We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hosting at Karatello”

Karatello Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 1,091 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A masterful fusion of the traditional and contemporary Mon-Sat: Open For Dinner Sunday: Open For Lunch & Dinner Cypriot Cuisine Overlooking the majestic Medieval Castle in the heart of the old town of Lemesos, adjacent to the Carobmill Museum, Karatello manages to create a perfect amalgamation of the classic and the modern. Recently renovated to capture the ambience of an old-fashioned and welcoming tavern, Karatello serves traditional, innovative meze dishes. Create your own meze combination or choose from our à la carte selection. Karatello is an ideal choice for small private parties and functions.
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We were a group of 12 persons (The Parliament of Ashqelon )

All was just the best
The attitude and service
The meat meze
The local Cyprus wine
The local music
Along the side of the romantic Limassol Castle
It was just great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UriSima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Mr. Uri
Thank you very much for you kind review regarding Karatello Restaurant. We are very pleased to read that you and your friends have enjoyed the facilities, the qualities of the dishes and the service of the great team.
We will make sure they will receive your praise as it will encourage them to even improve more.
The Limassol Castle is giving a very special ambiance and especially as they are no cars allowed, the area became one of the best places to be in Limassol
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Karatello Restaurant very soon
Sincerely Yours
Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2014

This restaurant is a great option in the castle area if you are looking for some Cypriot traditional food! The quality of the food is excellent (I came here twice) and the service is also very good. It's also children friendly.. only drawback is that the ambience feels a bit more like a chain than an old village taverna. But despite that I went there twice and I would go again if in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rampa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for you kind review regarding Karatello Restaurant. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the qualities of the dishes and the service of the great team.
We will make sure they will receive your praise as it will encourage them to even improve more.
The facilities are more modern but with a nice old touch.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Karatello Restaurant very soon
Kind Regards
Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

My partner and I went to Limassol for 3 days for holidays. We read some good reviews about this restaurant and we were not disappointed at all. To begin with, the service was excellent (polite staff, always willing to help - especially the kind waitress who looks like Anna Vissi!). Secondly, the food (meze for two people) was amazing both in terms of quantity and quality. Thirdly, the price was more than reasonable (47euros in total for food, glass of traditional red wine and a bottle of water). Finally, we loved the restaurant's interior design (huge shelves with various products made in Cyprus) and beautiful greek popular music. We will definitely visit this restaurant in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Constantinos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Mr. Constantinos,
Thank you very much for you kind review regarding Karatello Restaurant. We are very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities, the qualities of the dishes and the service of the great team.
We will make sure they will receive your praise especially “Anna Vissi” as it will encourage them to even improve more.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Karatello Restaurant very soon
Sincerely Yours
Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

went today for lunch. arrived at 1:20. we already had a confirmed reservation for outside. they advised that they had no room outside. after some discussions they arranged for a table outside. the fork was very dirty and also broken. asked for an other one. took them 2 hours to bring the food. it was an ridiculous. in addition ordered mix grill for two to share. the amount the plate for two had was probably not enough for one person. for a cypriot that knows how the tastes should be i must say that it was really beneath the standard of any normal taverna and in this case we are on a reputable restaurant. Overpriced, terrible portions and no food taste. never again.

Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Mr. Alexander,
Thank you for taking the time and share your comments of your recent visit at Karatello Restaurant with us.
We are very sorry to learn of your concerns and we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.
We can only describe what you have experienced during your lunch as a series of unfortunate and isolated incidents and we trust you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Karatello Restaurant and regain your confidence in our services.
Kind Regards
Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

We ate the meat meze and every plate had an excellent taste.Big variety of plates and big portions . Very friendly and attentive staff,excellent decoration of the restaurant and nice view outside of the old limassol castle.I strongly recommend this restaurant.

Thank panagiota2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2015

Dear Mrs. Panagiota,
Thank you very much for you kind review regarding Karatello Restaurant. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the facilities, the qualities of the dishes and the service of the great team.
We will make sure they will receive your praise as it will encourage them to even improve more.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Karatello Restaurant very soon
Kind Regards
Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karatello Restaurant also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Karatello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing