We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel we have stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A really imposing and impressive hotel, inside and out, which does manage to retain a friendly, homely feel, probably due to the lovely helpful staff. We stayed on a week's bed and breakfast basis and certainly the breakfasts gave us every conceivable choice. The only slight criticism I had was that only the orange juice was fresh, non-concentrate. We didn't try the other hotel restaurants at lunch or dinner because we thought the food looked fussy and rather expensive, and there were plenty of others we wanted to try in the City. Reports got back to us that the food was rather bland so our choice seemed to be vindicated.
Our room on the 3rd floor was beautiful and spotless with a magnificent view of the Grand Harbour. The pool area had a similar view and was lovely in the mornings before the area got busy, but even then it was a large area with plenty of room between sunbeds.
All the staff were excellent, particular hats off to the conscierges who can arrange anything you need from restaurant recommendations to car hire.

Room Tip: The 3rd and 4th floors have been refurbished and may be a better choice, but the rooms with balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hornsdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,332 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived late at night. Unfortunately we were not aware that we had to call ahead to get a meal if we arrive late on the half board pre-booked rate, so we missed out, but the hotel let us carry it forward to lunch on the last day. That was the only thing that went wrong, and it was not the hotel's fault, but they put it right!
I think that's the thing about this place. The little touches such as serving a complimentary piece of watermelon to each person around the pool between 1500 and 1700 each day, or turning down the bed at night, or eye contact and a greeting from all of the staff. It seemed to be a genuine pleasure for people to serve and help us, and that made us enjoy our holiday even more. Don't get me wrong, you do pay for the service, but it is such a good service that you enjoy the experience.
Food was excellent. Breakfast was a buffet style hot and cold items. Complimentary champagne breakfast as well if that's your thing. Pancakes and porridge are ordered from the attentive waiters and waitresses, and if you love coffee, you will get more than enough of the good stuff.
The evening meal is served at a steady pace, and you would expect so in order to receive such fine culinary experience. Again, attentive service.
There is a Concierge at the entrance, and the Reception is available 24/7, and the various staff were always smart and helpful.
Tip for Valletta is to catch the 133 Arriva minibus from the bridge beyond the bus station. This little air conditioned bus takes you around many of the tiny streets with the steep hills, and runs every thirty minutes. It really is a great way to see the real character of Valletta without tiring in the blazing sun.
The bus station is on the doorstep. We didn't pay the 46 Euros for the tour of Mdina, or the 15 Euros for the sightseeing tour, but we did buy an Arriva bus rover for 2.60 Euros which took us there and back, and ran every ten minutes. St Pauls Cathedral in Mdina is worth the 6 Euros entrance fee.
If you stay here, I hope that you have as good a time as we did.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to a corner room, with three balconies. Sun all of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel is pleasant, comfortable and very well located. Our only complaint was that service in the dining room was not all that could be asked for. Sometimes it seemed as if coffee service was not part of the job of the wait staff. When we asked, we got it eventually but alertness to the need did not seem to be evident.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel met (almost) all expectations, a wonderful 'old world' ambience, every hotel should be like this.
One minor criticism - the pool area looks a little 'world weary' and is in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROBUKWINCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I spent two nights with my partner at the Phoenicia in order to visit the sights of Valetta prior to spending a week in a farmhouse on Gozo. We had a deluxe room on the second floor overlooking Grand Harbour.

The hotel is set in extensive gardens overlooking Grand Harbour, and has a delightful ambience throughout, spacious public areas, all very well appointed, with old fashioned unobtrusive good service throughout.

Our bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed and top quality cotton linen. Although old fashioned(which added to its charm) it was very well appointed with fluffy cotton bathrobes and towels, and quiet efficient air conditioning. Fresh fruit, local biscuits, and bottled water provided an extra touch. An early evening housekeeping service with fresh toiletries and towels if we wished was a welcome luxury. We chilled a bottle of champagne in the in room mini bar, and drank champagne on our balcony looking out over Grand Harbour.

Breakfast was excellent, served outside on the terrace. There was an extensive buffet, several varieties of home made bread home made preserves and cakes, cold cuts, cheeses, salad, yoghurts,cereals, fresh fruit, and freshly squeezed juices. All was unobtrusively continually replenished There was also an extensive choice of hot dishes cooked to order.

The location is excellent and fits in well with the ambience of Valetta. It is a short stroll (two minutes) from the old city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something a little special when visting Valetta.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Grand Harbour have the best sunsets (and also best if you want to avoid being woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarbaraDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.3 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,107 reviews
3.2 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
0.4 km away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
156 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range: ₹ 9,078 - ₹ 29,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenicia, just re-opened after an extensive renovation programme, is one of the leading luxury hotels in Malta. Located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city, The Phoenicia is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre landscaped gardens. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away giving the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at The Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing