We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colinlew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is 150 years old. It has recently been refurbished but retains its period charm and comfort. The rooms were excellent, slightly small perhaps but understandable in a hotel of this age. There is a very pleasant Plaza bar. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel; the restaurant was packed and the buffet did not look inviting. Instead we went around the corner to a good cafe and had an excellent breakfast for a third of the price. The steam room and the sauna in the spa area are well maintained, and were not over-used during our stay. The staff at reception were very helpful and very friendly. The Pitter Kellar restaurant attached to the hotel is traditional with Austrian food. The fifteen minutes stroll into the old town is best taken through the Mirabelle gardens and along the river.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guest thank you very much for your time to post a review to Tripadvisor. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet did not meet your needs. Normally the price of the Breakfast if you are travelling with kids is not higher then the one in nearby places. We offer the full range of egg plates, coffee and tea specialties at no additional cost. Next time please review if it makes sense to book including breakfast as the surcharge is less then the normal breakfast price. Thank you again for your time. All the best from freezing Salzburg. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,014 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Upgraded 2 a junior suite on arrival great start , very very comfy bed , pool tiny but spotless . Wifi with a connection charge come on guys 4 star hotel? Free just about everywhere else in town

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexbaba179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Excellent that you loved the bedding in your Junior Suite. I am really sorry that you where not happy about the WIFI charges. We have already decreased the rates by a third. Still the investment was very high in this old building. But good news. With immediate effect WIFI is free in the public areas and the Restaurants. It is a matter of time when all our Hotels will grant free Wifi access. Have a good time and thank you again for your time. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is well located right near the Mirabell Gardens - and you can easily walk into the Old Town along the river. The parking is a little distance away, but the staff helped us find what to do.

The hotel feels a little dated - and is probably in need of a renovation/refurbishment - but it's obvious that they have done the rooms recently - if not the corridors. The house-keeping staff were kind and helpful, if the reception staff weren't particularly memorable.

The restaurant "Pitskeller" is great - and the range of food is good, as we couldn't really find anywhere else to eat around the place - as it felt it was sort of in the "business district" of Salzburg.

Room Tip: There isn't any great views. If you're looking for one with a view over Salzburg - stay at H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Yes we admit our "lady" is old but we all love this 150 year old Hotel! We are currently in the planning process of a major redo of our rooms which will hopefully begin in January 2013. But the most important asset of a Hotel are the people working there and we are so glad that you liked our service. Thank you again. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The stay in this hotel was short. We had been holiday-ing in the Tirol region in Austria and had an early flight the next day.
The few staff we had encounters with were friendly. There were around 30 other parties checking in at the same time but they were efficient. The room, a twin, was standard and actually quite small. The bathroom was not well organised, the toilet was directly behind the door, but the shower was good and small toiletries were provided (which proved essential as we had used all of ours on the main part of our holiday). Reception also provided us with a dental kit upon asking at reception (again we left ours behind!). Very helpful.
The room was unbelieably hot and as a result we had to open the window but it was raining and the rain dripped onto a metal roof, which was just outside and below the window, all night- did not provide for a good sleep.

Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was fantastic. The best buffet selection I have ever seen! Cooked breakfast, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, waffles, chocolate, jams, marmelades, hams, cheeses, pates... I could go on!!

I can not comment on the hotels proximity to locations as we were only there for 12 hours at the most. I would recommend this hotel for short visits though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilly_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear lilly_424,

thank you so much for your time to rate the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are so sorry that the room was too hot during your short stay. I assume that our system could not react in time to the temperature switches outside. It is indeed an old Hotel and sometimes we struggle a bit with the technical fittings even though we already spent a fortune on the updates... Thank you for your great feedback on the breakfast. that is the most important meal of the day and should allways be very good! I hope to see you again at the "Pitter". Best regards, Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for 2012 New Year's Eve with my husband. Location is perfect as you can reach to the downtown in 10 minutes by walk . The restaurant "Pitterkeller" is wonderful, had a perfect dinner there. Also the room service is very very punctual and first-rate. The room was cleaned everyday regularly and we never had a problem or water, electricity, a/c, etc.
Only problem I had was sleeping since the pillows were rather uncomfortable. There is also a gym, indoor pool and sauna but we didn't experience. As we booked quite early the price was reasonable for a period like that... Do not hesitate to choose!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pesciolaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
0.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
1,089 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.8 km away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
0.7 km away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg

Address: Rainerstrasse 6, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#14 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: ₹ 7,744 - ₹ 19,720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition in personalized service and hospitality since 1864. Modernity and unique ambiance thanks to previous € 25 mio-renovations. Privately owned and run by the IMLAUER family. The newly renovated hotel offers 198 rooms and suites and is located directly in the city centre of Salzburg. Reach the famous Mirabell Garden & Castle within 2 walking minutes and the main station within 7 minutes by foot. Salzburg Airport is easily accessed by car or public transport. The IMLAUER Sky - Bar & Restaurant offers spectacular views across the roofs of Mozart's city and an award-winning cuisine. In our legendary beer cellar "PitterKeller" typical, regional specialities are served. Located on the top floor our fitness area with sauna is free of charge for all our hotel guests. In the ground floor the "Pitter Event Center" offers 1,200 sqm function space for 5 - 500 delegates. Natural daylight in all six sections of the "Pitter Saal", which offers 450 sqm and six unique glass domes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing