We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home away from home”
style...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
style...
the living room dual aspect windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
style...
the living room
dual aspect windows
enjoying a good book...
from living room to dining room
the dining room
the kitchen
fine dining in fine surroundings
perfect equiped kitchen
inspired by fire and ice...
marimekko wallpaper
a good night...
spacious
the hall
second bedroom
art deco style bathroom
walkin shower
black slate from top to bottom
a treat for the senses...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CBLewis
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

what a wonderful place to live like an icelander for a while. we felt like this was much more than a vacation. the apartment is close to everything, yet you feel like a local living in a neighborhood. we had the opportunity to meet the neighbors living below us and they made us feel completely welcome and at home. the apartment is every bit as beautiful as the photographs and everything we could possibly need was provided. one of the very best parts was the list of recommendations from the owner. every restaurant and tip she suggested was spot on. every question we had was answered quickly and thoroughly.

we highly recommend walking to cafe solon for the seafood soup with coconut milk and saffron for dinner. often. stop by hotel alda on your way for nicely priced drinks by the fire at happy hour. noodle station is right around the corner and perfect for a super affordable and delicious dinner to take back to the apartment. the selection of books and movies keep you completely entertained when you don't feel like going out.

don't be put off by your first impression from the street. the front door and dark hallway lead you to a cozy home away from home at the top of the stairs. with a view of the sea! the big windows make for fun people watching and the location could not possibly be better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design, layout, furnishings, view, location
Liked least: the front door and entry way
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbs35
Fairfax, VA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect apartment for home base in Reykjavik”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from a 9 night stay in this apartment (family of four, kids ages 10 & 11). I'm not sure that I can anything to the other reviews, but I will try.

The location:

Excellent! A short block and a bit from the main shopping /restaurant street, the apartment is bright, cozy and gorgeous. Lovely view from the living room down to the water that appeared and disappeared every few minutes as the weather changed :).

Lots of restaurants within a few minutes walk. Two grocery stores near by - one is open 24 hours and more expensive, but a good option if you need to pick up milk or skyr in the evening. The main city bus terminal is also a few blocks away, as are a lovely indoor geo-thermal pool, the beautiful church and lovely shops.

The major tour companies will all pick-up and drop off near the apartment. There is a rental car company (Pro Cars) at the bottom of the hill near the water that we used to rent a car for two days. We also used the Tourist Visitor Cards that gave us unlimited access to the city busses ( be sure to the seller fill in the effective date/time on the back of the card before you use it! That wasn't done for us and the bus driver was NOT pleased).

Getting there:

We took the FlyBus from KEF to the BSI terminal. My husband and older daughter walked (less than 10 minutes) to the apartment, while my younger daughter and I took a taxi. You could also take a Grey Line bus from the airport to their Central Terminal, which is also about a 10 minute walk along the main shopping street. You can also ask to be dropped off at the Hotel Aldo, which is about a block and a half away.

There is graffiti on the building exterior - don't be put off by it. There's lots of graffiti in Reykjavik - it is a city after all. The building is lovely and lovingly cared for by the residents.

Practical items:

The apartment is even prettier than the pictures on the listing. The bedding is super comfortable, warm and cozy. Everything you need for self-catering is there and easy to use. The combo-washer/dryer worked very well and the wifi came in handy to google English language how-to videos on using it! (The combo units were not intuitive for us, as American appliances are usually not dual-purpose).

You should note that there is no elevator and the apartment is on the third level of the building. We met one of the neighbors below the apartment who could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. Everyone leaves their shoes and boots outside the apartment (neatly) and no worries - they'll be right where you left them.

The entire apartment is comfortable and relaxing. We all had our favorite spots to cozy up in to read and enjoyed observing the neighborhood. And, the price was less than what it would have cost us to get two hotel rooms for the trip.

The owners were extremely responsive, friendly and helpful. Have no worries about payment, the owners are legitimate and professional. I cannot recommend this apartment enough for a fantastic stay in Reykjavik. We explored the South Coast, the Reykjaenes Peninsula, Golden Circle, Lava Tube Caves, rode Icelandic Horses, museums, the Blue Lagoon, Viddy Island and generally walked all over Reykjavik. It was lovely coming home each evening to such a lovely home.

I highly recommend this apartment and would rent it again in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara_Fli...
England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Apartment - Would Recommend.”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the start this was clearly to be a great experience. Communications were really quick and clear and the information provided by the owner was very helpful. The apartment itself is well decorated, well located and although there were only 2 of us it would certainly be suitable for 4 people. The apartment is well equipped and the bed comfortable. Someone mentioned a bakery across the road but that must have gone but as the apartment is centrally located there is a fab bakery just 5-10 mins walk away. The Bonus supermarket is very close as are restaurants and Reykjavik is a really safe, friendly place. We arrived at past midnight (and a day late) due to problems with our flight however the communications were excellent and we were still met at the apartment.

There is a swimming pool and hot pool literally just 2 mins walk up the road from the apartment which I visited a couple of times just to relax in the hotpool. It costs 620 IKr which is the equivalent of approx £3.50 and certainly worth the money. If you do visit then make sure that you shower, without costume, prior to entering the pool. Clearly you can put your costume on when showered and prior to the pool! This is really big thing in Iceland and everyone does it so dont worry - the ladies and mens changing & shower facilities are separate! Also dont worry about leaving your shoes outside the apartment door nor in the corridor at the swimming pool, this is also normal and, apart from being a good idea, no one will taken them!

A couple of places to eat ... Le Bistro in the main street, this is Icelanic & French - a very good menu, excellent food and a great ambiance. We had an evening meal here and then a Brunch on our last day. For a lunch type meal try Svarta Kaffi, again in the main street (walk down the road from the apartment, 2nd left then walk for 3 mins) and it is one floor up. This is soup in a roll - have a look at the reviews on Tripadvisor.

We, too, were a little concerned about the payment in advance (see review below) and like the review below we are so glad that we did rent this apartment. We were so pleased and comfortable - thank you.

Reykjavik is very user friendly and you can walk to most places, we certainly did. We also decided to use a Private Guide instead of the normal coach companies although we did use the Grey Line for our trip to the Blue Lagoon - ahhh bliss - and an absolute must. Whilst it is full of tourists and a little on the expensive side I doubt there is anything else like it and worth the money for the experience. In order to see some of Iceland we took 2 tours, combined with a Northern Lights tour, with Solstice Tours and would highly recommend this. I have also left a review on Tripadvisor.

The Icelandic people are freindly and all speak English so there is no problem with the language.

We had a really good trip which was certainly enhanced by the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, wamrth and hot shower.
Liked least: Climbing the stairs with our suitcases, 28 stairs but fine without suitcases.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia S
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NYE Icelandic Style!!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent apartment, excellent city/country. Perfect hub to experience all that Iceland has to offer. Very comfortable apartment, very stylish modern interior - would happily live there! The very friendly and helpful owner Susan has thought of absolutely everything you could ever need.
Was very hesitant to book due to the direct bank transfer form of booking/payment, there was no need - so glad we took the plunge and went for it. Great communication from a trustworthy owner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and comfort of the apartment
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastique”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic, Great Experience.
Apartment easy, clean, confortable, quiet
Two minutes from downtwn
Great location.
I'm love it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: City place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing