We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience National Museum of Iceland
from US$ 38.10
More Info
from US$ 77.38
More Info
Reviews (3,524)
Filter reviews
3,524 results
Traveller rating
1,818
1,314
331
53
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,818
1,314
331
53
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icelandic history free lockers modern times chronological order interesting artifacts culture house couple of hours great overview on display early history rainy day audio guide worth a visit few hours gift shop entrance fee settlement
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 3,524 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

A rainy day in Reykjavik had us wondering what to do, when we came across the museum only a short walk from our accommodation in a crazy wind storm. We were just looking for something indoors although pleasantly surprised. The museum is set out well with really interesting artefacts and information. There are also some interactive areas perfect for children. Worth a visit especially if planning to drive the ring road and find out more about Iceland.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

There are some very interesting parts of the museum-- most of those were the audio/video discussions. We listened to all of those in full. Somehow, this museum not as compelling as others we've seen. Artifacts are OK... the religious ones were particularly impressive. We found the census data fascinating but not much discussion of the lengthy process to regain independence. Overall, the layout was good and generally informative.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank alvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

The museum is quite informative about the history of Iceland, a must visit if you wish to learn about Iceland history, early settlers and how things changes from then on...
It was a nice experience...
And it won't take much of your time, 2-3 hrs will suffice.
Also it has a nice cafe.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Rahul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Will recommend to prepare a lot of time here, since there is a lot of information and things to see. My friend and I spent about an hour here and did not read nearly all of the boards. We went here on a Sunday and had a two-for-one price on tickets. Don't know if that is a regular thing or a one-time-thing. When buying the ticket you also get a free entrance to another museum (cultural museum) a few minutes away. We didn't have the time to visit that center, sadly. Lots of artifacts and old findings with information next to it. Two floors with Icelandic history and one "international" and modern exhibition in another room (one or two interactive things to do, but mostly a good room to consider your own nationality feeling). Down in the entrance they keep the temporary exhibition. The two top floors are separated into two time periods. The rooms are quite open, broad and wide so it's a bit hard to understand where to go if you want to go chronically. Yet it is not so much of an issue since it's not a big leap inbetween , but it is a lot of head concentration if you plan on reading and being invested in everything. Some of the items have a screen with audio information inbetween, which is stimulating after reading a lot. Interesting place!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The museum is devided into 3 sections on Icelandic history. The first floor has objects from the year 800-1600 and an exhibition on the relations between Iceland and the rest of the world. The second floor displays objects from 1600-now. Medieval history is my thing so to speak, so I spend most of my time looking at the objects from 800-1600. I loved the variety in objects and the build up of the exhibition but even more so I was charmed by the great explanation that went with the objects. The objects are clustered together based on a theme like religion, farming or settlers. Signs give information on the themes as well as each individual object. Each theme also is accompanied by one or more video displays. You can click on whatever topic you wish to know more about. The videos are interesting, informative and have a good length. What I loved too was the focus on archaeological research. They show you how they dated the objects and how they pieced together the puzzle that some objects form. The museum is great for history geeks like me but with the screens and the short pieces of information it is also very accessible to everyone else. As it covers such a long period of history anyone can find objects of interest. Children will probably enjoy it too because the museum also offers many hands on activities like dress up and games. The entrance fee is 2000 kronan, which is around 18 EUR. The museum also has a cafe, shop and free lockers.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank exploringwithjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews