We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,522)
Filter reviews
2,522 results
Traveller rating
1,213
944
238
72
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,213
944
238
72
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quirky hotel dry dock paint factory attic room marina side working harbour sliding glass fire pit fun hotel whale watching rooms are small breakfast buffet northern lights old harbour happy hour loved this hotel skyr
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 2,522 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Really cool place, well decorated, quirky, clean and comfortable. Breakfast really good also. We walked straight into old town within a few minutes. A few reviewers have mentioned the frosted glass bathroom in room - guess it's down to your taste and expectations, my wife and I didn't have a problem with it but I guess it could upset you if quirky isn't your thing. We've stayed in a few 'posh-tels' / Smart Hotels over the years which have a similar vibe (Generator, Clink, some new YHAs back in England) and I'd definitely say the decor and vibe (but not the price!) has that young cool vibe - Hilton it is not.

Saw the Northern Lights from the adjacent harbour on our night in town and we were lucky to get a better display than our previous nights out in the country. If the forecast is good for activity and cloud cover you can definitely get great views in Reykjavik - a hotel without access to the waterfront with more buildings around wouldn't have been nearly as good for NL viewing.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This hotel is ideally located at the marina, great views over the marina and mountains beyond. It is a short walk to the shops and restaurants Reykjavik has to offer. Also this hotel has tour pickups from right outside whereas quite a lot of other hotels in the city centre do not, their guests have to make their way to local bus stops which if it is raining can be quite an ordeal. The hotel itself has many areas to peacefully relax, it has a restaurant and bar which are well staffed and friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the marina, it was very modern and well presented, very Ikea to be honest. our only gripe was the sliding glass door and wall on the washroom, basically due to the location of the toilet you could see everything through the frosted glass when lying in bed so not exactly private, we discovered that there are numerous private toilets on the ground floor "jazz area" so if you need to drop your friends off in peace then that's where to go. The room was equipped with large Tv, fridge and free to use safe box. There was no kettle, however reception were more than happy to provide one within minutes of asking at no extra charge. The bed was very comfortable, the room is central heated with a radiator which you can adjust and there is some kind of aircon vent ensuring nice fresh air. Our room also had a balcony too. You can also choose to not have your room cleaned every day, basically hang a tag on your door and forfeit the cleaning for the following day, you get rewarded with a voucher off at the restaurant. We also had breakfast which is a buffet setup, great selection offering all types of breakfast from corn flakes to cakes, I highly recommend the porridge. The hotel has a small gym and a small cinema, we unfortunately didn't make use of these but did have a nosey and they both looked great. All in all this is one of best hotels I have stayed in, great design, certainly effort has been made to make it a place to enjoy rather than just a place to stay. Great staff and location.

Room tip: Fourth floor facing marina, these have great views and a balcony
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank davidnV1133HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear DavidnV1133HF,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for providing us your detailed and positive comments in regards to your recent visit. We are grateful for your complimentary feedback towards our staff, hotel amenities, location and breakfast services. However, we apologize for any inconvenience you experience during your stay. Above all, we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

First the good points -
Funky! Cool, designer space in the lobby with lots of places to sit (which is great since the rooms are small but having the space downstairs seems to make up for this).
Great location - a short walk to the centre and the sights and an efficient greeting from the staff. We needed a bit of help with some documents and they were very obliging and helpful.

Unfortunately, they chose form over function when they designed the place.. We didn't have a problem with the size of the room as such (it is small but we didn't need any more space) but lets talk about that sliding GLASS toilet door with gaps all around the edge etc.. There are going to be no secrets between you and your partner! The toilet is right next to the bed. Call me squeamish but I wouldn't want my wife watching me have a poo whilst the aroma drifted around the gaps (and handle hole) around the door. If you go in there in the night and turn the light on, the whole room lights up.
The decor in the room was funky but I wasn't sure about the dead, headless fish pictures above our bed..
No kettle or tea / coffee making facilities in the room - we love a brew before breakfast and everywhere else we stayed in Iceland had a kettle in the room.
The road outside was quiet during the night but as soon as the traffic got going in the morning, it was pretty noisy - they provided earplugs but I can't sleep with them in.
Breakfast wasn't the best. Probably an Icelandic thing but boiled potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower for breakfast?! The Skyr was delicious though...

There is currently some construction work going on - we had to carry our bags some distance across a rough, narrow, gravel path around the perimeter of a building site - far from an ideal introduction. There had been a storm a couple of days before which had apparently knocked over a plant pot outside the main entrance - kind of telling that nobody had swept up the spilt soil after 2 days - it wouldn't take much and gave another bad impression on arrival.

Room tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side as the road side is noisy.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GaryJS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Close to town. On the water. Good coffee shop. Great bar. Interesting check in, look for a round high top table at the entrance. Slowest elevator. Use the steps. Easy to book on-line. There is parking near by.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank RudiOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Rudi R,
Thank you for your kind feedback and for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor. I am always pleased to receive positive comments such as yours. It is a great pleasure for us to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The Icelandair Marina Hotel is a short walk from downtown Reykjavik.

The hotel is a bit quirky. Not a bad thing.

The room I had was very small - almost Japanese hotel room small.

The breakfast was pretty average for large hotels. Nothing terribly exciting.

Room tip: ask for a room on the water side. these are away from the street noise.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allanbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare R, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Allanbowers,

We thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. However, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Best regards
IH Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews