We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Cuba
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We lived Malta since 2 year. we love comino hotel. Great for kids.
the downside about comino hotel.
don go there with high expectation its no 4 star hotel. but its a lovely place to spent 1 or 2 night.

Room Tip: The room 121 i think its a suit on the ground level. i personal think its great for family with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    149
    85
    42
    40
See reviews for
109
185
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in the bungalows because they had a rocky bay nearby &, as advertised, they were quite a way from the main hotel. It was a very pleasant 10 minute stroll between the 2 & gave you a bit of a chance to walk off the dinners! A free shuttle was available but, apart from arrival & departure, we only used it once, when it arrived just as we were setting off one lunch time.

Buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant by the bungalows (as well as at the main hotel) until 10, sadly it was not open the rest of the day whilst we were there although I think it was sometimes. We bought cans of drink including beer & Kinnie at the main bar & kept them in the fridge in the room until we wanted them (we had water with us anyway)

My only criticism was the chalets were starting to show their age a little, sticky door & a rather discoloured shower curtain etc but they were spacious & clean & with views to die for!

The pathway had a couple of lights missing & very subdued lighting so for a post dinner walk back from the restaurant take a torch with you. Also a camera for the sunset & moon photo's.

Restaurant had a good range of well cooked food, including a vegetarian option & good wine list.

Looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franEgyptUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is the 4th year in a row that we have been as part of an extended family trip. This time we did 4 nights on Comino and 10 days in Malta. Comino was relaxing, friendly and quite frankly fairly empty which suited us. We were travelling with a 21mth old, he had tremendous fun being the center of the entire groups attention 24/7. The hotel made every effort to make the stay pleasant, the food was good and varied clearly the chef plans his menus to maximize and balance the needs of the guest with needs of the hotel. For the first time we stayed in the hotel as opposed to the bungalows which are a 10 minute walk from the hotel along a dusty track to another bay. Some of our party stayed at the bungalows, the views there are totally wondrous bout they are very very very run down. each day friends put their clothes out to air as the room was so musty, They have now reached the state where they need to be closed or refurbished. As stated we stayed in the hotel, the room was clean airy comfortable with a balcony looking out across the pool to the bay directly in front. The air-con work well (sometimes hit and miss). All in all had another great time, the real downside is the fact that we still pay the all inclusive price of 4 years ago for 1/2 board and the local ale CISK is sold only by the can and costs E4:00 (it is E1:00 on the mainland in many shops and supermarkets). I know they have to make a profit but perhaps not so much as that with a captive clientele. The local wine (when chilled) was ok and cost E5:00 a carafe. There is only one very small shop that sells swim gear, inflatables, local craft and sun cream all at a premium. If you want a soft drink for your room or bottled water then it is bar prices or nothing. All in all well worth the visit and we will go again. Four years ago we went for 2 weeks last year it was 4 day's next year we may do 2 days but no longer. There were no water sports this year - not that they amounted to much) as the hotel declined to renew the licence? Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, there is no doubt that one of the receptionists could do with smile classes.
Comino Hotel if you read this please spend some of your profits on future guests otherwise there may be a lack of guests and profit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

amazing place, the sea is cristally clear blue .... the island is completely desert exepted for the guests of the hotel. The water of the sea is very clean and incontaminated the seaside is wanderfull and well organized. the hotel is clean with a beautifull swimming pool of sea water. the meal and dinner are very good with a various choice of food.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toninumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I can't understand the whineing of some people. Just been looking at some reviews of the Comino Hotel. It doesn't pretend to be a five star hotel with their shiny tiling everywhere, their special small portions of chocolate desert.
Yet there is so much that is better with the Comino.

The boat that gets you there is a real workhorse and is available pretty much round the clock if you ask.
The fantastic staff are always keen to help with an extra pillow, or information.
The choices of plentiful food cater for everyone, and we loved the evening meats, fish, pasta as well as the Saturday BBQ. If the stuffed roast veal is a little too fatty for you, go get something else, salad, fish! Desert was usually three coices of gateau/cake, fruit salad, mouse, ice cream etc., cheese & buiscuits
Then theres's he relative isolation Monday to Friday together with the unspoilt Island is sits on. Very different from the small space of beach you might get on Malta, where it's hotter and noisy.

I mean, we could have had one week at a 5* or two at Comino, it's a no brainer.

The pools are great. Nuff said. They get busier over the weekend when Maltese folk in the know arrive to get away from the tourists
The sea view balcony rooms (an upgrade) are great. I'm not a massive heat and suntan lover, I spent quite a few hours sitting on the balcony reading, drawing etc, instead of by the pool.
There are two small beaches that are very nice, and the blue lagoon is not far away which is handy as you can go before or after the boatloads of tourists descend on it.
My family did the PADI scuba diving course and couldn't get enough of it.
I wandered round the Island a few times, the Eastern side is completely deserted. Only four residents actually live on the Island in the old hospital.

Two weeks flew by. We saw people come and go, we met a Welsh family on their fifth stay, who also loved the place.

If you want a shiney polished Hilton style hotel, forget it. The rooms are clean with tiled floors and balconies, very functional (we had connecting seaviews), but our wardrobe door needed adjusting, the TV remote was a little battered but worked, the towels we hired looked a little worn, the catch on the balcony door of my daughter's room was a little wonky, and the clothes line over the bath didn't work. All fixed with a smile. The hall carpets appear well used. Who cares. I've seen far worse maintenence problems in a UK Premier Inn.
I'd rather have down to earth helpful staff and plentful choices of food in exchange for brand new cupboards every day.
The beds, well, we were doubtful at first sight, but had a first class sleep every night, and trust me, both my wife's back and mine are fussy, with orthopaedic matresses and that special foam stuff at home.
Drinks, note well, that they are not included in the evening meal, not even water, and they charge top dollar because everything has to be brought to the Island. A small gripe. No kettle is provided in the room, but you do get a cooler for drinks.
Internet is available. Tennis courts and mountain bikes are available. There is a play room for small children, and an antiquated fitness centre.

None of us wanted to come home, and that's rare.

The rest of the world can stay at the poshest Malta and Gozo resorts with the madding beach crowds and heat. We'll be going back to the relaxing Comino sea breezes.

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharleyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comino
3.5 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.1 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
3.8 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
11.6 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
7.4 km away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comino Hotel

Property: Comino Hotel
Address: San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta
Region: Malta > Comino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,993 - ₹ 11,782
Hotel Class:4 star — Comino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Comino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing