We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful Baroque Church I have seen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melk Abbey

Melk Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 124.89*
and up
Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour, Melk Abbey Visit and Wine Tastings from Vienna
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Melk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Melk Abbey is one of the biggest and most beautiful European Baroque Ensembles. Its splendid architectur ist famous worldwide an part of UNESCO´s World Cultural Heritage. Since 1089, Benedictine Monks have continually been living and working in Melk Abbey. Following the rules laid down by St. Benedict, they try to translate into action the words ORA et LABORA et LEGE (pray, work and read) by working in pastoral care, education as well as organizing numerous cultural Events. A visit to the abbey includes the abbey museum, the marble hall, the balcony, the library, the church, the abbey park with the baroque garden pavillion (open May-October)and the Bastion.April to September: Visits are possible daily with (10.55 a.m. and 2.55 p.m.)or without guided tourOctober to March: Visits are possible only with a guided tour. For individuals: 10.55 a.m. and 2.55 p.m. / tour for Groups may be reserved.Recommended time to spend at the abbey: 2,5 hoursADVISE for your visit: If possible, visit Melk Abbey around midday or in the afternoon, it´s not so crowed. Large monastery parking lot free of Charge.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
298 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“The most beautiful Baroque Church I have seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I visited the monastery in Melk on my way from Salzburg to Vienna. The monastery is quite impressive, newly renewed, finished 2012 , and the church is one of the most beautiful I have seen so far during my travels.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamM972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,278
    427
    58
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When you travel to Austria, Melk Abbey is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This fabulous Benedictine abbey nestled atop a rocky hill with a birdseye view of the Danube is a not-to-miss attraction in the heart of Austria's Wachau Valley. Though the original abbey was founded back in the late 11th century, today's structure dates from the 1700s. It is home to a stunning library with medieval manuscripts and a lovely church with impressive frescoes. Save time too for a stroll around the pleasant town of Melk after your abbey visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thetripchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“AB-FAB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a "don't miss" is you are on the Danube. Abby-solutely FFabulous. Magnificant building, library and church.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NHtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great day trip from Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Based on the excellent suggestions in Trip Advisor, we went by subway and train to Melk on April 3 2012. (Four adults and one 12 y/o). The trip was an easyone (subway to the western train station in Vienna, then a lovely train ride) and quite reasonable. Both the town, the Abbey, and the surrounding areas were beautiful. The food in the pictouresque town was great, and reasonable. The people were very friendly and helpful. As the only english tour was starting 2.5 hours after our arrival, we secured a private tour (55 Euro) which was well worth it). That day drip was the highlight of a great Easter week in Vienna. Unfortuanteliy, the boat tours down the Danube, which we hoped to take, were not starting up until the week after our departure.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank UncleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Get side trip from Vienna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We took a train from Vienna to Melk, a grat Abbey, the town has many cafes and restaurants is very charming, we made a good decision and took a ferry down the Danube which had wonderful scenery of castles, etc, we disembarked at Krems where we walked to town(1 kilometer) from ferry and had a light supper before taking the train back to Vienna. I was a great inexpensive side trip and well worth it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melk Abbey also viewed

Lower Austria, Austria
Melk, Lower Austria
 
Durnstein, Lower Austria
Melk, Lower Austria
 

Been to Melk Abbey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing