We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated this stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hated this stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Things got a little difficult when we had to book 4 rooms in a hotel in Reykjavik and we ended up in this hotel - booking rooms as well as 1 of their apartment.

I stayed in the apartment. It actually looks how it is advertised in the website. Yet there are a bunch of issues, some rather minor like :

It's abt 300 meters from the hotel, with the breakfast served in the hotel, the double bed is 1401cm wide at most, which is hardly enough as a single bed - and happily I was sleeping alone on it. There is only 1 bathroom, as well as 1 toilet, in the same room to make matters worse. Quite inconvenient for 2 bedrooms apartments.

Than there are more serious issues - my room was on the 1st floor close to street level and very noisy, first night I heard music almost all night and second night could hear the people talking in the street even when they walked by - strange and very unpleasant. To make matters worse the room was *very* hot, and opening the window just made the noise worse. Had a terrible sleep during my stay there.

Also Breakfast was poor with no service whatsoever, there was 2 small dry croissant on the buffet when we arrived the first day, none on the second. Nobody at the bar and the coffee machine not started yet, hence even if we wanted to pay for it , there was no way to get an espresso.

As of driving and parking around the apartment, the building is in the narrowest part of a narrow downtown street, and it far less than convenient. From far, the worst times of an otherwise wonderful icelandic visit were linked to this hotel.

Note as well that my friends stayed in a standard room inside the hotel and they were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kojis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    509
    113
    29
    14
See reviews for
200
557
110
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is cute and cozy! The room and bathroom were tight, but fit our needs just fine. The armoire saved us from having our luggage and clothes everywhere taking up space. The morning girl receptionist was my favorite! She was so friendly and helpful and answered my hundreds of questions. The location is ideal!! We walked everywhere! You can get to so many great restaurants and shops, it's amazing. Cafe Babalu was around the corner and is so quaint and unique, the lattes and paninis were very tasty! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktinneubauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here in March for a week and chose it over another place due to the deal we got on a Junior Suite. After reading the reviews we thought we would need the extra space, and it was well worth it. We still didn't have tons of space but having a separate lounge (which was upstairs, very cool!) really helped. The room wasn't the most modern and the level of housekeeping seemed to change each day but it was fine and we did have a lot of space to relax in. It's a shame there is a tiny TV for a large lounge but at least there were plenty of channels we could understand! If the other rooms were as small as people say, I would always go for the junior suite.

The hotel is well located and is known by all the travel companies etc. Most of the time most of the staff are really friendly, and Emma is fantastic at arranging any tours etc. Unfortunately we weren't told at the start that all the tours would be charged to the room (which would have been preferred) and that we were just meant to give a bit of paper to the tour operators each time. That was annoying as they expected cash from us, so we paid them and then had to keep getting more cash out. If we had known at the beginning that we could just tell them that the hotel is sorting it out, it would have made life bit easier but it wasn't the end of the world.

It's tempting to get breakfast there as they serve well before local places open but it's so expensive (even by Iceland standards) and there is actually very little variety. We did our own breakfast from the supermarket a few times and apart from the fresh coffee, we had all the same stuff for half the price!

The restaurant had just re-opened that week so getting in and served in the evening was virtually impossible due to the locals flocking to check it out. On the couple of times we tried to have a drink there, we were ignored a lot in favour of the locals, and not being able to charge restaurant/bar purchases to our room seemed bizarre for a modern place. We never actually had dinner there, as we didn't see the point when we struggled to have a drink.

There were a few niggles with this place but nothing major and for the deal we got, it was well worth it. We wouldn't hesitate to go back there if the price was right :-)

Room Tip: We got a Junior suite as lots of other reviews say the standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuManStu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in room 105 and let me tell you, it was loud pretty much 24/7. We could hear everything....Everything!! If you are a light sleeper, this is not the hotel for you, at the least the first floor. I'm sure the top floor is much better. The staff was pretty cheerful and willing to assist us with everything. We arrived at the hotel really early on a Saturday morning and they managed to check us in early as possible which was much appreciated (we were exhausted from the flight and jet lag). The breakfast was tasty but maybe a little overpriced. Overall, the experience was pleasant but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed here in April 2011 and found the hotel to be perfect for what I was looking for which was a base from which to explore Iceland’s Natural Wonders as well as Reykjavik, go whale watching and have something to do of an evening within easy reach.
The hotel was perfectly located in the centre just off the main street in a very quiet area and was literally a 5 minute walk if that from all the shops, restaurants and bars, the harbour was about a 7 minute walk away. There is a 24 convenient shop 2 minutes away and a MUST VISIT little cafe opposite call C for Cookie, not only is it cute & friendly the food and hot chocolate was delicious!
The Hotel does not have its own car park but I didn’t have a problem once parking within a stones throw from the hotel as there is plenty of off street parking and a little car park in front of the hotel itself, parking is free most of the time however, from what I remember there is a very small charge which you pay in the meter for parking in peak hours I think it was between 9am – 5pm mon - fri something like this but its only a one off cost and worked out at about 50p.
The hotel is beautifully decorated in the lobby & restaurant; the bedrooms were clean and comfortable but a little bit outdated. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and so were the restaurant staff.
Iceland is not famed for its food and with good reason, I found it hard to get a decent meal, I am not a fussy eater by any means but I am vegetarian, options are available but food is bland and often expensive, the hotel however offered a 15% discount off food for residents which was great as in Iceland especially food & drink is VERY expensive, I presume because a lot has to be imported. I found doing the old trick of making a pack lunch from breakfast items to be cost effective!
I would defiantly choose this hotel again it is basic but when you are out most of the day exploring its all you need and it is perfectly located, safe and friendly.
Iceland is a truly remarkable place, the landscape is indescribably beautiful and bizarre, the roads are brilliant, everywhere is spotlessly clean the only down fall about Iceland is whale hunting however I went there to do whale watching to support their value alive rather than dead. If you are interested in whale watching just pop to the harbour you can book trips here. My trip sadly got cancelled due to the weather (and oh yes it was a storm!) but I will return one day sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,476 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,336 - ₹ 34,007
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing