We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish restaurant and magnificent views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arzella

Arzella
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish restaurant and magnificent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I am a Maltese resident in London and was elated to discover this little treasure in Marsalforn. Chris runs this family restaurant with pride and presented us with dish after dish of exquisitely fresh and delicious fish and seafood. Will definitely be recommending this place to my friends in London and will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaDrMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    94
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Taken there by Joey our taxi driver/ guide we were delighted with the food. My wife an I shared the fish platter with excellent red mullet, large meaty mussels, huge prawns and a mix of calamari and octopus. Truly delightful. Our friends were equally pleased with the rabbit they ordered. A nice bottle of wine and a view of fishermen enjoying an afternoon on the harbour wall completed the pleasure. We liked it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I will never go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We went in April and the food was excellent so
we went a few times after that. The last 2 times
we went, the food wasn't cooked properly. I couldn't
believe it was the same restaurant. That's
it for my friends and me.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Definitely one of the best in Gozo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Delicious food, helpful staff, great view, surely recommended. Been here many times with friends, Always satisfied..we usually order big fish platters which are not on the menu with mussles and calamari. A restaurant to try.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lcam0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A breath of fresh air (literally) in Marsalforn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I'll be pretty concise. Had lunch here today with clients who introduced me to this place I didn't even know existed. Fantastic descrete location. Discerning but unobtrusive owner who is literally anal about the fish he serves. Had a simple but perfectly dished misto of carpaccio to start with followed by a gorgeously presented platter of sautéed king prawns, pan seared gurbell, and a tris of calamari: stuffed; fried; and pan cooked in a fantastic sauce. Instant favourite and recommended for the foodies who are reading this.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JKF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arzella also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Arzella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing