We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Center Hotel Plaza for five nights and found the hotel to be a great place. The staff was warm and friendly as well as helpful. I lost my passport on the bus ride to the hotel and the staff was very helpful in making phone calls and helping me track it down.
The room was clean with a nice bathroom and shower and the internet access was nice. We also appreciated the complimentary breakfast. The breakfast offered lots of variety, one of the best complimentary breakfasts I've ever seen actually.
The hotel is located right in the center of the city very close to the Harpa and the pick up area for a number of the tours. Also many of the restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance.
All in all, one of the best choices you can make in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassTravelF00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    821
    348
    96
    49
See reviews for
236
841
120
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Center Plaza. We generally end up at European chains on our trips to Europe as that is what is provided. Center Plaza was a very nice suprise.
Our room was on the 4th floor. We had a queen size bed which was very comfortable. Our window opened up and we had the nice breezes blow in each night. My wife did request a fan for the couple of days it was sunny and 75--which was promptly brought to our room. Nice size mini-bar fridge which we emptied out and used as our personal fridge during the week and simply put the original contents back in day of departure. No problem with the midnight sun as the curtains kept the room plenty dark. I read on some of the reviews about the water on the floor in the bathroom and now understand it. There is no seperation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. Was not remotely a big deal to us as we just built a little barrier with a towel each day and that worked perfectly. (sometimes if people would spend a little time working things out than complaining, they would have much better trips)
The hotel had a huge projection screen outside on the front of the hotel. Every day they had a beer stand set up out there and people gathered in the plaza with lawn chairs to drink beer and watch the Olympics. What a great idea. We never had any noise problems with late night revelers.
Internet worked great the entire stay.
We only had the breakfast a couple of days. Standard combo of American bacon & eggs accompanied by the European meats, cheeses and breads. Very filling.
We did not dine in the hotel so I cannot speak to that.
As others have said, the location cannot be beat. You are literally right on top of the plaza. The hotel is sandwiched between two tourist offices for any kind of help you need. Gray Line excursions is 3 blocks away. There are numerous excellent restaraunts within a 2 minute walk. There is both an English and Irish bar within that same walking distance. There is also a small grocery store right next door for supplies.
The hotel staff could not have been more accommadting. They were packed each night with this being the tourist season but always found time to answer questions and help with tour advice. Everybody spoke excellent English. I saw some of the staff in a pub one night and they walked over to ask how our stay was going and could the hotel do anything better. Very nice.
Key advice: Happy Hour is 5-7 each night. Beers are half off! Funny thing is all the Americans gather in the bar at 4:59 to get ready!! (I know because I was leading the charge) Too funny.
We could not have been more happy with this hotel, location, and staff.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Plaza, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear NCSTATEGUY,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback from your stay with us at Centerhotel Plaza. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are happy that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the services of our staff as well as watching the Olympics on our big screen outside.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Centerhotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our tour of Iceland. The location of the hotel was great and we were prepared for it to be a noisy location. Hotel location is great, very central, easy access to most things. The big downside was the heat; our room was unbearably hot (no air conditioning) and the windows had no way of being kept open. One night we could barely sleep for the heat and lack of air. The hotel staff were not at all helpful and merely told us to prop our door open.

Would not recommend this hotel during the summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here over Christmas and booked the small suite that overlooks the little square in front of the hotel. Lovely room with en-suite which had a large two person bath. The room was super with a pitched roof and beams, a small seating area with comfortable chairs. Staff were helpful and friendly and had no problem with you bringing takeaway pizza or carry-out from the off-licence back, very key in Iceland as givne the prices of eating out a couple of nights of pizza in front of the Tv helps the budget massively. Overall we had a great time and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Newer rooms seem to be on the front, and the small suites are very, very much worth the small additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Poor Service. We paid in advance for three rooms but needed only one after a quadruple bypass surgery in the family resulted in fewer travelling family members. The hotel refused to give us a refund, so when we arrived we asked for our three rooms. Were told they'd get back to us, which they never did despite our follow-up. Worse, they would not allow us to use the other two rooms we already paid for!! No apology, no explanation, just "tough, we can rip you off and you'll be leaving the country." Lastly, get to breakfest before 7:30 am or likely miss having a place to sit as everyone taking tours at 8 am overflows the large seating capacity.

Unduly Noisy. The bars/cafes are near or right under the windows, and one hears every loud conversation, drunk, fight, car, taxi, as the taxi stand is right under the windows. With no air-conditioning, one must leave the windows open. In the morning, the tour buses start at 8 am and the loud diesel engines are only 10 yards away. Plus jet and prop planes from the airport 1 mile away fly directly over the hotel (we're talking a few hundred yards overhead).

Great Location. Right in the main square; I mean 5 yards away (hence all the noise and traffic). Can easily walk to all the main attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floors, not facing the main square if you wish to get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JETstreamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Plaza, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear JETstreamlover,
Thank you very much for your feedback from your stay with us at Centerhotel Plaza. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are very sorry about your disappointment with the service you received during your stay. There has obviously been a misunderstanding and miscommunication between you and our staff. We are extremely sorry that we did not follow up on your request. We will address your comments and share your experience with all our staff so that we can prevent a situation like this to occur again the future.

We will follow up with you personally and rectify this unfortunate situation.

We are happy to hear that you did enjoy our fantastic location and we would like to encourage you to try some of our other hotels if you decide to come back to Iceland. Centerhotel Arnarhvoll is also located in the downtown area, however just a couple of blocks from the main streets, thus providing a more quiet location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Iceland and Centerhotels and please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Centerhotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
767 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,322 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,681 - ₹ 25,040
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing