We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's just say it wasn't close to good...”
Review of Il-Forno - CLOSED

Il-Forno
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A 300 year old building with great character, with a bay view balcony.A live latin guitar player and a Hong Kong Chef who tries to please.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our annual stay in gozo always goes without a hitch, unfortunetly when in Gozo for the 15th time in a row, we decided to try something new and look for a restaurant at the last second (we preferably wanted one in Marsaxlokk which serves pizza for the kids and has sea views) the positioning was absolutely perfect and the view of the bay was stunning.
the owner or manager was waiting outsie the restaurant like an eagle (as agreed with a previous review) playing his guitar and charming people. the place was empty even though it was a Saturday night and all other places were stuffed. the décor was hideous, old, dirty and stained. After about three quarters of an hour waiting for our 4 pizza dishes and one meat and two pasta dishes and finally they arrived, not only was the waiter unable to communicate in the English language but the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages.
We had also asked the waiter for a vegetarian dish and she suggested the caeser salad!!!
the pizza looked horrendous. the crust was burned and uneven whilst the taste was worst- burnt and tastless (seemed like it was re-heated) the pasta was disgusting (there was an overload of salt and pepper) the meat was drench in what was called a sauce.
We asked for at least half our money back as it was too much of a shame to see a place with a great view but has ad service. the owner told us that maltese people like their pizza hard and crunchy and as a matter of fact I am maltese (just engligsh speaking) and I am certain that maltese people do not like burnt pizzas. he refused to give us the money back 90 euros down the drain.
but as I have recently check the place has a 'for sale' sign.
another thing I thought was silly was the comment above 'Asian chef who tries to impress' TRIES?!

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yasmine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

On our first night in Marsalforn the owner was trying hard to get us to go in and we declined. On our last night we decided to give it a go. The building is lovely and the view across the bay is picturesque so as a restaurant it has a lot of potential. The service however leaves much to be desired. We ordered our starter and main and were waiting for at least an hour for the starter to come up. When we queried the wait we were told that there had been a mix up in the kitchen and the wrong starter had been prepared so the kitchen started from scratch. While this was going on another couple who had arrived after us received their mains just before our starters came up. One of ours was wrong so the order was sent back down to the kitchen a third time. By the time the correct starters had come the other couple had given up in disgust with their meals and left. We had a pretty unappetizing starter each and then decided to give up and go somewhere where we knew the food would be better quality. When we said this to someone working there she told us that she was not surprised and was there to deal with their temperamental chef. We explained to the only waitress (very sweet) that we were leaving and the owner then took it out on her. She has only been working there for a couple of weeks and has a much better grasp of what is going on there than he does in my opinion, as we were paying he then her to close the restaurant for the night and make sure that nobody else came in - the best decision he'd made all night in my opinion.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had the spaghetti with squid ink and calamari which at 7.50 EUR really cannot be faulted. My wife had the lasagne which was OK.

Service was slow and the food took a while to arrive which is strange seeing we were the only customers in the restaurant!

Just above average.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alanv545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

To be honest, we first entered this redstaurant because of his balcony with the absolute best view in Marsalforn, but the food was so delicious, that we ate there nearly every day of the rest of our holidays! The menu may be unusual with its mixture of maltese, italian and chinese food, but because all is extremely good, you have the advantage, that even when you are in a bigger compay, everybody has the chance to find, what he likes. The steak: great. Fish: always exactly at the point. The absulute best rabbit of Gozo and Malta! If your a frient of chinese food, don't miss the lemon chicken! But beware of the Tomato soup: you will be addicted right after your first spoon.
We were four and we didn't get one single meal that was not great, and this in 10 days.
Not to forget the wonderful guitar playing of the owner. When he is in the mood, he'll play for you! Starry,starry night, Winston!

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We regularly visit this restaurant on a couple of occasions on our annual visit to Gozo. A very diverse menu in a beautiful restaurant with a balcony with best sea view in Marsalforn. One of the chefs is chinese and there is a speciality starter of dumplings and Won Tons with bar-b-q spare ribs in a special chinese sauce - these are excellent and to be reccomended. The pasta is always good but an exceptional tip here is for diners who like steak, as this restaurant serves the best steak on the island. On one occasion we asked for a custom special of Tornedos Rossini - the owner was delighted to oblige.

The owner is particularly interesting. A friendlycharacter, a very famous jazz guitarist in his younger days, who, if he has the time, will serenade customers with Joe Pass style guitar, which is his passion. Be prepared for some great moments of eccentricity. Ask him to play "Teach me Tonight".

The restaurant is tucked away on a corner overlooking the harbour, be sure to take the right hand steps as the entrance is narrow. A thumbs up from us to a restaurant which prides itself with return customers.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UkBonViveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il-Forno also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing