We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Cheap travel generally - Airport too

It’s worth investigating the bus timetables before going to Malta because it’s a very cheap way to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
239alisonc
,
Alicante, Spain
via mobile
Good but always very busy.......

We’ve used several buses across the island, most of the time we managed to get a seat but did have... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lozbell88
,
Sidcup, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,143 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Valletta
from US$ 37.40
More Info
from US$ 7.20
More Info
from US$ 37.40
More Info
from US$ 10.08
More Info
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
301
197
100
40
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
197
100
40
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unlimited travel bus service travel card the bus system buses run day ticket hiring a car weekly ticket single journey seven days single ticket local transport two hours always on time the main bus station hop on hop costs euros
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 709 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Malta buses are fantastic and we paid 21 euros each for a weekly pass. It is well worth doing and will take you anywhere on the island. The buses are frequent but often busy and the Maltese don’t really seem to queue so you may not get a seat. The value for money is amazing though and it’s a great way to see the island

Thank S1775GCkarenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Whilst on our trip to Malta we used the buses to get round the island. There are a number of different tickets so worth looking into to make sure you get the right one for you. Buses frequent.

Thank denisebaker2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I bought this alright after landing thought the mobile app would be so helpful. It’s be like NYC trip planner. Wrong! Never worked and always return no results found error. Hugely disappointing. I end up going from one end point to another end point because not knowing where to transfer. Not expensive so you can still get the card. But it’s not worth what I originally anticipated. I probably only used twice a day and i’m Not a beach person.

Thank amysun2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really impressed with the transport system. Only €1.50 no matter how far you travel. The 12 journey card very useful as it can be shared. Bus system easy to use.

Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used the ferries in Valetta and the busses in Valetta and to viit other towwns and attractions. Really efficient, very cheap, easy to get round the island.

1  Thank IanL454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It’s worth investigating the bus timetables before going to Malta because it’s a very cheap way to travel... 1.50 per trip regardless of distance and even cheaper if you buy a multi trip card or a week’s pass (21e unlimited travel). It is slow though as there’s a lot of traffic.
We stayed in Sliema and chose the bus from the airport over a 25e taxi. The X2 is the local bus that does a loop with lots of stops and goes to Sliema and there’s also a quicker express service the TD2 which does an airport, St Julian’s, Sliema Ferry loop(cost is 3e for the express. Both are hourly. The express left the airport at half past the hour, at Sliema at quarter past the hour. The X2 at Sliema ten past the hour arrived at the airport at ten past. Have the right change for the bus.
The ferry Sliema to Valletta 1.50 single, 2.80 return every half hour (change given)

Thank 239alisonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’ve used several buses across the island, most of the time we managed to get a seat but did have to stand on one. Buses were clean and on time all bar one Sunday bus which arrived 28 minutes late. We’d definitely use again and would recommend.

1  Thank Lozbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well worth buying. I stayed at the Radisson, North West of the island and this made travelling easier.

Thank JanetCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheap travel with a 7 day ticket. Easy to understand which buses to get at the station in Valletta. Not such frequent services to out of the way places so best to check. Good way of seeing the rest of Malta away from the centre of Valletta.

Thank JoyceBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled around some places Valletta bus station .Really clean and efficient service .Good explanations of routes and bus times and inexpensive

Thank Monge831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews