We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Rowan Cottage Aurora Borelis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage Aurora Borelis
rowan cottage north uist rowan cottage north uist
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Rowan Cottage Aurora Borelis
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
Open plan dinning
king room
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
rowan cottage north uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lochmaddy, North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doreen C
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Rowan Cottage is our favourite holiday cottage overall, and we've stayed in quite a number around the Highlands - isolated location (hardly saw any neighbours except sheep), unbeatable view (we're into wildlife, and in June it didn't get dark until about 11), comfort of the house. Lots of space, and really easy to heat during an unfortunately cool week for June. We really liked the way the cottage is done up - modern but not over the top - and Chris's telescope is a bonus. The bed was supremely comfortable (as was the bath although that surprised us!) Wonderful location, and with a bit of driving it was easy to get to brilliant places for walking and birdwatching - we loved the short eared owls swooping over the roads, corncrakes (heard lots and one near the RSPB walked right in front of the car) and the profusion of ordinary' birds which aren't so ordinary these days - like skylarks, snipe, peewits. There are some great walk books in the cottage, which is not that common. I would happily return tomorrow - always love North Uist, and loved staying in this wee house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave (esp for the 7.30 ferry!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for finding the time to leave such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Rowan Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoxy2
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

mind blowing from the start... waking up to the beautiful view from the bedding room window was just breath taking,seeing some fantastic wildlife. the cottage is spotlessly clean 10/10 to the cleaner.. the cottage is very well equipped and give a feeling of "been away from it all" bliss cannot wait to go back :) north uist has some of the best beaches i have ever seen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breath taking views and log fire
Liked least: leaving the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning house and location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a week at Rowan Cottage in May and could not have been more comfortable. We found everything we needed in the cottage and more. The rooms were spacious and well furnished. The kitchen was easy to cook in and had a lovely dining area. We could find no fault with kitchen appliances. The beds were soft and welcoming and it was such a treat to get up in the morning and stand for a while and take in the view.
We didn't feel the lack of outdoor furniture - the downside being that the weather was very bad most of the week but we would definitely like to return.
Lots of wildlife spotted which we recorded in the book at the house - highlights being golden eagles, hen harriers, phalaropes, short eared owls, red deer and at Balranald a great variety of seabirds, corncrake and corn bunting. A stunning place for wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, setting and wildlife opportunities
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A show house that is nearly there”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is more show house than cosy holiday cottage but is furnished with good new furniture in every room and every utensil has an air of newness about it. The views are indeed superb from the back, but if you want isolation you tend to need to ask for some extra information when looking for holiday cottages. There are neighbours across the road from this property and on the night of our arrival they kindly knocked at our door to warn us they were having a "wee party" that evening. This was unnecessary as we could already hear the beat of their music thudding through the fibre of the property. To be fair we were probably unlucky but it is a horrific greeting when you have travelled the best part of 600 miles to get away from it all. One of the reasons we saw it as a show home was that it did not have the finishing touches that only get applied by people who live there and think of the little everyday things that are needed. In the spanking new kitchen there is a lack of serving dishes, bowls for nibbles, rolling pin and various other items. There is not yet a single wastepaper bin anywhere but the kitchen. Not even a cheap set of outdoor tables and chairs to enjoy the fantastic views or eat al fresco during the delightfully long summer days. It is quite amusing to find that beyond the kitchen, every cupboard and drawer is pretty well empty - far beyond the storage capacity needed for visitors. Once these little niggles are ironed out it will be a great place to stay and North Uist is an island with beaches that rival the Caribbean. It also had the great plus point of allowing dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: clutch of little finishing off items that can niggle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Many thanks for leaving your review. As this was our first year after renovating the property we are still putting the finishing touches to rowan cottage. We will take on board your thoughts and ideas, there will be outdoor furniture for 2015. kind regards Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NemosFrie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect wilderness cottage”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Rowan Cottage for a week in August 2014 and had a week of typically mixed, island weather. We loved the Cottage! It is beautifully decorated and furnished and has a cosy feel. The views over the sea loch towards Skye are stunning. It was great to have a telescope to view the wildlife from the comfort of the living room. We had a harbour seal perch on rocks in the loch in front of the cottage every morning. Other wildlife spots just off main road on the island a mile or so away from Rowan Cottage included a rare, short eared owl and 4 stags.
Having brought half of a Tesco's extra with us thinking there would be a dearth of food and provisions to buy on Uist we were astonished to find 2 Co-op stores in Sollas ( few miles away) and Benbecula (neighbouring island) were cornucopias of gourmet delights!!
Plenty of tea rooms, cafés and hotels within a short drive away offering excellent local food,
particularly the sea food.
The main reason to come to the Uist's is to get out into the landscape, enjoying long walks on probably the most beautiful and deserted beaches you will find anywhere in the world. We spent a day travelling around Harris having taken the ferry across from Berneray, a 10 minute drive from the cottage.Whilst Harris is gorgeous, North Uist won our hearts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed what Rowan cottage had to offer. The best beaches on North Uist can sometimes take some finding as they are hidden away, but once found are amazing! Thanks for leaving your review kind regards Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing