We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would have been 5 stars but for a couple of gripes”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious and Airy Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort Island Hob to Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Spacious and Airy Living area
Relax in comfort
Island Hob to Living area
Double Bedroom
Entrance to block with Lift to all Floors
Modern designer kitchen
Historic buildings, close to the Old MInt
Dining to Living area
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
Kitchen to Living area
Upper Barrakka Gardens, just a short walk away from Old Mint
Entrance to the block
Modern interior with a Majestic Entrance
Entering the Apartment
Dining area
Stairs from entrance to Apartment
Bathroom
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
From Bedrooms to Living area
Spacious and Airy
Old Mint Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rich G
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would have been 5 stars but for a couple of gripes”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old Mint No2 for a week in mid-August and would thoroughly recommend this place to anybody looking for a stay in Valletta.

The location is excellent, just a couple of minutes from the Silema ferry port, and only five minutes from the centre of Valletta town. The decor of the apartment is decent and the rooms are all clean and of a decent size. The kitchen area and breakfast bar is particularly impressive, with the option to cook for yourself if needed. Having two bathrooms is handy (especially for couples) and the showers are pretty good. The entrance area and security into the building works well, and the lift up to the 3rd floor is much needed having given your legs a hammering all day walking the steep streets of Valletta.

I do have a several issues about the place:
- The limited supply of electricity is absurd; I have never come across this before on holiday. We were worried about a potential extra bill all week as we had the air-con on quite a bit (it was stiflingly hot)
- Charging a mandatory 35 euros for Wi-Fi access is ridiculous in this day and age. I'm not sure how much data we used throughout the week, but I would imagine it was nowhere near that amount!
- There is no point in advertising a TV in the apartment. There are literally no accessible channels, unless you are fluent in Russian or Italian.

Overall, a great visit...a lovely place to stay, a wonderful town and the island of Malta is amazing. If you do visit, make sure to go to Gozo, the Blue Lagoon (with a million other tourists), the enchanting Mdina and museum, the classic car museum at Bugibba and Blue Grotto on the south of the island. The main island bus terminal is a short walk up the hill from the apartment and the buses go literally everywhere - I recommend you use them but treat yourself to a taxi to avoid the massive bus queues on the way back.

Also worth a visit is the ornate St John's Cathedral, the Upper Barrakka gardens with extensive views of the city or hop on the ferry over to Silema and book yourself on a harbour tour. Food wise, please try and visit the wonderful new restaurant overlooking St Georges Square in Valletta, and if you fancy a beverage afterwards, go to the nearby 'Pub' where Oliver Reed drank his last drink....good beers and great for watching live football.

One final comment - a couple of previous reviewers recommended using the bread place next door. All I can say is I popped in there for some milk and the women who served me were possibiliy the rudest people I have ever met. However the baker is a lovely man, when he is asleep ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Paying for wi-fi (grrrrr)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you for your feedback, again I would like point out the provisions for the electrical consumption is due to certain past guest leaving on all A/C's running when not in the Apartment and to note from our records and your comment 'We were worried about a potential extra bill all week as we had the air-con on quite a bit (it was stiflingly hot)' our records show you consumed ?28.00 from a ?35.00 allowance, perhaps certain guest are missing the point here, the allowance is adequate enough for a pleasant stay in hot months such as June, July, August, September. Prior to having this provision in place we had guest leaving on all lights, A/C's running which revealed an electrical bill more befitting to a 10 roomed hotel. We surely want guest to have comfort when staying at Old Mint within a price range which is competitive toward alternative private lets and we do deliver this.

As mentioned on another feedback the channels in 'English' provided are;
Euronews
CNN International
Eurosport News
Russia Today or RT
Discovery World
National Geographic
Cartoon Network
Boomerang

WiFi is 30Mb connection and a secure dedicated WiFi Router system, not a cheap 5Mb connection with restricted bandwidth :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bleachbyt...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment but too many negatives”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Typical old historic Valletta style building on the outside but beautifully refurbished on the inside with all modern fittings, granite kitchen and tile floors. The apartment is also ideally located close to the Sliema Ferry wharf and central Valetta. The manageress Nicola was very cooperative and friendly. Overall a wonderful apartment however there were some negatives. Unfortunately, you were given only a set amount of electricity (Kwh) in the rental price with any additional electricity having to be paid for. We did not go over this amount but only because we had to be very careful about leaving lights on or very frugal using the air conditioners making sure we did not use them for lengthy periods. This was very annoying as it could get very hot inside the building and stifling at times particularly at night. Also the hot water system was recommended to be turned off after every use as it would consume too much electricity. We did not dare use the dishwasher. The other negatives were the requirement to pay a daily rent for Wifi use. We obviously did not choose that option as most restaurants and cafes supplied free Wifi. (It should be noted that after our stay here we stayed a week in Xlendi, Gozo, Malta in an apartment with absolute water frontage that supplied unlimited use of the air-conditioning and free wifi for less than half the rent we paid for here). Also the upstairs bedrooms had to be accessed via a very tight spiral staircase making it very difficult to get your luggage up there particularly if it was heavy (we had to unpack half). The TV was next to useless if English was your only language.We only found two channels in English. Both bedrooms are upstairs and there are two bathrooms but unfortunately one was downstairs making it difficult for our friends who had to use the downstairs bathroom. One bed was very low to the ground and the wooden frame would creak and groan every time you moved. Not good. The other bed was problem free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and modern interior
Liked least: Being unable to use the air conditioners freely and having to pay for wifi.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had certain issues that left a bitter taste and would like for the benefit of future guests to point out the following;

1. Electricity is provided within the rental cost at ?5.00 per day or ?35.00 per week respectively. The reason for this provision is due to particular guest in the past leaving all lights on all A/C's running without any respect toward the cost of electrical consumption, whilst out.

2. WiFi is provided via a dedicated secure router system for the Apartment, which comes with an unrestricted 30Mb download speed making it one of the best connections speeds available, this of course cost more than a normal 5Mb connection speed, thus a conscious decision was made to install a far superior WiFi with a charge of just ?5.00 per day. I have stayed in Hotels and private accommodation where the speed of connectivity was so slow I wanted to pull my hair out. At Old Mint yes you pay, but you pay only ?5.00 per day for the best.

3. Spiral stairs are part of the fixture and shown graphically via the images and mentioned within the description that and quote 'The upper floor is accessed via a stainless steel spiral staircase to the upper level having 2 double bedrooms (Air Conditioned) etc, etc'

4. Channels provided in English for your stay were;
Euronews
CNN International
Eurosport News
Russia Today
Discovery World
National Geographic
Cartoon Network
Boomerang

Please forgive me, I stayed in recent accommodation with BBC World News and CNN International news only. I believe the channels list is adequate to catch up with world news or the choice of two topical channels or for the kids two childrens channels being suffice for a short break.

For the benefit of future guest, please read all the reviews submitted to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonye52
Sheerness, United Kingdom
1 review
“ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here June 2015 for 1 week, the apartment was very clean, spacious, modern and in a great location, really difficult to think of anything negative about it. Make sure if you stay there to use the tiny bakery 2 doors down in a cellar, excellent bread made daily and really good value.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great apartment, well located”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment has been finished to a great standard, and the modernity of the interior belies the old look from the outside. Everything in Valletta was in easy walking distance (though be wary of the hills!), especially good is the proximity to the Sliema ferry. All the appliances in the apartment are all easy to work, and the fridge/freezer is plenty big enough even if you were going away for a couple weeks or more. The lift is essential, as you have to go up four flights of stairs to get to the apartment. Everything is explained quite clearly before you arrive, and when you arrive. The only thing I would point out is that the electricity is quite limited (mentioned on the booking form, but I don't think in the description here), but we barely used any anyway, as we went out every day for lunch/dinner etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Electricity allowance
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic location this amazing apartment was in, situated in historical valleta the apartment was contemporary on the inside yet keeping its tradition on the outside. Fantastic space with everything you could need on a self catering apartment, there was nothing we needed to get other than food. All cleaning products such as washing up liquid to dishwasher tablets provided, though we didn't use the dishwasher lol. I took my own washing tablets & did use the washing machine to refresh our beach towels provided by the leters.
Apartments is central to everything in valleta and with the ferry port less than 5minutes walk away & the bus station less than 10mins away (depending on how fast you walk!) this apartment was perfect for getting around the island. We love Malta & this is our second visit, first to valleta but loved the experience of staying in the capital, we stayed at the Hilton in st Julian s the first time & did miss having a pool slightly but again this depends on what type of holiday your after.
We can recommend "angelicas" to eat lovely little bistros with the best rabbit stew & carrot cake ever.
In our opinion if you have trouble with walking, valleta is probably not the best location for you as it is extremly hilly, I am active and my calves had an extreme workout!!!
Also if you like a regular dip in the pool, again, valleta is probably not for you as the nearest swimming areas are in silema.
Buses are regular & often & a weekly ticket is only €6, daily €1.50.
Ferry is every 15mins from 9am(valleta side) last ferry 6pm silema side back to valleta these change at high season.
Another must (we think) is a trip to mndina this used to be the capital & a trip to the fontanella cafe is a must the cake is to die for especially the Orange & almond hmmmm &the views whilst you have your lunch WOW.
So all there is left to say is if your going to this beautiful island, have a great time" We have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of property
Liked least: coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing