We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights about 2 weeks ago. We had a business class room which was huge with a large bathroom. The only negative was the ridiculously thin towels! The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very pleasant. The location is brilliant - right near the harbour, shops, restaurants and museums. It was very noisy with nightclub music playing till the early hours of Sunday morning, but this can be solved by earplugs. We had a drink in the bar both nights. There's not much atmosphere in there. This could be improved with a change of decor. Overall, it lived up to the excellent Radisson Blu brand.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sallyowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear sallyowens,

Thank you very much for posting your review.
Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home.
I appreciate your constructive feedback that will help us to improve our operation.
We of course would love to welcome you back here at the hotel whenever you return to Reykjavik.

With very kind regards

Marc Eberhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Beds tiny, bathtub hazardous, outside street noise unacceptable, room temperature Saharan desert like without any way to control the temperature. Would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel (at least not on a Saturday night). If you are old, stay away, you may hurt yourself getting into the bathtub.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
1  Thank orly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear orly k,

Thank you for posting your review.
My apologies that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay.
I really appreciate your constructive feedback that will help to improve our operation.

With very kind regards

Marc Eberhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Overall, a fair stay. But when I tried to redeem my Club Carlson points for dinner, no one knows what it is all about. Dinner was average and it was pretty expensive for just a few chunks of chicken meat. Presentation could be better. I guess F&B is not their strong point.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
1  Thank solotraveller758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear solotraveler758,

Thank you for posting your review.
It is somewhat disappointing that you had difficulties to redeem your points. Could you please contact myself under marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com to allow me to fully investigate the issue.

With very kind regards

Marc Eberhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I stayed here for 7 nights in 3 different rooms as I was alone 2 nights and with a group of girls for 5 nights. The location is excellent within walking distance to all Reykjavik has to offer and the bus stop for tours, airport transfers and local bus services directly outside the door. A multitude of restaurants are nearby. All 3 of the rooms as I stayed in were well equipped with comfortable beds, ( 2 rooms with king size bed and other with 2 singles) wooden floors, spacious bathrooms, 2 with baths and shower overhead, the third with just a walk-in shower. 2 looked out onto the street and it was a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, but not enough to disturb my sleep, the other looks out onto a courtyard and was quieter. The rooms were a bit warm even with window open, but there are fans available if required. There was tea and coffee making facilities but perhaps a Nespresso machine would bring my rating to a 5. Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold food and different fruit juices and water. All the staff I had contact with were friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be about my airport transfer reservation,made at reception,which when I got on bus the company had no record of. Luckily I was still able to travel to airport. Highly recommend this hotel for both the solo traveller and for groups or families.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for one overlooking courtyard or on upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Georgia62uk,

Thank you for posting your review.
Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. it is fantastic to hear that you have enjoyed your getaway with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback that will help to improve our operation. Whenever you return to Iceland we would love to welcome you back here at the hotel.

With very kind regards

Marc Eberhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Enjoyed the Radisson Blu for 5 days during October with my friend. The hotel must have been used for some conferance during our stay because there were of lots of groups in the hotel. Checked in and got the necessary information easily. The receptionists were very helpful with all of our questions and demands (we had a couple regarding our rented car, parking and transfer with both taxis and airports). Could appreciate a smile or two more from them, since you might feel a bit "needy" while asking, but this is just nit-picking, since they did help us alot.

The rooms are very neat and tidy. The bed was comfy and had a warm and thicker cushion than other hotel beds I've stayed in (though it was only one wide cushion, so my friend and I shared it since it was quite big - but one or two nights it was a bit uncomfortable, we should probably asked for one more - so that is our own fault), which is great in cold Iceland. Yet I could wish for a slight better temperature control in the room, because we were sometimes freezing a bit and the ovens weren't helping that much. Also the bathroom was quite cold, even though we put on the highest possible heat. The window in the bathroom looked a bit old, which might later cause it to rot and the cold temperature. The sink also had a very, very slow drain and some days the cleaning employees had removed it. Part from that the room has everything you need and the cleaning employees were absolutely great. Spotless and clean everytime we got back from our daily adventures. Might make a note that we had some really loud neighbours and that screaming and yelling will get heard from the hallway and neighbouring rooms (336), but if your neighbours have normal voice control it shouldn't be a problem, even though it was for us during some nights.

The breakfast was great and the employees offers you warm beverages while seated.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mari M,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your feedback tha will help us to improve our operation. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back.

With very kind regards

Marc Eberhard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,935 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#17 of 55 in Reykjavik
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,192 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,935 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 55 in Reykjavik
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 14,388 - ₹ 34,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing