We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy rooms, friendly staff and funky Mozart carpet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at the MEININGER Hotel in Salzburg in May of this year. The weather turned out to be great which is not that common in the beautiful city. The MEININGER offers a very good and welcoming hotel for a group, a family, a couple or a person. Rooms are clean yet seem on the small side at times, same as the shower, beds are comfy and if you need air and more space, the rooftop terrace overlooks the Alps on one side and what looks like a castle on the right. It seems to be less expensive paying in Euros rather than booking online (10-29 Euros depending on amount of people in room on door sign). I have yet to find out if you can reserve online directly, but soon will. It is walking distance to the historic center and if walking is not for you, it was very easy to get around using public transit. I discovered a great mall tied to the hotel which had an awesome grocery store filled with local and European products. Hard not to get carried away buying new, never seen food items. All in all, I plan on going back to the Salzburg Meininger as prices are great, staff is friendly and rooms are perfect for a good nights rest. And the carpet... very funky ;)

Room Tip: Ask if a school group reserved on your floor or next to your room before reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positiv feedback :-) Not a lot of people take the time to write such a detailed review! The whole team is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were part of your great experience in Salzburg.
We hope to see you soon :-)
Best regards
Your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, situated within walking distance of the old town.
Bus stops outside the hotel and goes to the train station and airport.
Rooms are very clean, basic, but a very comfortable bed.
Bathrooms have an excellent shower and plenty of hot water.
Basic toiletries.
Hairdryer provided.
You can buy breakfast for €6.90.
Plenty of vending machines in reception area.
Nice hotel for a short stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank 200Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for rating our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially appreciate the location, the facilities and the value for prize.

We hope to welcome you soon again in Salzburg or any other MEININGER.

Kind regards,
Your MEININGER Team Salzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

The meininger hotel is quite nice and very cheap for this location. It's near from the city center and the breakfast buffet is really nice. Rooms are clean and the bath was a little small but it totally fits your needs. If we would travel to Salzburg again we would definitely stay here again. And a special tip for everyone- buy the Salzburg Card! It gives you discounts in museums and free rides with the public transports.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flugfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

The receptionists were very nice. The hotel location is not in the city centre but about 20 minutes walk from there. You can catch buses which goes to city centre 3 times an hour (in both week / weekend). The beds were quite small I feared that I will fall if I turn. The walls were thin and you could hear other visitors. The breakfast included mostly sweet stuff and as gluten free I had nothing to eat there. They didn't do eggs and if I asked for them they just told me "no eggs today" so I guess they do them but not every day.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gmail12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We had a recent group of 25 people including 12 kids, 2 teens and 11 adults and it was fantastic. The staff was so nice and accommodating. Great energy and attitudes. The distance to the actual city center was walkable even with our large group. The rooms and hotel were updated and wifi never failed us! Breakfast was sufficient for the price! Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
675 reviews
2.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.9 km away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#38 of 132 in Salzburg
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
1.8 km away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
942 reviews
1.6 km away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,877 - ₹ 14,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing