We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,384 results
Traveller rating
937
357
71
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
357
71
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barber shop mobile phone record player unlimited data the main shopping street local calls hot tub and sauna great hotel perfect location shared balcony happy hour small gym make your own waffles good size modern hotel blackout curtains upon check
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,384 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Alda was a lovely, quaint and clean hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik. Just a short walk to most attractions and with a love breakfast, It was a pleasure to stay here. If I return I would definitely consider staying at the Alda again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alda H, Guest Relations Manager at Alda Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nadine G,

Thank you for choosing Alda Hotel for your stay in Iceland and for taking the time to write us these lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Alda for 3 nights as a base for exploring Southern Iceland. It's on the main Street in Reykjavik and is walking distance to all the sights in Reykjavik and restaurants. It's very new and stylish. Yes they give you a cell phone to use while you're there but that means there are no phones in the room and the safe in the room was located on the floor so yes you had to lie on the floor to use it! Rome was a little dark. Other than that it was really terrific and had a good buffet breakfast.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank katherinelamber270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alda H, Guest Relations Manager at Alda Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear katherinelamber270,

Thank you for choosing Alda Hotel for your stay in Iceland and for taking the time to write us a review of your stay. We have taken your comments about the room set up to our management team, thank-you for informing us. Again we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will definitely recommend this hotel. Great location! Excellent accommodations! Walking distance to great restaurants and shops. If you are looking for comfortable place to lay your head while in Iceland, you’ve found it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank asaint25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alda H, Guest Relations Manager at Alda Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear asaint25,

Thank you for choosing Alda Hotel for your stay in Iceland and for taking the time to write us these lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Hotel Alda for one night. It was in a very central location on the main street (Laugavegi) in Reykjavik. Rooms were modern and clean. The room was a little bit on the dark side even with all the lights turned on but that seemed to be the theme of the hotel. The bathroom was equipped with a better shower than most European showers (I don't get Euro showers...we always cause a mess when taking a shower....i prefer shower curtains). Instead of a phone in the room, Hotel Alda provided us with a cell phone which we could use during our stay. It's such a great idea for international visitors who did not get an international data plan as they said all local phone calls and web searches were included. We didn't eat the breakfast so not sure if good or not. Parking is not available but we found a parking lot a couple of blocks down. The lot says open from like 7am to 12am but reception told us we could leave our car over night. It was 500kr (50cents)/hour which seemed really cheap compared to everything else in Iceland. Please note, we had a hard time using our cc to pay when exiting so we would recommend having cash on hand. Overall, I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Modern clean rooms
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shwang17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alda H, Guest Relations Manager at Alda Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear shwang17,

Thank you for choosing Alda Hotel for your stay in Iceland and for taking the time to write us these lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These days when every two-bit hotel is offering substandard rooms as suites, and the "luxury" label has practically lost its meaning through overuse, it is a wonderful surprise to discover real luxury. Alda Hotel has now become the standard by which I will judge other hotels. The attention to detail and quality is astonishing - humbling even, because it makes the guest feel understood, appreciated and trusted. Our suite was constructed out of elegant natural materials and decorated in the Nordic style - sparse yet cozy. The suite was impeccably clean, which made us feel right at home. The in-room amenities were everything we needed. We made use of the gym, hot tub and sauna, which were also very nice. The staff was polite, helpful and responsive. We could not have imagined a better stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BelPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alda H, Guest Relations Manager at Alda Hotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear BelPot,

Thank you for choosing Alda Hotel for your stay in Iceland and for taking the time to write us these amazing words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Hotel has met your standard of Luxury. We hope to see you again in the future the next time you are in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews