We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good base for Reykjavik”
Review of Fosshotel Raudara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Raudara
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The staff were all very helpful, very close to all the attractions, the church about 5 minutes one direction and the main street of shops 10 mins. Breakfast was wonderful, it really set you up for the day. The rooms could do with a a decorate, but it was clean and room service was very good, beds made up everyday and restocked toiletries and tea/coffee bits. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Underfloor heating, tea making facilities, safe, hairdryer. Downside was the ventilation in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Reykjavik's famous church and 10 minutes away from its main shopping thoroughfare where local food establishments abound.

The room we had overlooked a neighboring apartment building while providing a view of snow capped mountains in the distance.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Our room was at the end of a corridor so we were away from the usual noise of a busy corridor.

Unfortunately, the walls lack soundproofing, as we could clearly hear doors open and close. In addition we would occasionally hear conversations in neighboring rooms.

The bathroom had a Jacuzzi style tub, which could be filled with naturally heated water which we were warned could reach 175 degrees F.

We had a car. Parking was a minor hassle, as we had to ask to be let in and out of agated parking lot. Otherwise we could park on the street which had few open spots.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is close to the city centre, within 3 minutes you're on the main shopping street and 15 minutes walking will take you to the city centre. The staff at the hotel is very helpful as they are prepared to help you book tours, advice on museums and arrange breakfast before hours and a transfer to the airport. The breakfast is very varied with many breadrolls, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and fruit. The lobby and breakfast room look quite modern, however the rooms are a bit outdated. They're fine, but they could do with some revamping as the furniture and wallpaper is quite old fashioned. They're not big at all but they contain everything needed like a good bed, a little seating area, closet and a desk. Overall the rooms are clean but the shower could have been cleaner.

Considering the value for money though the hotel is good. The location is good, breakfast and service are perfect and the rooms are fine as well. Our double room was 130 euros per night, including breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank exploringwithjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

...but I'm confused, this is the 4th Fosshotel I've stayed at in Iceland, usually with a 'brand' hotel you expect a certain amount of consistency, well obviously not with Fosshotel, two of four have been amazing and the other two (Rauđará being one) have been adequate, they can't be faulted but they've just fallen short of what I have experienced at the others.
The staff are perfectly friendly and can't do enough to help, the rooms are clean and comfortable but looking tired.
Had I not experienced the standards at other Fosshotels then this one would probably have got a higher rating but when guests come to reception and say they've been given someone else's room, plugs sockets are hanging out of the walls and other little points fall short of the others it's hard to give a higher rating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank jdb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Fosshotel Raudaura.

The hotel is centrally located, but
to be honest our room was quite dated and not the modern/contemporary type as seen on the website.
( I think they were photos of another of the local Foss hotels/few that have been renovated.)
However, it was clean and comfortable, so no real need to complain.
Word of warning though.
The hot water comes out piping hot so be careful not to scald yourself when showering. It also smells of sulphur.
The cold is extremely cold, but fresh and drinkable.
As all other reviews, breakfast is the best bit. It's very good, with a choice of hot or cold and fresh fruit, yoghurt, supplied.
However, it was very disappointing on our last day.
We had a 6am start, before heading to the airport, and only dry bread for toasting. Along with a little jam and ham/cheese.
We had asked for a grab and go bag, but would've been charged for it had we gone ahead.

**The hotel staff I have to say are lovely and always willing to help in whatever way they can**

We would recommend a stay here as compared to other hotels it's reasonably priced.

Reykjavik.

We crammed lots into 3 days.
The Blue Lagoon 1st. Straight off the flight.
A great time to go before it got busy. A mooch around the sea front in the afternoon and Northern Lights that night.
The Golden Circle day 2 which was amazing and day 3 was spent walking up to the Perlan Observatory, where there is a great view of the city. Then wondering the city sights and old harbour in the afternoon.

Iceland is definitely worth a visit.
3 facts.
The people are so welcoming and friendly.
The temperature half of the UK.
The prices double UK.

Our favourite restaurant was the stone baked pizza house ....think it's called Eldo. The best pizzas ever!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KAZ17Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,757 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Raudara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Raudara

Address: Raudararstigur 37, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Best Western Hotel Reykjavik)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 9,359 - ₹ 20,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Raudara 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive and modern hotel located near the city centre. Family friendly and attentive service and calm atmosphere. With 85 comfortable rooms, including junior suites and family rooms. Free parking and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fosshotel Raudara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Reykjavík
Reykjavik Top Hotel
Top Hotel Reykjavik
Reykjavík Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing