We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
27
23
17
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
23
17
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night. Good location. Close to town centre. Would return if i ever went the town again. Clean tidy room and reception area. Staff polite. Breakfast was typical Austrian. Buffet well presented.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in klagenfurt at this hotel. It is very small, very near to the center of the city. The receptionists are very kind. Nonetheless the external rooms are very noisy because of the traffic while the internal one are much more quiet. The rooms are very small and the forniture needs to be updated. The bathroom are very small. But the worst part are the mattresses that are non existent. Too puffy you fall inside. Maybe too old . there is no autnomous heating so if you feel cold there is nothing to do. I like klagenfurt but i ll never come back to the hotel. Too expensive for what it offers.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank giorsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I had a lovely stay at Hotel Geyer (17-20 May), the location was perfect for Klagenfurt and the staff were very friendly and helpful, I may need to visit again this year and this will be my first choice. The room was clean and compact, breakfast was varied and fresh...thank you, although I didn't need it, there is parking available

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 549jacquelinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location was central to the town,20 minutes walk or 7euros taxi ride from the railway station.
The staff were friendly and the early breakfast selection was good.Hot drinks were self service from a machine,but fine.The bedroom was compact and the ensuite shower and loo tiny although the shower was very efficient.Beds were comfortable ,bedroom decor was dated.We were fine for 2 nights only. Klagenfurt is delightful as is Worthersee which is only a 10 minute bus ride away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Hotel Geyer is close to the Old Town and it is very clean, but that is all that this hotel has going for it. It is, what I would describe as, very basic. We expected much much more for the price of our stay.

Our room was located right on the top floor, which was a real struggle with two suitcases each. My husband was recovering from a hand injury which made things even more difficult. The attic room was very small and furnished with new, but poor quality, furniture. There was not enough room to hang clothes and the hangers were a mixed bunch of freebies from local stores. We arrived during the evening and the central light bulb was not working. There was no remote control for the TV. One small bottle of water plus one glass was provided in a double room. The bathroom facilities were, again, very basic. No toileteries were provided apart from the soap dispenser on the wall.

We decided to ask for a room change, which was agreed by the receptionist, but on viewing the alternative, decided we might as well stay where we were as there was very little difference in size - there did not seem to be much point in packing and unpacking our things again.

The hotel does not have a bar or any comfortable seating area for guests - just two sofas in reception, so guests are really confined to their rooms if not out and about. This may be OK for an overnight stay, but not for any longer. The much advertised gym and sauna facilities are not solely for guests of the hotel; for a few euros, people off the street can enjoy this small downstairs area.

As for the breakfast, well - forget it! We certainly did after the first few days. It is a basic continental breakfast with no hot food at all. There was not enough food to go around and croissants were brought out two at at time (there was an almighty rush for these). The fruit in the fruit bowl was going black by the end of our stay. Meat and cheese was also in very short supply.

The female owners of the hotel were polite, but did not seem to be very concerned when we approached them about our concerns. They offered very little in the way of advice about Klagenfurt and the reception and front door were sometimes locked during the day - leaving guests to fumble with the security code/lock to get back in (in fact, this was the case on our arrival).

Overall, not a holiday to remember. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wedgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews