We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
37
17
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
17
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor the owner breakfast room lovely hotel three nights breakfast was included perfect location ferry dock high winds recommend this hotel kitchenette bags paintings island volcano gentleman
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We were delayed landing in Vestmannaeyjar by one day due to a flight cancellation (high winds). We communicated with the host who asked us to simply call him when we landed. After landing we had issues with our cell phones so I asked an airport agent to call for us. When we got picked up we had a couple of odd conversations with the gentleman who picked us up until we realized that he was the owner of a different hotel! In typical Vestmannaeyjar fashion though he told us that the owner of Hotel Eyjar was his friend and he just took us there :)
Our host was super friendly and we got a nice big room with kitchenette. Everything is pretty basic but well cared for. The hotel is really central to everything on the island, you can walk to all the most important sites, there are stores and cafes close by.
The breakfast was very nice and the host took us back to the airport the next day. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernhardK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this charming Hotel and was more than expected. Our host is a fabulous man with a smile that's make you feel welcomed and at home. Extremely accommodating and extremely professional. The breakfast offered was fulfilling considering what you would pay at the restaurant!
All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel if you visit this clean and charming town.
Merci " host ☝"

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Boogie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We booked this for a one night stay on the island. It was easily walked to from the ferry dock, and we were greeted warmly by the owner's daughter. The rooms were large enough to accommodate a family easily, and a nice breakfast buffet was served in the morning. We were able to stow our bags until it was time to board our ferry the next day. The rooms and halls are decorated with local artists ' paintings, which enhances the experience. The owner and family are warm and friendly, which makes the stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cprofct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I was very disappointed in this hotel. There are only two hotels listed on Trip Advisor for the island and we wanted to stay three nights. After reading about both, I selected this one. I wish I had not. I reserved two rooms for the five of us to make sure we had enough room and five to six beds. I requested that we be next to each other. We drove all day to make our ferry to the island. We left Hofn area at 8 am, took an evening ferry and arrived on the island at 6:30 pm. We drove around searching for the hotel, finally asking someone where it was. It was impossible to find because it has a small door next to the tourist office/coffee shop which occupies the first floor. We walked in with our five bags and our kids and we were all tired. We wanted to check in and find dinner. There is no obvious reception. There was no one sitting anywhere to check us in. All of the rooms and doors were closed. We found a sign which said the check-in was on the third floor, so we lugged our luggage up the stairs to the third floor, but all the doors were closed. Finally, my husband went up to the fourth floor and found there were two rooms with doors open there and there were five beds between them. We assumed these must be our rooms. So, we brought our luggage up to them and prepared to leave for dinner. I was leaving a note on the door of the breakfast room, when a woman walked by with towels. It turned out that she was a cleaner and she could help us. We were not supposed to be on the fourth floor, but she had to make phone calls to find our rooms. Finally, she put us in smaller, not so nice rooms on the third floor. One of them was dirty with a dirty bathroom. We were very unhappy. We were there three nights. Breakfast is included and has many food options. Our kids liked breakfast. The woman who helps is overworked. They need to develop a reception and welcome approach that works better. The rooms we were in needed repairs, cleaning and improvements. The owner said by way of explanation that he is new. I would check to see if these improvements have been made before I stay here again.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms we saw were on the fourth floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The manager was attentive and most welcoming. The rooms were well appointed and the location was ideal. An easy walk from the ferry; and if you have a car it's no problem finding parking. Very clean and reasonably priced with spacious accommodations

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews