We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classic old world charm and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Classic old world charm and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend stopover in Salzburg.
Simply put, I was overwhelmed at the exceptional customer service from start to finish. Was greeted at check-in with flair, charm and respect. Front desk manager went out of his way to ensure I had a package of helpful information to get the most out of my brief stay in Salzburg. Was provided with helpful and friendly assistance to room - they brought my suitcase to room for me after ensuring I was happy with room.
Was upgraded to suite in recognition of Starwood membership - beautiful room with loads of charm that did justice to magnificent 600 year history of building while having been tastefully upgraded with modern conveniences.
Wireless network was fast and best of all was free.
After checking out and again being treated with exceptional flair and professional courtesy I proceeded on my way to Heidelberg, Germany by car.
3 hours later I received an email from hotel manager informing me that I had left my camera behind and offering to send it to me at my next destination. I called and he agreed to mail it to my home in Canada as I was only in Europe for 1-2 more days. Just superior customer service that is rarely found anymore.
Location of hotel was premium - right on main pedestrian street in Old Town just down the street from Mozart's birth house. Doesn't get any better.
I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canaussie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    164
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
197
447
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hartford,ct
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I wish we had more than 1 night at this hotel. We drove into town with no map, called the hotel and they were kind enough to talk us there by way of landmarks.
The room was beautiful. The linens on the bed were so soft, they felt like Oprah quality 800+thread count. Allthough the room was filled with old world charm. The bathroom was very up to date and filled top to bottom with every amentity one would need and more. The staff was Johnny on the spot. Silly me, I left my toothbrush at the last hotel. I called down to the front desk, the clerk was up to my room in less than a minute. They made reservations at a restaurant in town and also had walking directions waiting for us at the Front Desk. These people are all about attention to detail. The restaurant is so sweet I wish we had time to stay for breakfast, but we were off to the airport

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winegurl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

my room was large and beautiful. the hotel is great for a quick visit or extended stay. walk out front door and step right into heart of Salzburg. all staff were very friendly and willing to help in any way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and we were given the suite. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. If you want to experience the atmosphere of an Austrian village, this is the place to be.
Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Our room was just adorable, all wood and marble.
This hotel is at the top of the main street of Salzburg just under the rock. The restaurant on site is considered up scale and reservation is a must. Just 50m down the street there is the sister restaurant with a more casual atmosphere.
We loved the Goldener Hirsch, definitely the best hotel in Salzburg! We will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel offer a vallee parking but you can easily park under the "rock" which is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went to salzburg in December 2011 for the christmas markets. We travel to various destinations within Germany and Austria annually for these. On this occasion we decided to stay in the goldener hirsch and what a great decision this turned out to be. The hotel is completely charming with traditional decor and excellent service. we were warmly greeted on check in and shown to a gorgeous room. The bar is very sweet and was full of festive touches, including a large candle surrounded by a Christmas wreath on the bar. Service was excellent but unobtrusive, the barman always appearing just when you needed something. We had dinner in the more casual of the two restaurants in the hotel and the food was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that in January, when we decided to take a train journey through the alps from Zurich to Innsbruck and on to Salzburg we stayed here again. We had another wonderful stay and are looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eidub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 137 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#6 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,867 - ₹ 34,118
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing