We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I loved this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Anchorage
1 review
“I loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I will stay again. Great value. A great location close to shops and resturants. I would recomend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    356
    171
    38
    29
See reviews for
97
383
74
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We booked two rooms at Klopp over NYE 2011/2012, then also stayed at the Centerhotel Plaza for one night. The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to shopping, restaurants and there is a supermarket close by too. Street parking is easy to find and though is metered for most of the day so make sure you have lots of coins to use.

Good points about the hotel:
- Central location
- Rooms are clean and comfortable
- Breakfast included
- Fast, free wifi
- Great central heating if you are there in winter. Rooms are cosy and warm
- Tea & coffee making facilities in the room
- Hair dryer in the room which is handy especially if you travel in winter like we did

Bad points about the hotel:
- The staff are generally unfriendly and unhelpful. Besides the lady who checked us in when we arrived, the staff are surly and don't even both to look up at you when you walk past them at reception. There was a male receptionist there who was particularly rude and twice continued to eat his breakfast at the front desk whilst I was asking him a question. Not acceptable customer service
- The showers in the room are poorly designed so water goes EVERYWHERE when you are having a shower. The best way to combat that is to roll up towels to stop the water from going everywhere, but then you have no towels to use to dry yourself with. If the reception staff were nicer, perhaps you'd feel comfortable calling to ask them for more towels but refer to point 1
- On Klapparstigur there is a rock bar opposite the hotel which plays music until the early hours of the morning. Take ear plugs with you.
- Whilst breakfast was included, the food is basic and often they would run out of certain foods for breakfast. Also, the staff are very slow clearing the tables so there are dirty plates & cups everywhere

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with no frills and don't need much assistance from the staff then I'd say book here. It wouldn't be for families with the noise levels

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that isn't facing Klapparstigur because there is a rock bar opposite the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is the second time I have been to Iceland. Both times, I stayed at a Centerhotel. This time, specifically at the Hotel Klopp. Nice hotel, decent breakfast, great location. Would stay again next time I go to Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srodday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked the hotel for the first and our last night in iceland. On arrival everything went very well. Friendly personel and two great rooms. And the next morning a great breakfast. How different was our last night. First of all weren't our rooms next to each other. We booked as a group two rooms. They placed us in two rooms which were on one the two different sides op the hotel. After a complaint we were moved to the rooms on ground level, but that's on a saturday night horrible! At last they offered us two rooms on the fifth floor, how ever they were single rooms. For the next morning we asked for a early breakfast. No breakfast, personel from the evening didn't communicate with the morning people! So we had two different nights.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the inside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spot1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Klopp, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Spot1647,

Thank you very much for your feedback from your stay with us. We value your feedback tremendously and will make sure to share your experience with all our staff.

We are very sorry that we failed to provide you with the services expected during your second stay with us. We are also very sorry that you were not able to receive the "early breakfast" that we provide for the early travelers that leave before 7am in the morning.
However, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and that you had an enjoyable stay with us the first time around.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your second stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or if we may assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I booked a 3 night stay here with my (grown up) son on a trip to see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately due to cloudy weather conditions we didn't get to see the lights (although to be fair the money we spent on the trip was fully reimbursed to me upon my return to the UK - booked through Thomas Cook), but we still really enjoyed our stay in Iceland. Hotel Klopp is an ideal base for a first time visit. The hotel is very well located and within easy walking distance of the many restaurants and attractions in Reykjavik. The room although not huge was well equipped and clean and had free internet access. The staff on the front desk were always helpful and friendly and more than happy to help arrange and/or advise on the various tours available to visitors. I had read some reviews prior to our visit complaining of a sulpher smell in the shower, which, to be honest, there was, but I think this has more to do with the general type of water heating systems used in Iceland than any fault of the hotel and certainly was not a huge problem to me. The other complaint was that the shower did not have a door and/or was not very big, but again, the bathroom was modelled more on the idea of a wet room than a typical kind of bathroom with a shower (ie UK and perhaps USA standards), which for me, was not a problem. The room was always lovely and warm, which meant that the wet room dried out very quickly. Overall I would say that I found this hotel to be well equipped, very well situated and value for money and would certainly stay here again should I find myself in Reykjavik

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsMeDeblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Klopp, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear ItsMeDeblee,

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback from your stay with us at Centerhotel Klöpp. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the spectacular Northern Lights. Perhaps, you will on your next trip!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Centerhotels and Iceland in future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or if we may assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#23 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Property: CenterHotel Klopp
Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,708 - ₹ 24,428
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing