We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, very friendly service and good ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Amand - CLOSED

Chez Amand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very friendly service and good ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had the gozo salad (the local cheese is excellent), crevetts thermidor/fillet of beef and the, not to be missed, crepe Caroline. All to be recommended at any time. The day before, westumbled on this little restaurant and had the fish soup as a snack. This made us decide to come back the next evening and we were not dissappointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    71
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Come on....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Amand is the best place on Gozo...Not that he is good or bad....Others are much worst....Meaning real bad...
He is friendly...Not everyone on the island is.....If you go there foe mussels or lobsters...Where can you find any of these in the meditterenean sea ??? Have you ever dived....They are no such things there...
Most of the fishes found in restaurants on these Island come from Oman.....Frozen ....Not the Mediterranean sea , if you enjoy it...Why not...? It least it will be well prepared. at Amand., He can have 25 stars ...He has no one against him ..He is the king on the island , probably the only one coock around....Tought I dond't think he cooks himself...Well he did give good advices to the one who prepares it...Well lte's face it you are not far from the sea ...A friendly atmosphere ...A decent meal...One in days or weeks...Easy for him...No one around...British will find it French cuisine...Others will enjoy all the rest...Come on , Malta and Gozo are no gourmets places to be...Enjoy it ...Better do that at Amand ...What' else ???

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinayamoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heroldsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Entertainment included”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Been the first time to Amands nice little Restaurant - even though we´ve been to Gozo for the last 15 years. This was a really outstanding experience because this is far more than just a restaurant with excellent food wonderful atmosphere and good choice of local and foreign wines, all at reasonable prices. This is like beeing welcome with friends. Amand and his daughter are entertaining their clientele while cooking and serving them. Feels all like beeing very welcome - as if you´ve already been there for years. This is a must if you stay on Gozo. Try the Lobster bisque (if available).

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
1 review
“Melt in the mouth steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Chez Amand was recommended to us by friends who visit Gozo regularly and as this was the first time we had been to the isalnd we were more than happy to be guided as to the best places to eat. We were not disappointed!! The food was wonderful (probably the best steak I have eaten in years) and the stew was delicious.

Amand and his daughter Caroline could not be more attentive or helpful. The atmosphere was relaxed and the view over the bay was fantastic. We visited Chez Amand 3 times whilst we were in Gozo (twice for dinner and once for lunch) and the restaurant was always busy (always a good sign in our opinion).

Will definitely go back if we visit Gozo again

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“SWORDFISH WITHOUT A SWORD!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stopped there to have a look around, saw this little place and gave it a try. We where offered baby swordfish just caught. Couldn't resist it, in Italy, where we live, small swordfishes are delicious but illegal, they cannot be sold on the market.
Turned out to be a non identifiable local fish that they decided to name baby swordfish (so they told us and pointed out that it doesn't even has a sword!!) It was white and soft and filleted, no resemblance whatsoever with the real thing.
It was good, but not what we expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Amand also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing