We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big apartment, really smart place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Ranked #3 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big apartment, really smart place.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had Apartment 38 - huge lounge, minimalist but smart decor and in a very convenient (quiet but close to the centre) location. We were allowed to check in at 11am which was very helpful after the early Easyjet flight.
Very comfortable beds, good hot shower: no bad points at all.
Would certainly recommend this place for a stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elessimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    156
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
86
388
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Myself and my partner have just returned from a week in one of Castle Houses more budget, one bedroom apartments (Apartment 40) and I can honestly say that I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Located just off Tjörnin (Reykjavik's beautiful city pond, we saw whooper swans, black head gulls, eider ducks and others), the apartments are just behind the Frikirken (Free Church) and literally next door to the National Gallery, it is perfectly situated to enjoy all of Reykjavik City Centre without being disturbed by its famous night life.

The apartment itself was perfectly well equipped with all the sorts of things that you might need on a holiday in a city. We specifically chose to stay in an apartment so that we could cook at least some of our own meals and keep costs down (plenty of excellent restaurants nearby though). The kitchen is tiny but well appointed and perfectly clean. There is no oven but there are two hobs and a microwave and well as pots, pans, plates, bowls, mugs, cups, cutlery, kitchen utensils, a toaster, kettle, filter coffee machine and a very welcome dishwasher! There is a fridge with a freezer compartment in the top.

24 hour grocery shops are a 5 minute walk from the apartment into the City Centre and there is a small shop just up the hill from the apartment which we discovered on our last day so cannot comment on its usefulness but the 24 places will see you fine for milk, bread eggs, pasta, fruit and veg etc.

The living room comes equipped with dining table and chairs, a comfy sofa which folds out into a second bed, a very comfy reclining chair, a TV and various side and coffee tables, it is very comfy and homely. One point is that our TV (with satellite UK channels) made a high pitched screechy noise when we first turned it on, it went away quickly but I did forget to mention this to anyone at Castle House.

The bed room has a very comfy double bed and side tables and there is storage for clothes etc. in here and in a large closet/cupboard in the living room which also contains an ironing board.

The bathroom is small but perfectly formed with a folding shower cubicle type arrangement that utilises the small space well. The floor of the bathroom can get very wet all over when using the shower but the underfloor heating (a welcome surprise) deals with this very quickly.

There is a cleaning service most days that we did not use while we were staying there but they left clean towels outside our apartment every day until we stopped brining them inside.

We experienced no problems with their check in service. We arrived and spoke to someone on an intercom who opened the main door and our keys were in a named envelope on the counter just inside. There is no physical reception desk or anything but the staff are contactable by phone (also provided) 24 hours a day.

I am sure I have missed out some things worth mentioning (free WiFi, free tea & coffee) but all in all this is an excellent option for your stay in Reykjavik.

I would advise that you read the other reviews, especially if you are concerned about noise, some of the apartments have wooden floors while some have concrete and the wooden ones do not act as a very good sound barrier apparently, we have very little trouble with noise during our stay but you can hear people coming and going and using the stairs of the building.

Clean, tidy, comfy, well positioned, no cheese grater in the kitchen. 9.5/10

Room Tip: Check out which rooms suffer from noise from neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeenEllFawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank's for your very positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all the little touches we have added for our guest’s comfort.
There is wooden flooring on the top floor. Apartments 10 and 40 (which you stayed in) are directly below. We have now added large and good looking rugs to apartments 20 and 30 so less noise carries through and now get very few complaints about noise.. 10 and 40 have concrete floors, so the apartments below (50 and 60) are not affected by this. The studios (61 and 62) are in a seperate building so also not affected. We also own the Embassy Luxury Apartments where all floors are concrete.
We have a 24 our reception in the office at the back of the building. When we need to leave the office to tend to the apartments we make sure we let you in immediately via the intercom and phone you when you are in the apartment to make sure everything is in order and to answer any questions. You can also reach us 24/7 via phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A comfortable apartment with all that we needed at a great location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our one bedroom apartment suited us perfectly. Even though the apartment building is behind the Free Church, we had a great view of the Pond from our living room window. Although we dined in restaurants, it was nice to be able to fix our own breakfast in the morning and keep a supply of food available in a very well equiped kitchen. Shopping in a grocery store also allowed us an interesting cultural experience. Plenty of room for storage and very quiet accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monck3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We arrived early in the morning and had no problems getting access to the apartment, which was warm and welcoming on a cold snowy night. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, the rooms are a little small but well laid out. The kitchenette was well designed and had everything we needed, hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea towel, coffee and tea etc, hard to believe that so much can be fitted into such a small room. Lovely underfloor heating in the bathroom and the bed was really comfy.
Nice, quiet location and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcat097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Luxury Apartments

Property: Castle House Luxury Apartments
Address: Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,114 - ₹ 23,594
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House Luxury Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Castle House Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing