We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
35
19
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
19
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry landing excellent location phone number set us up for the day oatmeal an easy walk skyr stay there again comfortable room short walk volcano museum good size westman islands harare guesthouse breakfast town
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

A spartan guesthouse with pleasant management. The location is ideal as it is right across from the ferry pier and short walk to the beat restaurants and tour launch-off points. Great hiking and running abound here as well. The room does have a TV but one Icelandic channel is not what one might expect. The drain in the shower was very slow and needed maintenance (pointed out to the management). The breakfast was nice and the two main beds comfortable. We were in a room with three beds and the third was way too soft. Also, had we been three in the room would have been way to small.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vigilant6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our 6 year old and really enjoyed it. The room was very spacious and comfortable. It's an easy walk from the ferry terminal and anything in town. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to the island.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank invisibulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We called in having arrived on the motning ferry to ask if we could drop or bag off so that we didn’t have to carry it around all day. Although it was only 10.30 am they said that as our room was ready we were welcome to use it. This was a great help andmade our explorations of the island somuch easier. Good sized room with tea, coffee and shower. The room had a tv but only one channel but that wasn’t important for our trip. A good breakfast in the morning to set us up for the day. Close to the ferry port so very convenient. Would be happy to stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S1AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

They are close the the ferry portal and pretty much everything around the city. It's not that large of a city. We arrived early and they let us leave our packs while they finished the cleaning. The owners, I think, do not speak a lot of English. I had some trouble communicating with the property prior to our stay and once they arrived. They have other staff or family that they call in if you need to have a conversation in English. We had our one year old and they set up the crib for us. Of the many places we stayed at in Iceland they had one of the best blackout curtains. You'd think all hotels would have these but we were surprised that most had horrible curtains. It was great for us and our baby to have some darkness during the summer. Too bed we had to catch an early ferry and could not sleep in. Breakfast was included in our price and it was pretty good. Our baby loved the pancakes. On our floor at least they had a communal fridge. So if you are not eating out and paying the very expensive restaurant costs, you can keep items here.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Pros: A spacious and clean room. Excellent dark curtains (important for a good night sleep when the sun never really sets). Decent breakfast. Very close to the ferry terminal.

Cons: Both soap dispensers in the bathroom were empty. The front desk was never manned, even upon check in. Calling the Help phone number I got a recorded message in Icelandic. Had to make do with a soap less shower...
Our room was on the 3rd floor with no elevator. Tough for seniors with heavy bags.

Room tip: Bring your own soap...
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews