We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think I'll stay anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The staff at the Meininger is tops. They are geared for group visitors and handled my group of 21 (18 students) with ease. They were ready for us when we arrived, gave a great intro to the hotel and what it offers, the rooms were spotless, and the beds were comfortable. It might seem out of the way on the map, but the bus can zip you right into town in 5 minutes and all of us really enjoyed the straight-shot 15-minute walk into the Altstadt. Whether with family and friends or with a school group - I'll be back here!

Room Tip: Some multi-bed rooms are larger than others, even with the same number of beds. Maybe request one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JFekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are very hapy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Salzburg or any other MEININGER.

Kind regards,

Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed in Salzburg for two nights (2 adults and 3 children). The hotel is not far from the old city (about 15-20 minutes walk or 5 minutes bus ride). Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room for 5 was a bit small and had A/C. Parking was available for a fee. There is a supermarket next to the hotel. Bus stop is very close as well. We enjoyed the fact the hotel has a communal kitchen for the use of any guest. They offered a continental breakfast for a fee but we did not take it. There are also several eateries at a walk able distance. Wifi was also available in the rooms and lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frederick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you had such a good time with us and especially appreciate the location, the facilites, and our guest kitchen.

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Big, clean rooms with modern furniture, private bathroom. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Quiet to my surprise, since it still hosts mainly youngsters. Excellent value for money choice. The only downside is the that there's no free parking. However we will definitely will go again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank DeFranceB2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please note that parking in Salzburg is never for free. We are happy to offer our parking spaces to our guest just for EUR 11,00.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We knew it would be different when we found out that's it's part hostel part hotel. We weren't expecting it to be as comfortable as it was though. You bring your own ingredients, cook yourself.

Mostly young folks around.

Bus stop is a short walk and the old city is ten minutes by bus.
Don't be fooled by the area term city centre. It's not the old city that most other cities call their old cities as.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pragya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your good review! We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please note that the hotel is located in the city centre. The old town is reachable with in 7 minutes by bus and by foot it takes about 15 minutes.

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The hotel is good. The bunk beds were comfortable, the bathroom was really clean and modern, as well as the toilet.
The main drawback is the location of the hotel. It is quite far from the center of the city. We slept one night and came back to the hotel walking, which took us around 20 minutes and the surroundings were not very pleasant. It is true that there was a bus stop near the hotel but we did not manage to take it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imaddination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest!

Thank you for your good review! We are happy that you had a nice time here in Salzburg. Please note that the hotel is located in the city centre. The old town is reachable by bus within 7 minutes. You will find several bus stops close to the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
6.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
953 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
971 reviews
1.6 km away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: ₹ 2,320 - ₹ 11,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing