We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish & Chips delivered with a smile”
Review of Stanley's Chippy

Stanley's Chippy
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 11
Description: Stanley's Chippy offers an extensive menu for customers wanting to sit in the beautiful square of San Gorg absorbing the wonderful atmosphere of Gozo. We offer Take-away from the same Menu which you can order by phone then collect at your convenience. Table service is provided and we are fully licensed, so come, relax and have a drink plus try our specialty which is our freshly coated Beer Battered Cod served with Chips, mushy peas plus home made tartar sauce. Take the time out to visit us you won't be disappointed. Check our our website for all Specials!
Restaurant details
Description: Stanley's Chippy offers an extensive menu for customers wanting to sit in the beautiful square of San Gorg absorbing the wonderful atmosphere of Gozo. We offer Take-away from the same Menu which you can order by phone then collect at your convenience. Table service is provided and we are fully licensed, so come, relax and have a drink plus try our specialty which is our freshly coated Beer Battered Cod served with Chips, mushy peas plus home made tartar sauce. Take the time out to visit us you won't be disappointed. Check our our website for all Specials!
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Just had fish & chips delivered by David. We have sampled Andys delights in the square before but decided to have it delivered having had a busy day. Service was quick and food was hot on arrival. Looking forward to sampling the new additions on the menu. Big thank you to Andy and David. Excellent as always

1  Thank Gozitan1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Stanley's Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback on our new delivery service. It is important to us that our food arrives quickly and also it is still piping hot. We pride ourselves in giving excellent service at all times and look forward to you sampling our other delights in the near future. Thanks again from Andy and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

I had the small battered cod with chops and peas, the portion was surprisingly big for the price and it was nice to enjoy it outside looking at the church

1  Thank Mook8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Stanley's Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We would like to thank you for taking timeout to review Stanley's. We really appreciate it and are pleased you were happy with your meal. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We heard about this little chippy on Saint Georges Square off our hosts at the B&B we are staying at, and thought we would give it a try
We sat down at this fantastic location and was greeted by a lovely young waitress a very pleasant and helpful girl and was served our drinks and was given time to enjoy our surroundings and enjoy the singer on the Square whilst mulling over what we were going to choose off this very nice menu, even though we new it would be the Beer battered cod that came so highly recommended.
Well when it came Wow came from our mouths we both ordered the small one and that was more than enough for anyone, the chips lovely and crisp, fab mushy pea's and the tartar sauce was divine and the Cod well it was the best we have ever tasted the batter melted in your mouth the cod chunky and white and not greasy at all
this was an amazing experience and will definitely recommend this to all of our friends well done and thanks

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kiera g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Stanley's Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. Andy and the team really appreciates feedback and strives to give the best possible service and food at all times. We can't thank you enough for such great comments. We look forward to seeing you or your friends in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

It was OK. Nothing special to rave about. However, I would like to know if the fish sold is 'Farmed', 'From Frozen' or 'Fresh Frozen Atlantic / Pacific Cold water caught'.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank InspectorLeStrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Stanley's Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Good Morning Inspector LeStrade, we are sorry you felt our Fish and Chips was not to your satisfaction. The fish is imported Fresh Frozen from the North Atlantic, then it is defrosted at our shop, then skinned before it is coated in our Beer Batter then deep fried. Sorry you were disappointed but as you can see from previous reviews this has never happened before, but we do thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Delicious cod, home from home food, tucked away in a little square. Both really enjoyed our meal. Cheers guys.

Thank Lemasdesvignes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P, Public Relations Manager at Stanley's Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your review - we really appreciate it. So glad you both enjoyed your Fish and Chips, which is our specialty! Hope to see you again - All the best Andy and the Chippettes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley's Chippy also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 
Victoria, Island of Gozo
Victoria, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Stanley's Chippy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing