We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal every visit”

King's Own Band Club Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 299 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Preca Family are the proud owners of Tal Familja Restaurant & Palazzo Preca. Roberta Preca (one of five daughters) owns the King's Own Band Club Bar & Restaurant which is situated in this enchanting 1874 building, a stone's throw away from the Maltese historical gem - 'St John's Co-Cathedral'. This restaurant is a typical Maltese traditional cuisine restaurant. Roberta is the proud award winner for Maltese best female chef for 2015 & 2016.
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

A warm welcome followed by great food. Generous portions so if you like desserts, skip the starters. Personally I recommend the beef olive. I certainly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank 545panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

Came here several times in March 2015.when there was no outside seating.
This time we dined out on the street and on one occasion had the Festa banners being erected right above our heads.
Informal but good food, local wine by the litre pichet and wonderful staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We ate at the Kings own 3 times during our 10 day stay in Valletta. All three meals were excellent and really good value for what you got. On one occasion my husband had the veal chop special which he says was the best one he has ever had. We also had scallops, sea bass, and steak, so there is plenty of choice for all tastes. There are also quite a few pasta dishes but we are not big pasta eaters - however they looked good. The setting is informal with tables outside and in.
A really good mid priced but high quality restaurant - we tended to have some of the most expensive things on the menu (for example scallops and Veal chop) and for 2/3 courses with a nice bottle of wine we paid between £50 and £60 but it would be easy to get a very good meal for less.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank holidayjunkie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The food is excellent, we dine here every time we are in Malta.
Friendly staff and great food, just wait till you taste the garlic butter amazing.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TerryJ714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We wanted a restaurant to celebrate our final night's in valetta - something special and great food. We stumbled on this unassuming restaurant and took a chance - my wife ordering the scallops and then the tuna steak, whilst I went for the naked brie and then the fried calamari. The service was friendly, efficient and welcoming. The food was delicious, fresh and cooked to perfection. The price, which also included a bottle of wine, sparkling water and two equally delicious desserts, around €70. Well worth it - exceptional night.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta P, Owner at King's Own Band Club Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you so much :) ... much appreciated ... until you visit our beautiful island again take good care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Own Band Club Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to King's Own Band Club Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing