We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful historic house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 15.

view into courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
view into courtyard
Heated Plunge-Pool/Jacuzzi
courtyard
courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Morning Room
morning room
Hallway
Staircase
Hallway/Entrance to Morning Room
Mill Room
Upstairs Landing
roof terrace
roof terrace - view to sea
Roof terrace
roof terrace - view to mdina
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
St Josephs - 19th March - to front/side of house
Mdina at night
Back Door
Local beach Golden Bay
Square and St Pauls church in Rabat
View from roof
Mdina Gates
Local beach
Local restaurant in Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Southofen...
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Unassuming outside, wouldn't stay here again ......”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This house is lovely inside with a great location but:

The only positive side: The house is very old and cool in the Malta heat with a lovely central courtyard. It is ideally located in Rabat (not Mdina as suggested by the owner/TripAdvisor).

Starting with the simplest of negatives:

Although the property was pretty it lacked adequate lighting especially in the kitchen (which was like a cave and you couldn't see to cook) and there are no lights (even table lamps) adequate to read from. Also there were a few lights missing or not working at all.

The beds were not made up properly and the sheets didn't fit (you ended up sleeping on an uncovered mattress ) and the linen (including the towels) were old and needed replacing

There were 6 of us staying in a house rented for 7. There were only 4 chairs for the dining room table and we had to use outside chairs from the courtyard.

Kitchen - woefully inadequate. Not a sharp knife in the house, lots of miss matched cutlery, dinner ware and pots/pans. In fact, the coffee maker (which rested on the stove top) was positively dangerous as it didn't fit on the hob. The fridge had a nasty smell when we got to the house (it had obviously been switched off and closed - the odour took over a week to go). The cupboards were not clean and there was residue cereal in one. The last straw was when the sink leaked, resulting in mopping up every time we washed dishes. It also took a few messages to the owners to trace how to put on the hot water to the kitchen.

Bathrooms - these were adequate (once you had sorted out how the hot running water worked). However, the sink in the main bathroom took a long time to drain out and the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned (resulting in us having to clean hairs etc from drain holes).

The plunge pool, unfortunately, was not working and had a leak (however the owner advised us before we went and compensated us for this).

There is a great cinema room (which only plays DVD's and there is not TV) which needs to have a set of instructions (none supplied). There is also no wifi in the property (one thing we often look for in properties we rent).

There were no booklets inside the house (which was advertised on TA) about local attractions and amenities and there were no instructions for any of the appliances (aircon, DVD etc). The iron was dangerous and had exposed wires where to top of the iron came away from the bottom. Any drawers or cupboards we looked in to try and find information were full of junk.

To top it all the electricity was disconnected on the final Wednesday of our stay and, although we had candles, there was insufficient light even in the day. We advised the owner who informed us that the disconnection was a technical glitch on the suppliers side (even though there was a letter pushed through the door that the electricity had been disconnected due to arrears). In the evening, due to the lack of light, one of our party fell over the bannister on the tight spiral staircase (resulting in an ambulance being called out and she was hospitalised). We were told by the electrician (who eventually came at midnight - after an all day outage) that 'we should have paid our bill!' The owners did not follow up the day after to ensure all was well with the electricity supply. The owners are very fortunate to have a local neighbour was very helpful as he called the ambulance for us and dealt with the electricity men who came to reconnect the electricity when the ambulance was there. If it hadn't been for him it would have been very difficult organising the ambulance and the reconnection of the electric. We had no communication from the owner the following day after the electricity was reconnected. When we advised them that one of our party had been injured we had a message that stated 'I have sent you a text please refer. I would ask for no further correspondence from yourselves. .....'!

I would not recommend this property because of the general upkeep and inadequate facilities. Whilst I appreciate this is an old property this doesn't mean that the general conditions can be ignored. It has been a real disappointment to us all that a holiday let, which could have been perfect, was let down by its owners. More thought about the facilities and the qualities of the accommodation would have made an ideal rental. We have stayed in other accommodation in Rabat/Mdina and found them excellent. It is a shame the property did not come up to our expectations and I wished I'd taken note of the other reviewers comments dating back over 2 years. It appears their comments and issues have been ignored and never dealt with. Avoid at all costs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: owners responses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
This is a malicious review, that was placed after we refused to refund further monies.

I will only respond to the main points.

We do apologise for the Iron, it was usable but we never had time to swap out this will be done prior to the 2016 season.

Location, we are in the original environs of Mdina, If you take the current definition, we are a couple of minutes walk to the current boundary.

As regards the linen this is ridiculous, there must be 15 to 20 or so sets of bedding (all high quality from Laura Ashley etc in the UK) at the property, so if something wasn't quite right (1 bed is an antique carved walnut French design so its a slightly odd mattress size and another bed was imported from the USA, this is bigger than any typical UK sizing its king size plus) please revert to the linen cupboard and swap something). each year we add to our linen collection there were at least 2 or 3 new sets last year.

There is no TV or Wifi at the property (Wifi is available in all the local cafes/restaurants) this is as advertised/detailed. There is however a very impressive DVD/large screen cinema set up (see property photos).

You will find in the property an information pack, its normally in the magazine rack or sometimes previous guests have put it in the dresser in the dining room. We have collected many local relevant magazines travel info etc and this has been deliberatly left for the convenience of clients.

The dining room has a large very large Oak table with matching 4 chairs. For larger groups there are at least 10 other suitable chairs around that just need to be added to the table if required.

As regards to the cleaning this is completely untrue, for this rental we cleaned the property ourselves the day before the clients arrival and the whole house was immaculate, and the fridge was perfectly clean I would suggest something that the clients stored led to this as we have never had issues with the fridge.

There is a mention of the kitchen having inadequate lighting. There is a powerful overhead ceiling light and in addition a direct extractor/ hob light, and other lamps located for effect. This also relates to the problem of lamps in the property and as stated we were at the property ourselves immediately prior to their stay, so in this instance we know every lamp was working and also note each bedroom has bedside tables with lamps . In regards to lighting etc at the property and for full transparency for other potential guests, we have now included night time photos of the property, judge for yourself.

As regards to the electric problem, the power was off for a few hours and of course we are sorry this happened. This was actually due to an Enemalta billing issue due to timing of our bill being sent to us in the UK. Within a few minutes of the problem being highlighted to us we had an agreement with Enemalta that the power would be immediately restored. There is no mention in the review that we corresponded with the client on this matter and that they were informed that in case power was not restored we offered for the clients to be re-located to a local 5 star hotel at our expense. This offer was not taken up, so make your mind up what really happened. As regards to the electricity supply being restored at midnight this is preposterous where is the world would this happen !

With regards to the blocked sink my neighbour, came in immediately that is was flagged/identified and he remediated, he informed me that the blockage was caused by the clients directly disposing of spaghetti down the sink, not a particularly clever/intelligent/pleasant operation/behaviour.

Please read further to get a more truthfully/honest set of reviews.

Note for the 2016 season we are hoping to have (If our local builders don't let us down) a new roof terrace sitting room with views across the island with distant sea views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenloc
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic house in a great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family group of 3 teens, a 12 year old and 2 adults spent 5 very happy days here, and wished it could have been longer. From the photos on the web site, we expected something lovely, but when we arrived we were amazed by just how beautiful the home is, in a way that just can't be captured by a photo. The rooms are large, historic and beautifully decorated. The spa provide a welcome way to cool down iafter a long day of walking in the summer sun. The courtyard was a lovely oasis of calm.

There are 4 bedrooms, one single and 3 double, 2 very comfortable bathrooms.upstairs and another toilet downstairs. The kitchen was very adequate for our needs and well stocked with utensils, cutlery, plates and glasses. In addition, bread, butter, milk and bottled water were supplied, which was a lovely touch. In the fabulous mill room, there is a DVD set up with a projector- the very helpful caretaker Salvo brought around some English language DVDs, and we spent a happy though somewhat surreal evening watching Charlie Chaplin on the big screen in a 500 year old house.

The house was clean and smelt good.

The upper floor with 3 bedrooms is reached by a large spiral staircase, which was fine for all of us, but might not suit the very young or any travellers with mobility problems.

The location is excellent , though the house is initially hard to find. The owner had sent some directions in a link, but unfortunately my computer couldn't open them, so it might be a good idea to ask for written directions. Once the house is found, it is very easy to find again, and it is very close to all the wonderful sites in Rabat and Medina, and also to the main bus exchange. It would probably help initially to get a street map of the area- we had trouble getting one, even at the tourist office. However, once you have been in the area for a short while, it is easy to find the way, and getting lost occasionally is just part of the fun.

There is no WiFi but there is a good cafe, the Piazzeria, in the nearby piazza near the church that has free WiFi. I was happy to not have constant WiFi distracting my teenagers, but other travellers may have different needs.

All in all, it is an amazingly beautiful and comfortable house and we are all very glad to have stayed in it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and location
Liked least: The slightly hard mattress
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttonmoo...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely reasonably priced house, but needs a good clean”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As others have said this is a gorgeous traditional house in a great location. It is not really suitable for people with young children or people who are not very mobile due to its spiral staircase. Took us a little while to find as we arrived via the bus from the Gozo ferry. However it is not far from the bus station we could just have done with some better directions. We were informed we could collect the key from the neighbour but weren't told which house and there seemed to be nobody about. luckily he heard us in the end. The neighbour was extremely helpful and even gave us a lift back to the airport in the early hours of the morning for a small charge. This could be an amazing place to stay the only thing that let it down a bit was that it really wasn't very clean, there were clumps of hair on the bathroom floor, the kitchen bin and dish drainers were both filthy, and the whole of the downstairs smelt very damp like a cave. We didn't prepare much food there but you felt you needed to wash everything you wanted to use beforehand. However with this said I still think the property offers a unique place to stay for a few days and for a group of people would offer very good value for money. The bread, orange juice and bottled water was a welcome touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Traditional style of the property
Liked least: Uncleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review.
Apologies if you found a few items that needed a better cleaning job, we will let the cleaners know to be more careful with the items you mentioned, and unfortunately, we are not in Malta to supervise. There can sometimes be an odd smell in places remember this is a 500 year old building completely made of the local stone,which can be a bit porous, there is also a cave, water well and cellar below the ground floor and unfortunately when the house was built they didn't have damp proof courses. We have been told that for a traditional historic house ours is actually in very good order and actually very dry. Thank you for mentioning the spiral staircase its a great feature and as you stated means that the house is therefore not that suited for young children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraht280...
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque restored town house, perfect base for exploring Malta, let down by poor communication from the owner.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Positives:
This is a beautiful large house, perfect for our family of 4. The courtyard was idealic with a refreshing jacuzzi to escape the heat of the day. It was a perfect base just outside of Mdina to explore Malta. We had a hire car and enjoyed visiting the different places around the island as well as soaking up the atmosphere in Mdina and Rabat. It took half hour from the airport and we met Salf who saw us in, and showed us around the property. There is a garage, but we chose to park alongside the playground, just round the corner. The locals were friendly and we quickly found the bakery and shops. There is a market on Sunday in Rabat which sells most things. Our children (9 and 12) needed to take care on the spiral stairs, though they did enjoy living in a house with so many levels. Furniture and facilities were mainly fine, not everything was in perfect working order as mentioned in previous reviews before but it was adequate.
Negatives:
We experienced quite poor communication with the owner and so would recommend you make sure you are in contact with them well in advanced of your arrival to arrange key collection and get directions. There isnt any organised information at the house about the appliances or what to do in an emergency other than relying on the neighbour, Salf. We unfortunately spent the first hour of our holiday cleaning the mouldy fridge and washing the floors. We have bought this to the attention of the owners, though have not had any response so would recommend you check about this prior to your arrival.

A really lovely place to stay, just needed a good spring clean and friendlier and timely communication from the owner.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert k
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a house. Perfect tradditional Maltese home. We have stayed many times in Malta, and this was by far the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. The pool was very warm and even has jets just like a spa. When the house is lit up at night it was so special nothing like your boring 5 star hotel accommodation. We stayed for a week with our parents and a friend, everyone was very happy and when you consider the indivudual price that we paid it was fantastic value for money. There was plenty of space for everyone, Each bedroom was huge with, bed side tables with lamps, very efficient aar conditioning and plenty of wardrobe space. The living areas is like nothing you will find in the UK massive stone walls and ceilings that must be 12 feet tall in places. There is an integral garage so no problems with parking your car. The house location was also very good, in a quiet residential area, and yet a very short walk to shops, bank, restaurants and buses. One poInt to note bedtroom 4 on the ground floor does not have air conditioning but we found this room to be cool regardless. In summary, a fantastic stay, and we would definately recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: features in the house
Liked least: roof space could be improved
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing