We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 15.

view into courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi
courtyard
courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Morning Room
morning room
Hallway
Staircase
Hallway/Entrance to Morning Room
Mill Room
Upstairs Landing
roof terrace
roof terrace - view to sea
Roof terrace
roof terrace - view to mdina
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
Mdina at night
Back Door
Local beach Golden Bay
Square and St Pauls church in Rabat
View from roof
Mdina Gates
Local beach
Local restaurant in Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Oglandia
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quirky and comfortable”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is a quirky place with a huge amount of space and character. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds, plenty of linens and good aircon. Downstairs stays cool naturally with its thick stone walls and small windows. The kitchen is a little disappointing; poorly lit, not well equipped and very musty. I wished I’d brought a head torch! We were glad we brought a cafetière from home as the percolator was very old and looked like it had not been used in years. We enjoyed the cinema room and playing cards on the rooftop. We loved the location; right in the heart of the old town. We liked the way the house was furnished with old traditional furniture. However, we would have liked a more modern bathroom with decent water pressure. All in all, this is a great place from which to explore Malta, especially if you appreciate somewhere that is a bit different.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Hi
Thankyou for your review
The slight musty smell is the nature of these 500 year old historic properties.
As regards the lighting in the kitchen we will take another look at this and also replace the old Italian coffee maker. Perhaps you never found the under-counter lighting switches in addition to the large overhead light and the floor lamp. What also helps is to put the dining room lights on as well as these rooms interconnect. Unfortunately, these historic houses were designed to keep out the light/heat and although we have made many alterations to bring in more light there is little we can do to open up the kitchen area.
Our bathrooms are also decorated in keeping with the period. We will also recheck the water pressure as the house has an electric water pump to increase the pressure I hope the previous guest had not switched this off.

Very glad that overall you had a great stay and the feedback always helps us to make changes for future guests where we can
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A house of so much character”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What an amazing house. Stone arches, spiral staircase, sunny courtyard... it is thoughtfully renovated but parts of the building are clearly very old. It's well funr in a lovely neighbourhood, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and a few minutes walk from the walled city of Mdina. We hired a car and it was the perfect base from which to explore the island.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, the kitchen not overloaded with equipment but perfectly fine for our needs. The splash pool is very welcome as it was very hot during our stay. Salvo (the neighbour) was on hand if needed, and is a very nice chap. We didn't encounter any problems though :)

Just a couple of little suggestions - towels are provided but they were really very much past their best, although they were clean many of them were very stained and had holes in... the owners could probably do with refreshing the stock, and if you're fussy about that kind of thing you might want to pack your own. The projection/dvd player and big screen are great, but we thought there might be a few DVDs to watch and didn't think to bring any, so we couldn't use it - be sure and pack a few movies in your suitcase! In fact there's nothing in the way of board games or books or suchlike provided, so bring some if you're coming with teens - there's no wifi so they can get pretty bored. Not too much of a problem as there's so much to see and do in Malta we didn't stay in much. But still, worth bearing in mind.

Those are very minor issues though, for what is really a lovely place to stay. I would absolutely recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Hi
Thanks for the positive review
Sorry about the DVDs Salvo always has some in the local format that he is happy to let guests borrow
The towels will be upgraded in the Autumn. Locally they are of poor quality hence why they dont last, but we will bring some new ones over from the UK
There should be some board games and books in the cabinet in the dining room, we will recheck when we are next over later this month
Thanks for the feedback this always helps us with making changes for future bookers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaFly
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large rental with so much history and character”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We rented this property last year for a week. The property is over 4 floors, the 4th being the roof terrace. It is cool and had everything we needed. Mdina is a 5 minute walk. Rabat is lovely. We had a religious festival on the go, and it was very exciting. Lovely plunge pool to keep you cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulineH1...
1 review
“Magnificent House”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Pro's: Comfortable, clean. Lot's of linens, towels and even beach towels. Beds are very comfortable. lots of room in the house to relax and for privacy. Shopping, restaurants close by, steps away from the City Center and Mdina Main Gate. Very centrally located. Bus lines close by. Air conditioning in 3 of the 4 bedrooms. Salvo the Care taker is a wonderful and friendly man and is always happy to help or answer questions.

Con's: Not enought lighting in the kitchen. Very dark and hard to see what you are cooking. Espresso pot not usable-rotten, coffee pot would have been great. Tea kettle also rotten. Freezer on the roof floor not in the kitchen. Lack of pots and pans for cooking. No grill available as listed. No Air Conditioning on the main floor.

We would still rent the house again. Hopefully the Con's will be fixed. Also, no WiFi. It was difficult to use the internet, the cafe's did not always have WiFi. would have been happy to pay more for intranet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara T
London
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique House/Castle Experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at this charming and unique property for a week, 2 adults a 10 year old and 17 year old.

The property is huge! The pictures are exact and honest. The house is old so take that into account when booking as that's part of the character of your holiday.

We didn't cook but we're pleased to have a snack & milk on arrival. There are plenty of utensils and crockery if needed.

The morning room is very sweet.

The lounge was good for evening films, you need to take own DVDs,the only downside was there is a small sofa and 2 chairs so you may need to bring other chairs in for a larger family to sit.

Plenty of toilets/bathrooms which were fully equipped with beautiful fixtures (plenty of loo roll too!)

The bedrooms were comfy, plenty of towels and linen. We didn't use the downstairs bedroom, this is a single on its own.

Each room has an oil heater which were needed for the time of year.

The outside upstairs area was beautiful although I only went up to do washing it really was stunning.

The garage is handy but take note that it fits a small car only.

Our favourite was most certainly the courtyard! The plunge pool was lovely and we used it every day. We enjoyed eating and drinking in the courtyard and reading while dipping in and out of the pool.

The property was like no other we have stayed in and you certainly can't compare it to anything modern. As a family we had a lovely time.

The area is full of wonderful streets and little coffee shops, the atmosphere is authentic malteese. Located perfectly to Mdina Gate which is a must see!! Plus the Roman Villa. We travelled around the whole island and you are never really longer than 30 mins from the house to anywhere on the mainland island so a perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing