We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food - great service”
Review of The Lobsterhouse

The Lobsterhouse
Ranked #68 of 545 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 40 - US$ 100
Cuisines: French, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 1838 the land- and town sheriff Stefán Gunnlaugsson built the building. It has through the ages hosted famous Icelanders like Hannes Hafstein and Stefan Thorarensen. By 1970, the houses in Berntoftstorfu were capacity, the intention then being that they would be demolished and government offices built in their place. Before this came to be, a battle for the buildings preservation was held. It lasted for about a decade, but all the while the houses decayed and parts of them caught fire. In this house alone there were three different fire during the period of the preservation battle. After much struggle the Torfusamtok were finally victorious and got to rent the houses from the state with restoration and preservation as their main goal. The success of their work is apparent to visitors who come here.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Try the lobster feast - we actually ate here twice during the week because the food and service was absolutely amazing. They have more than just seafood and shellfish - they offer beef/lamb as well. The three course feast was definitely worth the price - everything in Reykjavik is expensive, but I really felt like we got our money's worth here.

Thank Knikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnar Gauti A, Public Relations Manager at The Lobsterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your great review and for choosing The Lobsterhouse. We're happy that you enjoyed your time dining at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2018

Went here for my wife's birthday on the first night of our 3 night long weekend trip. Friends advised it. The starters were lovely, the fish soup is a must. The mains were a little disappointing - i had the langoustine's which lacked real taste and were actually quite small (really a starter) and my wife had the lobster tail on a lobster risotto. The risotto was nice the lobster tail though was small and disappointing. The food didn't really weigh up well for the price. It may have been an off night (unlucky for us) as there was a huge table in the private room but having said that i think the service could be better. I wouldn't go back.

Thank Elliott_Gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Awesome langoustine, very good Arctic char. Cool atmosphere for an old place. Good service. Not terrible pricing considering what and where it is.

Thank Bookie325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnar Gauti A, Public Relations Manager at The Lobsterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your great review and for choosing The Lobsterhouse. We're happy that you enjoyed your time dining at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The Lobster House was sincerely the best restaurant in Reykjavik.
The Surf and turf was exquisite, hands down the best meat i have ever eaten.
The interior was so warm and cozy, it almost felt like sitting in someones beautiful living room.
The customer service was great and the overall experience was outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tanjaerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnar Gauti A, Public Relations Manager at The Lobsterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you Tanja for your great review and for choosing The Lobsterhouse. We're happy that you enjoyed your time dining at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I went to the Lobsterhouse for late lunch and was lucky to be the only one there. I did not mind at all as I received customized service and I was able to enjoy the coziness and great ambiance of the this place. The food was great as well and the staff was very attentive :)

1  Thank majidas2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnar Gauti A, Public Relations Manager at The Lobsterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your great review and for choosing The Lobsterhouse. We're happy that you enjoyed your time dining at our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobsterhouse also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to The Lobsterhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing