We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel - superb food, peacful - loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great hotel - superb food, peacful - loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was there with my familiy in November 2009. Rooms were reasonable. Not the cleanst place in the world but it was fine.
I loved it because if you need a pace to kick back and really relax then that is you place. The island is small and more or less that is the only hotel on in. There are a few places you can and must visit.
Ship free of charge for the hotel guests is 4-5 times a day both to Gozo and the Main island. But even if you are late, you can rent a boat taxi it is not that expensive.
Wather and water temperature was perfect for late november.
Rooms need renovation.
All and all I loved it and I would like to go there again :_)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vdexoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    148
    84
    42
    40
See reviews for
109
183
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I am a resident of Malta and after years of wanting to go to Comino, I finally set off to do so with my wife. The hotel is 4 star but I Rate it 3 star. The bungalows and rooms are extremely dated, the furniture is old and the bathrooms are hideous like it came out from an 80's film.
On the other side, the views are breathtaking, the service quite good and the hotel and bungalows overall are very clean.

Room Tip: If you're choosing a hotel room I reccomend you choose one facing the pool so in the morning you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UknownMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Yes the Comino hotel is tired and rough around the edges but that for me was its character. If this hotel was a 5 star oasis then it would make everything too busy and posh on what is a small lonely island. It enabled us to relax and that is why we were there. If they sorted the breakfast out (it was awful) and made the staff happier this hotel would be a little 3 star gem with its own cool Comino personality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Num_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I love wildlife and nature in general, so we were very excited to find this particular destination for our yearly holiday.
The site was described as a nature reserve of approx. 1 sq mile island, with no cars, only footfall.
As keen snorkellers there was a promise of good dive/snorkelling sites around the island.
We booked the 4 star hotel for one week as of 2/10/11, and asked for a sea view room, if possible.

In reality , there was very little nature to observe, with the exception of lizards in abundant numbers. The island was very barren with dirt track paths / roads and various abandoned stone structures in varying states of repair, from old hospital bldg s to ruined bakeries and a gun battery placement.
The tranquillity we were looking forward to was sadly lacking , as we dodged many Land Rovers and other vehicles owned by the hotel, transferring people too and from the Bungalows complex in the next bay. The bungalows being part of the Comino hotel complex.Other vans transferred luggage from the boat to the hotel.
The hotel itself may at some distant past have been classified as a 4 star rating, but it certainly is not, now. More like a 3 star.
We were allocated a land view room , despite requesting a sea view. When we asked at reception if we could be moved to a sea view, we were told in no uncertain terms that there were no sea view rooms available,[ despite being the end of the holiday season.?]
The room was adequate, but needed refurbishment, as did the whole of the hotel complex.
The bathroom had discoloured grouting and a shower curtain that needed to have been replaced years ago.
We had a number of thunder storms within the first few days which brought down the TV system and air conditioning. When this was reported to reception, we again had a response that was not helpful.
The maintenance man who came to our room, had more idea of customer service than the reception / bar staff, as he came back to us with a fan to use, but more importantly an apology.
Unfortunately the air conditioning was off for all of the remaining week ie 4/5 days

If you have several hours of waiting around the hotel after checkout at 12 noon, for your boat transfer to Malta, don't bother asking reception for a few hours extra in the room as they will charge 120 euro s for this service ?
On a more positive side, as we were on a half board deal, the food was excellent, with a varied range of food, cooked to a high standard.
Overall , and to recap, the hotel seems to be run on a shoestring with staff that are mostly unaware of what customer service is, except of course the maintenance man and the odd waiting staff.
Good luck, all who book a holiday here.

Room Tip: Make sure if booking a sea view, that you get confirmation from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshirePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel (after I had booked....) I was amazed when we arrived. Fabulous location, stunning views - yes, the hotel is a little 'tired' but hey, so are we! I think some of the reviewers must have had incredibly high expectations. This hotel certainly fitted the bill for our holiday - so quiet and peaceful - we loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comino
3.5 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
9.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
18.2 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
11.6 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comino Hotel

Property: Comino Hotel
Address: San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Comino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,381 - ₹ 73,128
Hotel Class:4 star — Comino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Comino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing