We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 130 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
hartford,ct
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Day in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I wish we had more than 1 night at this hotel. We drove into town with no map, called the hotel and they were kind enough to talk us there by way of landmarks.
The room was beautiful. The linens on the bed were so soft, they felt like Oprah quality 800+thread count. Allthough the room was filled with old world charm. The bathroom was very up to date and filled top to bottom with every amentity one would need and more. The staff was Johnny on the spot. Silly me, I left my toothbrush at the last hotel. I called down to the front desk, the clerk was up to my room in less than a minute. They made reservations at a restaurant in town and also had walking directions waiting for us at the Front Desk. These people are all about attention to detail. The restaurant is so sweet I wish we had time to stay for breakfast, but we were off to the airport

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winegurl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    169
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
209
467
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

my room was large and beautiful. the hotel is great for a quick visit or extended stay. walk out front door and step right into heart of Salzburg. all staff were very friendly and willing to help in any way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and we were given the suite. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. If you want to experience the atmosphere of an Austrian village, this is the place to be.
Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Our room was just adorable, all wood and marble.
This hotel is at the top of the main street of Salzburg just under the rock. The restaurant on site is considered up scale and reservation is a must. Just 50m down the street there is the sister restaurant with a more casual atmosphere.
We loved the Goldener Hirsch, definitely the best hotel in Salzburg! We will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel offer a vallee parking but you can easily park under the "rock" which is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went to salzburg in December 2011 for the christmas markets. We travel to various destinations within Germany and Austria annually for these. On this occasion we decided to stay in the goldener hirsch and what a great decision this turned out to be. The hotel is completely charming with traditional decor and excellent service. we were warmly greeted on check in and shown to a gorgeous room. The bar is very sweet and was full of festive touches, including a large candle surrounded by a Christmas wreath on the bar. Service was excellent but unobtrusive, the barman always appearing just when you needed something. We had dinner in the more casual of the two restaurants in the hotel and the food was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that in January, when we decided to take a train journey through the alps from Zurich to Innsbruck and on to Salzburg we stayed here again. We had another wonderful stay and are looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eidub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Loved the hotel just as much the second time around!

Reserved, understated refinement. With handcrafted furnishings, looped rugs, and the rustic hunting lodge or Austria equestrian feel to the hotel, some may find this less than luxurious. Those that don’t appreciate this style may view the hotel as outdated, and worn. We loved it . . . again!

Saw 7 different rooms (due to the undying patience of the staff in trying to accommodate my whim for a huge bathroom – this attempt was way and above and appreciated). All are different, all beautiful – if you like simplistic comforts – if not, you should look elsewhere for plusher touches.

Some rooms have lower ceilings than others – so ask to see your room before hand to ensure the ceiling height is acceptable to you … but all are ruggedly rich! Not slick, not gold, not silk, and not bold. Rustically Rich.

The staff is professional (with the exception of one condescending person). Not bubbly, or overly friendly, but service orientated. (Like long term hospitality experts vs. overanxious hotel employees.) They call each other "my colleague", if that gives you a clue.

Some may find this less than personable. I’d label it polished service, as one staff member told me that most of the staff have been there ten years+ and were more like family than employees, and felt their guest should be treated with great respect while visiting their home.

It is not an inexpensive hotel, so be prepared to spend if you use the hotel’s amenities. This 600+ years hotel is not like or feel like a modern day chain hotel, nor will the amenities, i.e. parking, gym, business centers, heating (heating pipes – loved it!) or A.C. fit seamlessly into the building. They are provided, and current, but not to the level of a modern facility. Although a Starwood property, it still maintains its’ aged character.

We have stayed in many differently rated properties, from hostels to 5 star hotels, and ratings determine your expectations. If you are open to a culturally different, ‘Old World Salzburg’ 5 star experience, from the huge solid wooden door upon entry, to the stag and elk décor and wood beams throughout, to the traditionally Austrian dressed housekeeper, to the cotton linen and authentic food, this is THE wonderfully located, fun, quaint Salzburg place to stay.

Hotel Goldener Hirsch is 600+ years of history and ambience, catering to all walks of life, and is thus uniquely different. Different strokes for different folks!

Room Tip: Ask to see room, as some ceilings are low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#7 of 130 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 130 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 130 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 130 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#8 of 130 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 km away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#11 of 130 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,017 - ₹ 45,169
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing