We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
298
537
229
51
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
537
229
51
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle maker the main shopping street wet room hot water make your own waffles basic hotel breakfast buffet bread rooms are small sulphur smell stayed here for nights reception staff happy hour shops and restaurants cold meats northern lights tour friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Located in a good place, this hotel was clean and basic. Staff were helpful and friendly, room was adequate. Bathroom, although small was not perfectly ok. Breakfast was good with a variety of hot and cold food available on a buffet basis. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LuluWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a clean, basic, comfortable hotel. The rooms are simple, but the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small, which was fine, but the shower was a challenge. Water sprayed ALL over the bathroom every time my husband or I took a shower. We'd have to use all of our towels to mop up the water from the floor afterwards. Additionally, our room and the water smelled liked sulphur - all the time. Took a few days to get used too, however brushing our teeth was a constant reminder. The hotel breakfast exceeded our expectations. There was fresh bread, cheese, fruit, meats, warm items, coffee/lattes, etc.

Room tip: Request non-smoking if that is important to you.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LUV2JUMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

always wanted to go to iceland and we were not dissapointed people very nice and friendly and our hotel was very good. the food here was excellent would recommend the soup as was aunthetic iceland soup, all the food here was great.

Room tip: all rooms were very good and clean
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Hotel a little bit old, with old installations. The people from reception were extremely friendly and help us with a lot of trouble we had with the tours we booked. I have met a lot of friendly and helpful people from different hotel receptions, but I have to say that this place really impressed me by the human quality of the staff, specially from people as Olafur Fafnir and Theodora Hugrun... To you, thank you very much for making our visit unforgettable!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We found the staff to be excellent and dedicated to serve the needs of visitors at this very busy centrally located hotel. The restaurant has a small menu but the food is excellent and the service impeccable and friendly. The breakfast buffet is also excellent with a wide variety of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses and fruits, yogurts, cereals, etc...
There were two problems that ours be solved by the management.
1) the bathroom design/redesign is poorly executed and the whole bathroom floor which is flooded when one takes a shower does not drain well towards the floor drain. The floor covering is slippery thus creating a dangerous environment for potential falls.
2) the wifi does not work reliably on the fourth floor and staff knows about the problem but management has obviously not remedied to it. The only place we could get internet access were the breakfast room, restaurant and lobby area.

Room tip: if you absolutely need reliable wifi ask for a lower floor?
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews