We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaotic, but they try to please”
Review of Guesthouse Arny

Guesthouse Arny
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Arny
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Chaotic, but they try to please”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

After a very, very long day of traveling to get to Vestmannaeyjar we arrived around 10:30pm and were hoping to check into our room and take our shoes off. Unfortunately, we couldn't be shown to our room right away, as the manager was out, so her husband guided us to a guest area where we watched a movie on mute while waiting for our host.

When she arrived she informed us that we'd spend our first night downstairs in the basement suite, then we'd have to pack up our bedding and bring it upstairs the next morning to a different room. Not what you want to hear when you just want to sleep in, but what could we do?

Our first room was clean, and I must say, for someone's house it was a very clean place. The furnishings have seen better days, as the clock didn't work and the TV remote was held together by tape, but the bed was clean and comfortable and the room very spacious (it was a room with two beds, hence why we had to move after one night).

The next morning our host was eager to get us upstairs, so rather than a relaxing start we felt rushed into hauling our stuff, bedding included, outside, then into the main house and up a couple flights of stairs to a very small room with no bedding (hence us bringing up what we'd used the night before). I thought the room had a nice character feel to it, but it was a bit irritating at night when the only light we had save for a small bedside light was a light with a red cover that didn't light up very much of the room.

The shower and toilets are shared with the other guests (I think there are three rooms in the downstairs suite, two rooms on the ground floor and three rooms upstairs), but seemed to be cleaned regularly. Doors are not locked when you're out, so if you're worried about your belongings that may be a concern.

The guesthouse is located about ten minutes from the centre of town and the ferry terminal. The street outside can be a bit loud from the infrequent traffic if you're facing the street.

For all my complaints, the family who run the guesthouse were very friendly and tried to be helpful. The daughter, in particular was a great help to us and made a few calls on our behalf regarding transportation. I'm not sure if I could recommend the place though.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcnamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Location was good. overpriced. Lady who runs it quite strange and overbearing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank histopathologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vestmannaeyjar hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

With apologies to Arny this was a dissappointment. We booked this guesthouse* because the Thorshamar, and Eyjar were both booked (Heimaey is very short on rooms --- for now at least).

There is virtually no privacy... we had an 80sq ft. room with a slanted ceiling, and a shower downstairs for 75 Euro! IF YOU ARE OVER 6 FT TALL I WOULD AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.

We have rated low for cleanliness... there is one shower - it was filthy. It also contained personal (and private) bathroom products which are NOT what you want to see when you have paid to stay in someone's house.

Although Arny was polite and honest, I do not think that she totally understands the concept here. It is not a free lunch.

I would avoid if you can, but book if you have to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

I stayed for one night in the Guesthouse Arny (Gistiheimilið Árný) upon recommendation of a friend. Its located about 5 minutes walk from the ferry port. The Westman Islands are so small (just 4x7m) that everywhere is close by. The swimming pool was just 100 meters away and the start of the lava fields about 10 mins walk.
The accommodation is split over 2 floors. I was in the ground floor (a basement of sorts) which had 2 bedrooms and a shared kitchen and bathroom. The beds were ok, not very comfortable; there was a TV (with English channels); but the room was very basic. But then again I think all accommodation on Vestmannaeyjar probably is.
The self catering facilities are a great idea as there are few restaurants on Vestmannaeyjar and they are expensive – I recommend Pizza 67 as being cheap and nice.
Overall good experience. The lady that runs it was friendly and the price (ISK 4,000) did seem too high.

  • Liked — Location - but all 4 gguesthouses are central
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vestmannaeyjar
0.7 km away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
201 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Eyjar
Hotel Eyjar
#2 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
54 reviews
0.6 km away
Guesthouse Hamar
Guesthouse Hamar
#3 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
273 reviews
38.0 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,619 reviews
34.8 km away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Arny? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Arny

Property: Guesthouse Arny
Address: Illugagata 7, Vestmannaeyjar 900, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Westmann Islands > Heimaey Island > Vestmannaeyjar
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vestmannaeyjar
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,665 - ₹ 13,479
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Arny 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a quiet and convenient area by Illugagata 7, which is only 100 meters from the swimming pool and gymnasium. The town center and the golf course are in 300 meters distance.We offer made up beds and sleeping bag accommodation for 2 up to 6 persons per room, with or without breakfast and cooking facilities. We have 11 different rooms to offer. Access is to a bathroom/ shower, kitchen and a microwave. All rooms have TV's with 10-12 channels and free wireless internet connection. Guesthouse Árný is a comfortable and friendly place to stay at whilst visiting The Westman Islands. We are only:300 meters away from the town center300 meters away from the golf course500 meters away from the ferry1500 meters away from the airport.100 meters away from the swimming pool and gymnasium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Arny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing