5 km away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen

Property: ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
Address: Saint-Julien-Strasse 21-23, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,451 - ₹ 10,266
Hotel Class:4 star — ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hirschen", for generations owned by the same family, is a traiditional, constantly improved and renovated quality 4-stars-hotel, ideally situated, with a choice of spacious and charming rooms, all airconditined, a beautiful (free) sauna-complex, a traditional, cosy and locally popular organic restaurant with moderate rates and a large beergarden as well as a large parking place. (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Hotel Salzburg
Achat Plaza Zum Hirschen Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing