We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a budget get away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Crest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crest
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for a budget get away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed for a week with a friend and had an absolutely amazing holiday. Travelled with Neilson and flew to Lleida, transfer wasn't too bad; about 3 and a half hours.

The Hotel room was good and fairly spacious, we both kept all our kit in the room over night; snowboards included, although there is a ski room.
The layout may not be ideal for some as the rooms are relatively open plan in style (the bedroom was open) but that didn't bother us.
It was clean when we arrived and there were cleaners everyday to tidy up our mess.

Staff were welcoming but be aware that English, although spoken, is not necessarily a second language in Andorra so you have to be selective about who you talk to when you want to find out information. The receptionists were fluent enough and very helpful.

Breakfast was adequate with the usual continental bits available alongside cereal, although there was no hot food.
Dinner on the other hand was a slightly different affair. For the extra bit that we paid to go half board it wasn't a rip off but if I went again I would go B&B only.

As Andorra is tax free eating out was cheap and when we did the food was great.
Mexican at Cisco's (near the main gondola) was well priced and tasted great and the pizza at Pampa over the road was good value.
The main town has loads of other places to eat and drink and the night life was great. If you're out there to party then, from our experience, the Monday night pub crawl is not something to shy away from.

Beer and other alcoholic drinks were cheap, the biggest costs seem to be for products like branded soft drinks, especially on the mountain.

Having the lift right next to the hotel was brilliant. We never queued but it did seem to be a little temperamental; spent around 5 minutes stuck on it a few times. However as it was coming to the end of the season I would imagine it was due for a service.

The hotel is at the far end of the resort, at the top of a hill, so be aware if you have young children it might not be ideal; it's about a 10-15 minute walk down at a reasonable pace. If we went into town before the lifts closed we would just get the gondola up the mountain and then the 6 man lift back down.

Finally and I cannot stress this enough, you're rep will say this too, make sure you get over to Arcalis.
There is a wealth of slopes available for those who get bored on the relatively easy slopes of Arinsal/Pal. There is a lot of variety over there and a park for the more adventurous.
The free buses run twice in the mornings from the car park outside the hotel and are the first stop. Generally by the second stop it was completely full.
Trying to get back from Arcalis is interesting, there are 3 few buses in the afternoons but it is chaotic at best and you have to be determined to get on. Be prepared to miss a bus as it left early, get on an extra bus that's being put on or not get on at all and have to get the local buses back.
That said, we had no problems getting onto a free bus back but met a few people who did. Although a group did get taxis over at around €40.

If you're looking for a comfortable place to sleep on a budget then this hotel would be ideal. I would have given a 4 overall and a 5 for value but the evening meals were a little too disappointing, the same goes for location as it will not be suitable for all due to the walk down into town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netheo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    28
    24
    9
See reviews for
38
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Location right next to the chair lift can't be beat. Staff unfortunately knew nothing about skiing (conditions, ski rental, ski school, weather etc); not a huge issue but a bit surprising given the location. Breakfast was OK but had no fresh fruit nor much of anything other than pastry/biscuits, bread, tasteless cheese and yoghurt; and poor (machine) coffee. But it was clean.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grendel434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very basic hotel. We had a big studio room, but the way it was split it was almost like 1 bedroom apartment. It was clean, and basic, just what u need. We stayed half board - dont expect much for the food, but if like us you got a very cheap deal - you wouldn't be expecting much anyway! You will always find something to eat. we would have had snacks in the room and also went to El Cow for the free toastie with the drink so we were never starving with hunger expecting a slap up meal!
Location is great for day time! chair lift outside the door, our room actually looked onto the lift which was nice.
At night time the location isn't as good as you have to go down a steep hill to get to the bars and obviously walk up it at night (we would go to irish bar and one of the bar men would usually give u a lift up the rd!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amc963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

After reading the previous review we were concerned about the holiday we had already booked there. However after having spent the week 11th - 18th March 2012 at the hotel we were really pleased with the experience in relation to the cost.
Plus points - big rooms, very friendly and very helpful staff who responded to all our requests immediately. The hotel is right next to the six man chair lift that takes you directly up to the nursey slopes, ski hire shops and the other lifts and connects with the top of the gondola from the village. Also, it's the first stop for the free bus to Arcalis so you are guaranteed a place if you want to ski that resort.
Neutral points - as the hotel is at the top of the village, if you go out at night down to the main area for bars etc the walk back up is a bit of a drag. Also food is what you would expect for buffet style at the price (I would describe it as OK and plentiful, especially the desserts). We ate out half the time by choice, but we could have survived on the included food without any real hardship.
Minus points - the bar closes at odd times. The public toilets (gents) off the lobby could have done with freshening up! Other than that, can't think of anything.
We were four people, forties and fifties, who have travelled to all sorts of hotels, from 2 star to 7 star, around the world. So just to balance the last review, we would say this hotel was good value for money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Instructorborovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just returned from Arinsal and the crest hotel, it is old, very run down and dirty. The rooms in the hotel are just ok, but very very old, bits falling off.The restaurant cannot be called that, it is a canteen, and the food is absolutely disgusting. We had booked a week half board for our family of 4 but ate out every night bar the first one! All the staff in the restaurant, with the exception of the female with the long dark hair, should be sacked. They are rude, do nothing to assist in any way and we watched one staff member spit after a diner had complained One was discovered in the male toilets smoking. I went to use the female toilet in the "canteen" on jan 31 and it had obv been used and was very very dirty. When I went to use the same toilet on Fri feb 4, it was in the same condition and had not been cleaned, in 4 days! The food was terrible and the layer of dust on the counter in the "canteen" was there on our arrival and still there on our departure! Half cooked salmon, cold vegetable bake, inedible meat, potato dish which was off and cold chips....This is not a 3 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, it is not worth a 1 star with the attitiude of the staff in the "canteen" and the dirt of the place. The bar are downstairs is ok and the male who was working was helpful but the others in the "canteen" are disgusting. They appear to assume that the ruder they are, the less work they will have to do, as all the guests will eat elsewhere! The location is good but the staff did not even attempt to remove the ice from the steps up to the front doors, so made it nearly impossible to walk outside without falling. Would not stay at this hotel again, until it has been cleaned and properly trained staff are installed, who know how to treat paying customers. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: For a good room, choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arinsal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.0 km away
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Princesa Parc
Hotel Princesa Parc
#1 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.4 km away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Montane
Hotel Montane
#4 of 12 in Arinsal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 km away
St Gothard Hotel
St Gothard Hotel
#3 of 4 in Erts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crest

Property: Hotel Crest
Address: Carretera d'Arinsal | Peu de Pistes, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,149 - ₹ 62,228
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Crest Arinsal
Aparthotel Crest Hotel Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing