We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel with excellent breakfast and luggage room”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile


The hotel was booked by an agent as part of our tour. We had an extra two days there and were given a suite which included a refrigerator but no cooking facility. The location was very central, two blocks from a Main Street and just a short walk to the sea front.

The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, staff were friendly. The best part was the great selection for breakfast. This included fruit, salads, cheeses, meats, delicious breads and pastries cereals, a choice of egg, sausages and potatoes, and of course, Iceland's famous Skyr. I really appreciated being able to have an early breakfast (3.30am) on my last morning.

I was able to leave a second suitcase in a locked luggage room until the end of my tour.

I would definitely be happy to stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shelagh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that we could help make your visit to Iceland a great one! A long day of traveling sounds better with a good breakfast to start it so we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the early breakfast.

We hope that we see you again at Baron in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just a heads up, this hotel is very good at spinning reviews to their favor. Just look at other negative reviews and their responses. Foss Hotel Barón already deleted mine and my boyfriend’s reviews. We are very reasonable people and loved our stay in Iceland. We plan on going back in the summer to get the whole experience. We will NOT be staying at this establishment or any of its counterparts. The management is HORRENDOUS. My boyfriend had an accident in the room resulting from poorly constructed furniture and ended up hitting his head on the wall. The manager on duty was immediately informed and begged us not to sue them. We agreed and said we just wanted to let them know and to check the rest of the rooms for the flimsy furniture. He literally leaned on the cabinet just barely as he grabbed something from his pocket and it flew off the wall and projected his head to the wall. We very well could have sued but consider ourselves reasonable people. They demanded that we give them our credit card information since the front desk attendants neglected to get it from us at check in (not our fault). We have it to them with the understanding that if any charges needed to be made regarding the room damage, they would contact us beforehand. We left multiple phone numbers and email addresses. They NEVER contacted us and a week later charged us $400. It was so ridiculous that our credit card company GLADLY reported it as fraud and we ended up getting our money back. Anyways, this is the THIRD review we have left as they deleted our first two because of the fact that the truth hurts and it’s bad publicity. Someone upvoted my review as helpful and then all of a sudden it disappeared. Hopefully this one reaches enough people considering this poorly run hotel before it’s taken down again. It won’t be my last one if it continues to be removed because people deserve to know about this travesty.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah4291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Hannah,

This will be the third time that I contact you despite you claiming that we have never contacted you. Although you seem to be interested in sabotaging us repeatedly and your claims becoming increasingly angry and inconsistent I will let the original answer stand. It is worth mentioning that your boyfriend let us know that he would gladly pay for the damages to the room when the incident happened so we are more than a little confused by your angry response to what we consider a reasonable action. In addition I would like to say that we do not have the power to remove reviews, TripAdvisor has to approve any removal of reviews and have deemed yours inappropriate and inaccurate. Here is the original answer that I sincerely hope that you will consider this time:

We are disappointed to hear that you did not feel this was a reasonable action from us. It is standard practice for most hotels to have some kind of insurance for damages to rooms. There seems to be some misunderstanding here as we sent an email explaining this to you to the email that you gave us when you explained the situation. I believe it was your travel partner Mr. Scott that stayed in the room with you that explained that he had been leaning on a shelf that broke as a result of that and he hit his hand on the wall on the other side of the room. As we explained in the email we sent you we only charged for the repairs to the walls, not for the broken shelf or loss of revenue for having to close the room for several days and are sorry to hear that you do not find that reasonable.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Iceland however and hope that this incident does not cause you too much inconvenience.

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a four night stay here . As stated in previous reviews the hotel itself it perfectly situated. Close to the main strip where there are plenty of restaurants and quaint little shops to visit . Also the mountains and harbour just literally on the doorstep were spectacular.
Rooms were warm and comfy but ours was very basic . We had no window , just 2 skylights ( therefore no view whatsoever ) which let in an awful draft . We had no fridge or mini bar and had to ask at reception for milk / sugar for the 2 tea bags we did have . The tv had plenty of English channels should you find the time to watch them .
Dominos directly opposite the hotel and a burger bar very close offer good cheaper alternatives if you don’t wish to spend a fortune every night you’re there .
Breakfast was good , smallish sitting area but we never had a problem getting seated and there was plenty of choice to suit most tastes .
All in all a good place to stay ( we totally fell in love with Iceland) but we were personally a little disappointed with the room we were allocated .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suzensteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are always very happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that we can serve as a great base for those looking to explore our beautiful country. We apologize that your tea facilities were not replenished during your stay but our reception staff is always happy to amend that, we understand the need for a nice warm 'cuppa' after a long day of exploring!

We would love to welcome you again in the future and will make sure to get you a great room if you do visit again.

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel lived up to our expectations. The breakfast is very good with a wide range in the cold buffet complimented by waffles and limited hot food. Location is ideal, a few minutes walk to the main shopping street, bars and restaurants with the sea wall a street away at the front of the hotel offering great views over the bay.
The staff were all pleasant, friendly and helpful, the happy hour (5-7pm) in the bar offering good value drink prices that you will struggle to match elsewhere. They even allowed takeaways to be eaten in there on one wet night with gale force winds.
Probably the only criticism was that our standard room would benefit from the bathroom being refurbished and certainly needed a new carpet. Otherwise it was warm, had comfortable beds, a TV with several English channels, free safe, kettle for tea and coffee making. At busy times, waiting for the single lift does require a little patience.
Overall we would not hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We're very happy that we could meet your standards and that you enjoyed your stay. We understand that the prices in Iceland can be straining so we really try to provide our guests with good value for their money and are delighted that we could provide that to you.

We thank you for recommending us and would love to welcome you again at Baron if you visit Reykjavik in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous location, a five minute walk into the centre of town. We stayed in a deluxe room with fabulous views over the harbour. Breakfast was really good and plenty of it. The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here and would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: upgrade to a deluxe room well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kaz,

Thank you kindly for the wonderful review. I'll pass along the praise to our staff and we're all really happy that we could help make your honeymoon special!

We would love to welcome you back and we wish you two the best of luck!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
667 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 8,880 - ₹ 22,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing