We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely perfect holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Fort St. Angelo from the Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fort St. Angelo from the Terrace
Grand Main Entrance Hall World famous harbour at dawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Fort St. Angelo from the Terrace
Grand Main Entrance Hall
World famous harbour at dawn
Marble and wrought iron
Comfortable Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom with ''His'' and ''Her'' Balconies
Beautiful Main Bathroom in Finest Italian Marble
Luxurious Bianco Statuario Marble bathroom
Modern style Lounge with traditional Maltese balcony
Beautiful Marble Staircase with modern Lift at each level
Suspended Flooring and invigoratingly calm spaces
Second Bedroom
Ensuite shower in exquisite Carrara Marble
Stairs or Lift to the Upper Terraces
Fine Italian Kitchen and adjoining dining area
View of the Three Cities from the Terrace
The Grand Harbour view from the Terrace
Modern Architectural Features
Grand Harbour View from the Roof
Calm and inspiring lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
mrs-baggi...
Worcester UK
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
“An absolutely perfect holiday”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I stayed at this fabulous property with my mother for a week in April. Like others I found booking it, paying the deposit etc very easy as Jonathan was so helpful. On arrival Maria met us and explained everything to us although we couldn't stop just admiring the house. It is a wonderful renovation of a beautiful old home. The mix of old and modern is stunning from the marble stairs to the glass floors and excellent addition of the lift. A welcome pack of goodies was greatly appreciated and there is lots of useful information about what to do and where to visit in Malta.
The house is very well equipped and I can't think of anything that could be improved. It was absolutely spotless. Everything has been thought of even down to a mending kit, torch, Sellotape etc. we didn't need to use either air conditioning or heating but it is available.
The outdoor terrace is fantastic with an amazing view of Grand Harbour. Many cups of tea and early evening gin were drunk admiring the view.
When we could drag ourselves away from the view we found Valletta the perfect size to explore on foot. We loved using the ferry across to Vittoriosa which we explored twice and thoroughly recommend. We also found the buses very easy to use to explore the island. A fish lunch at Marsaxlokk sitting by the harbour is recommended
Grocery shops, cafes and restaurants were numerous and close by.
A week is not really long enough to see everything there is so we will be back.
If you want to stay in a beautiful city in high quality accommodation with an amazing view and wonderful hosts don't consider staying anywhere else.
My mother and I cannot wait to return. I miss the nuns chorus. My alarm doesn't sound as good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Cant fault anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
permia
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,371 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
“Truly Majestic”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We enjoyed a marvellous week’s holiday in Valletta & Malta, staying in this Majestic Town House. We were delighted with our accommodation choice and we felt as though we experienced ‘Palazzo’ living for a week!

From our very first communication, Jon responded promptly to my emails and queries. All our questions were addressed in detail without delay. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Maria who was most friendly and helpful, explaining in detail all the facilities and providing visitor information. Some breakfast essentials were helpfully provided and also a gift of a traditional Maltese Easter cake. There are a number of nearby well-stocked grocery shops.

The house is amazing. It is modern contemporary décor and is spacious, comfortable, very quiet and for us it was a perfect base for the holiday. The website description and photographs are accurate and portray the reality. The entrance hall is all marble and seems vast. The first stairs are marble while the upper ones are magnificent glass. The elevator is very useful for transporting luggage.

The top floor balcony gives iconic views over the Grand Harbour and the Three Cities. Climbing further steps leads to the rooftop with its vistas of all of the surrounding houses.

We love walking and we did much in Valletta and Malta. The house is about 10-15 minutes walk from Valletta bus station, up lovely Republic Street; with our 7 day €12 ticket we extensively used the bus network.

Based on our very positive experiences with Jon throughout, when we return to Malta we will unhesitatingly request to stay in this Majestic House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, comfort, decorative nature, quietness
Liked least: No dislikes really. A minor point, a small mirror over bathroom sinks would be useful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsKanuki...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply sublime holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We have had the most wonderful week here in Valletta staying in this exquisite house. Every possible thought has been put into making this a memorable stay. From the moment when I contacted Jonathan to ask about availability, everything has been smooth. No question seemed too small, always courteous and helpful. The moment you walk in the wow factor begins. The Italian marble stunning, the lift is very much appreciated. The main bedroom is simple,stylish with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful en suite. Simple and stylish sum the whole property up.Our boys slept on the next floor up, on the mezzanine level above the lounge, which they found very exciting. Look out for the exciting lighting effect that comes through from the upper balcony.

We spent all of our time on the top level dining/kitchen area, where the sun pours in through the patio doors. The view feels almost unreal, the grand harbour is a wonderful sight. There is always something happening on the water.

Each morning we could hear the nuns beautiful singing coming from the convent opposite the house,we loved hearing this. Totally unique way to wake up.

The welcome supplies of lovely maltese bread,butter, yogurts,cereal,jams,tea,coffee,oranges and milk were much appreciated.The extra special gift of chocolates and champagne were a lovely surprise for my birthday, thank you so much for that.

We loved Malta, so much to see and do. We had the family heritage pass and we visited all that we could off that, using our weeks bus tickets. The buses are frequent and easy to use,. The main bus station is a short 5 minutes walk. We enjoyed a trip to Gozo, we went on the open top tour bus which was a great way to see the whole island.If you plan to go to the hypogeum, make sure you book well in advance. We didn't but managed to get last minute tickets at greater expense. We were fortunate to be in Valletta for the carnival which is a wonderful spectacle, unlike anything else I have ever seen.

The weather was mixed, the house warmed up very quickly with the air conditioning units in each area.

The owners of the house are great, so helpful, they even left honey and fresh lemons for a sore throat. Jonathan and Maria also invited us over for tea on my birthday which was just wonderful.We have had a great week in Malta, we absolutely loved this house and would happily return some other time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view,the stylish interior design,location,singing nuns,owners,balcony lighting
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brennunja...
Toronto and Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect modern design in a historic palazzo with an extraordinary view”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautifully restored with lots of marble and glass - Architectural Digest quality design, with state of the art appliances.

Spectacular views over the Grand Harbour from the Dining Room / Kitchen floor.

The house is situated on one of the quietest streets in the capital, just opposite the Hospitaller Nunnery of St. Ursula. Yet it's two minutes walk to the market and all of the city sites are within ten minutes walk. Valletta is a walking city. You do not need a car in town, and indeed the one way system, parking restrictions and congestion charge will discourage you.

The best thing about the house is the owner, Jonathan and his delightful family - he is extremely helpful, has great insights into the country and its history, and has great recommendations about restaurants. The house is less than 200 metres from Ambrosia restaurant, which had the best food and best wine selection we encountered in a week's visit.

The house is on multiple floors, with a small lift (elevator) from the ground floor. Those who don't like lifts will find that they have almost 100 steps from the front door to the kitchen. But the house is very functional and well designed.

We recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Could have been more basic kitchen utensils like a colander
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing