We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
84
264
193
52
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
264
193
52
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre hot water an industrial estate minute walk the bus building next door main building tea coffee making facilities separate building quiet area cleaned every day hired a car small fridge bread blue lagoon short stay tour company
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

This hotel had all we needed - a bed and bathroom. No frills, no extras. The room itself was spacious but the bathroom was tiny. We didn't spend much time in the room so it was fine for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Tour buses pick up from the lobby so that was a plus. There were not many options for food because it seems to be in an industrial park so we ordered Dominos delivery one night (the options were interestingly different). The zoo is a short walk and our daughter enjoyed seeing the animals - especially the Icelandic horses!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hawkinsphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews here I had very mixed feelings as what to expect and when I drove up into what appeared like an industrial estate I started to worry. Found the hotel and parked outside and looked at the tattered flag flying outside and the bit missing from the awning and really started to dread going inside however as soon as I entered the reception area the gentleman was friendly, spoke impeccable English and processed our key cards efficiently and quickly. We were on the first floor (so rooms start with a 2) and as a few people have reported there is no lift so if you have cases and the stairs are steep it can be hard going.
There are marks on the wall and the carpet which gives the building a little tired look but everything is clean so can’t ask for more.
When we opened the door to our room we were pleasantly surprised. We had 3 beds (so had a spare bed), kettle, fridge, hairdryer, tv (with English speaking channels if you want them), lovely big shower and can’t tell you how comfortable the beds were...bliss after a long day exploring . No safes in the room however.
The hotel is a fair walk (approx 10-15mins walk) to the centre of Reykjavík but you can see some amazing street art and architecture as you head down.
There is free parking out front and appeared to be some behind the building too and along the road was an eatery called ‘Ginger’ that appeared to be open from 11-9 during the week if you fancied eating somewhere near the hotel.
You could appear to get breakfast in the hotel but never took them up on their offer.
Only other thing I found odd (nothing really to do with the hotel) is that when you use the shower you do get the smell of sulphur (you smell it everywhere throughout Iceland) but it seems to react with silver jewellery and leaves it looking tarnished (it does come off) so maybe remove all silver jewellery before having a shower so you don’t get a surprise like me!
All in all, nice clean, comfortable hotel with a selection of good amenities and would recommend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank Zanna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

This hotel isworth 5 stars by itself but marked it at 4 stars only because it is in a commercial district far from the centre and restaurant. Caught a nearby bus service into centre for less than £2 each way. Staff could not be more kind and helpful. Tea making supplies came with powdered creamer. OK in coffee but not in tea. When I asked where I could buy milk. the receptionist said no and gave me a glass of his own milk. Our room 202 was equipped with full cooker, fridge and microwave. So bought some Icelandic microwave meals for a fiver each and ate in the room using the plates, dishes and cutlery in the kitchenette, so saving a half hour walk to a restaurant and £150 per meal. Despite its poor location will use this hotel again

Room Tip: See my comment about room202
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

this hotel is located in the midst of a business district,, i would highly suggest hiring a car so you can go at your leisure, rather than trying to catch a bus , right then,, the staff was friendly enough , the room was adequate , with a double bed and 2 bunk beds if needed, 2 electric cooker plates, microwave, television, wi-fi and coffee maker, . the hair dryer blew up on the first night. the shower was an afterthought and hair in the drain was greeting us , all else was clean. breakfast was around £15 per person, its all there though.the hotel was quiet and the nice thing, its a pick up spot for the tours we took. id usually say it was overpriced for what it was but seeing, everything was on the deer side, i cannot call that a negative, all in all not a bad stay,

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manonamission38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a package deal. The hotel is tired and slightly grubby looking. But actually the staff were friendly, the beds comfortable the rooms are spacious and have kettles, TVs, and ensuite. There’s nothing actually bad about this place it’s just a little unloved.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bealempebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews