We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave room 230”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous hotel unlike any I've seen. The decor is beautiful, cozy and quirky with much to look at throughout.
Room was spotless and functional. We had two single beds and a mini fridge with an amazing view of the marina.
We asked for a kettle when we checked in as I'm a coffee drinker (bring your own instant). There are two grocery stores within walking distance as well as most everything else you'd like to do in Reykjavik. Great location!!!
Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Carole,
Thank you so much for taking the time to sharing your great experience with us! We are very happy that you enjoyed the overall stay especially the location. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so we can host you at IH Reykjavik Marina.

Warmest Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really cool place, well decorated, quirky, clean and comfortable. Breakfast really good also. We walked straight into old town within a few minutes. A few reviewers have mentioned the frosted glass bathroom in room - guess it's down to your taste and expectations, my wife and I didn't have a problem with it but I guess it could upset you if quirky isn't your thing. We've stayed in a few 'posh-tels' / Smart Hotels over the years which have a similar vibe (Generator, Clink, some new YHAs back in England) and I'd definitely say the decor and vibe (but not the price!) has that young cool vibe - Hilton it is not.

Saw the Northern Lights from the adjacent harbour on our night in town and we were lucky to get a better display than our previous nights out in the country. If the forecast is good for activity and cloud cover you can definitely get great views in Reykjavik - a hotel without access to the waterfront with more buildings around wouldn't have been nearly as good for NL viewing.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is ideally located at the marina, great views over the marina and mountains beyond. It is a short walk to the shops and restaurants Reykjavik has to offer. Also this hotel has tour pickups from right outside whereas quite a lot of other hotels in the city centre do not, their guests have to make their way to local bus stops which if it is raining can be quite an ordeal. The hotel itself has many areas to peacefully relax, it has a restaurant and bar which are well staffed and friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the marina, it was very modern and well presented, very Ikea to be honest. our only gripe was the sliding glass door and wall on the washroom, basically due to the location of the toilet you could see everything through the frosted glass when lying in bed so not exactly private, we discovered that there are numerous private toilets on the ground floor "jazz area" so if you need to drop your friends off in peace then that's where to go. The room was equipped with large Tv, fridge and free to use safe box. There was no kettle, however reception were more than happy to provide one within minutes of asking at no extra charge. The bed was very comfortable, the room is central heated with a radiator which you can adjust and there is some kind of aircon vent ensuring nice fresh air. Our room also had a balcony too. You can also choose to not have your room cleaned every day, basically hang a tag on your door and forfeit the cleaning for the following day, you get rewarded with a voucher off at the restaurant. We also had breakfast which is a buffet setup, great selection offering all types of breakfast from corn flakes to cakes, I highly recommend the porridge. The hotel has a small gym and a small cinema, we unfortunately didn't make use of these but did have a nosey and they both looked great. All in all this is one of best hotels I have stayed in, great design, certainly effort has been made to make it a place to enjoy rather than just a place to stay. Great staff and location.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing marina, these have great views and a balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank davidnV1133HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DavidnV1133HF,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for providing us your detailed and positive comments in regards to your recent visit. We are grateful for your complimentary feedback towards our staff, hotel amenities, location and breakfast services. However, we apologize for any inconvenience you experience during your stay. Above all, we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the good points -
Funky! Cool, designer space in the lobby with lots of places to sit (which is great since the rooms are small but having the space downstairs seems to make up for this).
Great location - a short walk to the centre and the sights and an efficient greeting from the staff. We needed a bit of help with some documents and they were very obliging and helpful.

Unfortunately, they chose form over function when they designed the place.. We didn't have a problem with the size of the room as such (it is small but we didn't need any more space) but lets talk about that sliding GLASS toilet door with gaps all around the edge etc.. There are going to be no secrets between you and your partner! The toilet is right next to the bed. Call me squeamish but I wouldn't want my wife watching me have a poo whilst the aroma drifted around the gaps (and handle hole) around the door. If you go in there in the night and turn the light on, the whole room lights up.
The decor in the room was funky but I wasn't sure about the dead, headless fish pictures above our bed..
No kettle or tea / coffee making facilities in the room - we love a brew before breakfast and everywhere else we stayed in Iceland had a kettle in the room.
The road outside was quiet during the night but as soon as the traffic got going in the morning, it was pretty noisy - they provided earplugs but I can't sleep with them in.
Breakfast wasn't the best. Probably an Icelandic thing but boiled potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower for breakfast?! The Skyr was delicious though...

There is currently some construction work going on - we had to carry our bags some distance across a rough, narrow, gravel path around the perimeter of a building site - far from an ideal introduction. There had been a storm a couple of days before which had apparently knocked over a plant pot outside the main entrance - kind of telling that nobody had swept up the spilt soil after 2 days - it wouldn't take much and gave another bad impression on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side as the road side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GaryJS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Close to town. On the water. Good coffee shop. Great bar. Interesting check in, look for a round high top table at the entrance. Slowest elevator. Use the steps. Easy to book on-line. There is parking near by.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Rudi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rudi R,
Thank you for your kind feedback and for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor. I am always pleased to receive positive comments such as yours. It is a great pleasure for us to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,217 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,815 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 11,626 - ₹ 25,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing