We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il-Guva

Double Bedroom with ensuite and aircondition (number 2)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double Bedroom with ensuite and aircondition (number 2)
Double Bedroom with ensuite (number 2) Double Bedroom (number 2) with sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Double Bedroom with ensuite and aircondition (number 2)
Double Bedroom with ensuite (number 2)
Double Bedroom (number 2) with sea view
The ensuite
Double Bedroom (number 1)
Double Bedroom (number 1)
Double Bedroom (number 1)
The leading way to upstairs
The leading way to upstairs
Stairs to lead the two levels
The entrance
The Sitting Room
The Sitting Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
The Kitchen Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
The Dining Room
The second Floor Shower/Rest Room
View from kitchen
Views from penthouse
Views from penthouse
Views from penthouse
Views from penthouse
Levels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Polish first
Any
English first
backnerak
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent base”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our second stay in this apartment and already we've booked to come back again in 2016. What better recommendation can there be than that?
Ritienne and Domenic were excellent hosts. The apartment is clean and adequately kitted out to act as a home from home. We stayed for just over three weeks so things like the washing machine and iron were extremely useful.
For us, Marsalforn is an great out of season base. It's not exactly busy, as it would be in high season, but there are plenty of restaurants, bars and supermarkets within easy reach.
The local bus service is very good and we find it quite easy to manage without a car, especially since either Ritienne or Domenic provide transport to and from the ferry.
Once again we had a fabulous stay on this wonderful island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Hi, thanks for your positive feedback. Looking forward to meet you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krishnabo...
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The photos don't really do justice to how nice the apartment is. Lovely and spacious and very comfortable. Ritienne and Domenic were very kind and helpful - even when we managed to lock ourselves out late one night and Domenic had to cross the island on his motorbike to let us in!

The only negative would be the location (hence the 4/5 rating) - Marsalforn is great for the quantity but unfortunately not quality of restaurants (expensive and repetitive tourist menus). There are a couple of small supermarkets, several dive shops and a 'british' bar - so we spent very little time in the town itself other than in the apartment.

We ended up self-catering for most of our stay and found the kitchen lovely to cook in but it could do with a few more utensils (and a sharp knife). Locally grown food is pretty cheap and we bought a great Gozitan cookbook to work from ("The Gozo Table"). I'd recommend Ta Mena (vineyard and fresh produce) just up the road towards Victoria for fruit and veg and some great tasting wines for 5-6 euros a bottle.

Getting around the island by car is easy - very little traffic and the surrounding villages have a few hidden gems - such as the ftiras from Mekren bakery in Nadur and the cakes at Cafe Reale in Xaghra. Another treat are the ice creams from Gelateria Granola in Xlendi - it always seems busy and for good reason (warning - do not buy ice cream from the kiosk in Marsalform - absolutely horrid and chemical tasting!). I'd also like to recommend Bubbles Dive centre, great dive team and great fun - and just a short stroll from the apartment.

All in all staying at Il Guva was a very pleasant experience and again I'd like to thank our hosts for making it so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bubbles dive centre
Liked least: Marsalforn restaurants
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thanks very much for the nice comments. Really appreciate your remark re kitchen utensils. It has been noted, infact we already bought some other utensils/cutlery that might be needed. Hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn n
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic penthouse apartment”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

my wife and i stayed here for 10 nights in June 2014 ,the apartment is superb ,very roomy,bright and spottless. domenic met us outside marsalforn church just yards from the apartment entrance at 22:30 pm.we had our own hire car which we were able to park just around the corner. ll guva is very well equipped,with everything you need for your stay,it does have a small balcony at one end overlooking xaghra road,with patio doors either end of the apartment that can be opened up to allow a lovely breeze to flow through.the views from the rear are fab,which overlook marsalform harbour ,town,promenade,the apartment is just yards from the small beach,bars,restaurants .we are returning again in june 2015. perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was an absolute pleasure to deal with you, and looking forward to welcome you again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanoS...
1 review
“Everything you could want!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Apartment was excellent for the price and perfectly located. Steps are a pain but you can't have everything.

Buses are regular but getting on one is another matter and sometimes they would completely miss the stop! I Would recommend hiring a car.

Best place we found to eat was Latini bar & restaurant, opposite the small harbour.

Best place to snorkel was the Blue Lagoon (apparently it's best to go after 6 as it's very busy during the day) Blue Hole at Azure Window and Hondoq Bay in Qala. As you walk down to Hondoq beach if you look right you will see a trail leading up the hill, if you follow this for approx 50m you will find a wonderful little cove, it's not easy to get to but it was the highlight of my holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Thanks very much for the positive review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: With having a young child a bath may have been beneficial to us
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2014
Dear Clients,

We would like to thank you for your time in reviewing us and for finding our location to your liking. We are so pleased that we made your stay an enjoyable one. Hope to see you back on the island of Gozo.

Regards,

Ritienne and Domenic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing