We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
271
349
151
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
349
151
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street sun room great location bread breakfast room central location tea and coffee friday and saturday night boiled eggs rooms are small salami corner room light sleeper third floor basic hotel bus stop hot drinks
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016

CenterHotel Skjaldbreid is in the best possible location with restaurants and bars right at the doorstep. Only 5 minutes walk to Harpa (harbour) or Hallgrímskirkja.

The rooms are cozy and for a basic hotel it has a quaint charm to the furnishings. The bed was lovely and soft. A mini-fridge, as well as tea and coffee facilities were included. The buffet breakfast included in the price was a welcome bonus especially when doing early day tours. The buffet was basic but sufficient and wholesome.

The reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.

A fantastic option and very reasonably priced for an expensive city.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Me and my boyfriend did a road trip around Iceland where our hotels were chosen and booked for us. This hotel happened to be our first and last stop.

The first night we stayed here we were put in an end room (308) which happened to be right next to the club next door. It was a Saturday night and they were playing very loud bass music until 5am, which made it impossible to sleep. After an hour or so my boyfriend went down to reception to ask if there was any chance we could change room. The receptionist appeared sheepish and embarrassed and said that the hotel was fully booked. He even admitted himself that the end rooms shouldn't be rented out at the weekend as the music is very loud, therefore he went next door to get some earplugs for us. We were also parked on the road along the side of the hotel which was slightly risky as the club was just a few meters away from it, but at that point we were unaware. The next morning when checking out, we made sure that when we were to return at the end of our holiday, we wouldn't be in an end room. It was also annoying that we had two single beds pushed together rather than one double.

When we returned at the end of our holiday we were pleased to find out that we were in room number 301, which was one of the rooms furthest away from the club. Therefore we had a quiet night sleep. It was very hot in the room though, despite turning the heating off. The next day after check out we had a few hours before we had to make our way to the airport, so we asked if we could leave our luggage at reception so we wouldn't have to wheel it around all day. The man at receptionist said that was absolutely fine.

Overall, the hotel was in a good location, clean and comfy, but completely let down by the noise from the club next door.

Room tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep!!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

We picked this hotel as it is closed to shops and restaurants. Very convenient and walking distance to the Hallgrimstorg church. The hotel is small and compact but sufficient for clean up and a place to sleep. It is comfortable and clean. The breakfast area on the 3rd floor is nice and bright. Food was frequently replenished so no shortage of food. Ham, cheese, variety of bread, pastries,fruits, cereal and all day coffee, a plus. Be sure to try the flatbread which is delicious.Overall it is nice. Will definitely stay again as we like the location.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Siong328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Have just spent 4 nights here with my wife.the hotel is in a great position for everything in the centre. The hotel is positioned on the main street through the town, but don't worry there is not a lot of traffic or noise . you are only minutes away from various pubs and restaurants . the hotel staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and warm. Only offers b & b and the breakfasts are very good for a continental big choice. When we. go back again we will be stopping here.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dph1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We made a reservation through my travel agency, getting there the rooms was not at all the standard promised in the advertising and contract done, and I was told that all other rooms was sold out. Moreover, they could not offer me the contracted room or recharge me the deposit. It means that they are selling rooms that they do not have. In addition, this is no more than a 2star hotel so notice when you book. The breakfast was the worst ever, and when the coffee in the breakfast room was cold and made yesterday it is over for me. Do not go-please do not go.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews