We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting flavours”
Review of Eisl Eis

Eisl Eis
Ranked #12 of 26 Dessert in Salzburg
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 6
Description: EISL EIS is Austria's first organic sheep milk ice cream parlor and is located in the middle of Salzburg's old town (passageway under "Café Mozart"). The shop offers about 20 flavours (sheep's milk and sorbets), such as vanilla, hazelnut and chocolate, as well as extravagant varieties such as blueberry-rosemary, poppy seed or sheep cheese with honey. Moreover, they offer a free chocolate-topping from the chocolate fountain (organic dark chocolate). The ice cream specialties are handcrafted at the organic farm of Family EISL. The ice cream is made with their own sheep milk, 100 % organic ingredients and only real fruits. Family Eisl opened their own ice cream parlor in April 2017 and already received some national and international quality awards. The flavour "blueberry-rosemary" for example got an award for the "best ice cream speciality of Austria 2017".
Restaurant details
Description: EISL EIS is Austria's first organic sheep milk ice cream parlor and is located in the middle of Salzburg's old town (passageway under "Café Mozart"). The shop offers about 20 flavours (sheep's milk and sorbets), such as vanilla, hazelnut and chocolate, as well as extravagant varieties such as blueberry-rosemary, poppy seed or sheep cheese with honey. Moreover, they offer a free chocolate-topping from the chocolate fountain (organic dark chocolate). The ice cream specialties are handcrafted at the organic farm of Family EISL. The ice cream is made with their own sheep milk, 100 % organic ingredients and only real fruits. Family Eisl opened their own ice cream parlor in April 2017 and already received some national and international quality awards. The flavour "blueberry-rosemary" for example got an award for the "best ice cream speciality of Austria 2017".
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Very good sheep gelato, I ve tried chilli mango and poppy seed which was delicious. Nice shop and friendly staff but the price was friendly a bit less - 6,70 for three regular scoops with no toppings! But sheep milk..i now

Thank Kamilienzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EislEis, Manager at Eisl Eis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank your very much for your review!
We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our sheep milk ice cream. :)

We have to admid, that our ice cream is more expensive than regular cow´s milk ice cream. However, a sheep only produces about 1 - 1,5 liters of milk per day, what makes the sheep milk to a very precious natural raw material. In addition, our ice cream, which is produced in an artisan way at our own farm, is made out of 100% organic ingredients and only real fruits, and does not contain any premixes or artificial additives! Moreover, we also offer a topping from our chocolate fountain, which is an organic dark chocolate, without any surcharge. So, if you put this in perspective, you will see the price difference. ;)

We would be happy to welcoming you soon again during your next stay in Salzburg.
With kind regards, the EISL family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018

omg.. the gelato here was so good... i went back the next day but unfortunately it was closed. but i will never forget the delicious flavours I had... blueberry rosemary and chili mango. i highly recommend checking it out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EislEis, Manager at Eisl Eis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and recommendation!
We are very happy to hear, that you are so impressed by our homemade sheepmilk ice cream! We would be happy to welcoming you soon again in Salzburg.

With kind regards,
the EISL family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

As a loyal icecream fan, I am not expecting find any nice gelato outside Italy, but this lovely shop approved me wrong. Amazing gelato made with sheep milk & interesting flavor. Highly recommended for gelato fan.

Thank janneyjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EislEis, Manager at Eisl Eis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review!
We are very, very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed our sheep milk ice cream that much! And we are really happy that you highly recommend our ice cream and our shop!
Our customer opinions are very important to us. Therefore we would like to kindly ask you, what could we have done even better for you to get from you not only a four-point, but a five-point rating? We are looking forward to receiving your reply.

With kind regards,
the EISL family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Loved Pumpkin Seed Icecream... Chocolate Topping was very nicely done too and was complimentary. Friendly host.

1  Thank uali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Delicious and unusual flavors! Great local source for organic gelato. Very nice woman running the shop and very knowledgeable about her product.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank lbitts2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EislEis, Manager at Eisl Eis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you very much for you review!
We are really pleased, that you enjoyed our homemade sheep´s milk ice cream that much. It was a pleasure meeting you!
We would be happy to welcoming you soon again during your next stay in Europe! ;)

With best regards from Austria,
The EISL Family, io Johanna Eisl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eisl Eis also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Eisl Eis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing