We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Grand Harbour Hotel for two weeks in September and were pleasantly surprised having read previous reviews. This is a two star hotel that is run by a friendly helpful family,yes the accomodation is basic (you get what you pay for) but it was clean well serviced and in a fantastic location.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in central Valetta who is using the hotel as a base to explore wonderful Malta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayfurlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    218
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
45
267
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Only thing positive about the hotel is it's location. It is a dump. The lobby and common areas were a mess, the elevator only worked some of the time and the 'manager' seemed not to care about anything, until we started talking about moving to a different hotel. Then magically, there was a way to get wireless (up until then it was 'broken') and TV and air conditioning could be provided without charge. It was too late. We found other accommodations in nearby Bugibba that were clean, modern and provided all amenities without additional charge for similar cost. To those who wrote positive reviews, I can only wonder if ther daren't new people in charge. This hotel was in a very sorry state and the needs of it's guests seemed to be well down the list of importance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClintH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Correspondence belied the face-to-face interaction with this hotel's front desk. Although the female at the desk was pleasant during our arrival, the man taking over was not...until he saw we were cutting our 3-day stay at the hotel short and moving elsewhere before we had spent even one night there...forfeiting our deposit. His answers to questions such as "Is there a restaurant nearby?" and "Can you assist me with choosing from these activities for tourists?" was sharp and rude and totally UNhelpful. He seemed quite "put out" to help us. Our travelling companion requested the password for the Wifi and was very rudely told the internet was "down" and offered NO suggestion as to when it might be running again. His only concern for us occurred when we were leaving to find somewhere else to stay...and even it was rude! We couldn't believe someone involved in tourism and people coming to stay in 2 rooms for 3 days in Malta at his establishment would behave this way. His final words were 'I'm going to charge you for the first night" In total it was a most unpleasant start to our stay in Malta. Luckily our next hosts were great

Room Tip: The wee elevator wouldn't always work...the front desk having to come and jump up and down and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have stayed here many times, winter and summer. Close to all the sights, fabulous views & air conditioning is available, if you request & are willing to pay a very small fee! Staff are very helpful & we are looking forward to our return in August 2011. So much character in the Hotel, not sterile with no personality!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Fantastic value for money request a room on the 6th floor with a view with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela670679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our second visit to the Grand Harbour . Having read someof the negative reviews for the hotel we cannot understand what people expect.
The hotel is is a wonderful position with marvellous views of the Grand Harbour Valletta . The staff are excellent and did everything they could to make us welcome.
For what we paid for our stay we thought it was fantatic value for money - our rooms were clean , the beds comfotable and the showers worked - breakfast was simple but adequate and the views from the windows - priceless.
Valletta is a wonderful city and for anyone wanting to experience it the Grand Harbour Hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKD0955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.8 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
0.5 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 km away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 13 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 km away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valletta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,507 - ₹ 10,397
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbour Valletta
Hotel Grand Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing