We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveller rating
272
616
289
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
616
289
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread hot water the main shopping street minute walk single room happy hour hard boiled eggs reception staff stayed here for nights yogurt an early flight city centre northern lights reception area buffet breakfast cold cuts tea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Reykjavik's famous church and 10 minutes away from its main shopping thoroughfare where local food establishments abound.

The room we had overlooked a neighboring apartment building while providing a view of snow capped mountains in the distance.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Our room was at the end of a corridor so we were away from the usual noise of a busy corridor.

Unfortunately, the walls lack soundproofing, as we could clearly hear doors open and close. In addition we would occasionally hear conversations in neighboring rooms.

The bathroom had a Jacuzzi style tub, which could be filled with naturally heated water which we were warned could reach 175 degrees F.

We had a car. Parking was a minor hassle, as we had to ask to be let in and out of agated parking lot. Otherwise we could park on the street which had few open spots.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is close to the city centre, within 3 minutes you're on the main shopping street and 15 minutes walking will take you to the city centre. The staff at the hotel is very helpful as they are prepared to help you book tours, advice on museums and arrange breakfast before hours and a transfer to the airport. The breakfast is very varied with many breadrolls, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and fruit. The lobby and breakfast room look quite modern, however the rooms are a bit outdated. They're fine, but they could do with some revamping as the furniture and wallpaper is quite old fashioned. They're not big at all but they contain everything needed like a good bed, a little seating area, closet and a desk. Overall the rooms are clean but the shower could have been cleaner.

Considering the value for money though the hotel is good. The location is good, breakfast and service are perfect and the rooms are fine as well. Our double room was 130 euros per night, including breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank exploringwithjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

...but I'm confused, this is the 4th Fosshotel I've stayed at in Iceland, usually with a 'brand' hotel you expect a certain amount of consistency, well obviously not with Fosshotel, two of four have been amazing and the other two (Rauđará being one) have been adequate, they can't be faulted but they've just fallen short of what I have experienced at the others.
The staff are perfectly friendly and can't do enough to help, the rooms are clean and comfortable but looking tired.
Had I not experienced the standards at other Fosshotels then this one would probably have got a higher rating but when guests come to reception and say they've been given someone else's room, plugs sockets are hanging out of the walls and other little points fall short of the others it's hard to give a higher rating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank jdb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Fosshotel Raudaura.

The hotel is centrally located, but
to be honest our room was quite dated and not the modern/contemporary type as seen on the website.
( I think they were photos of another of the local Foss hotels/few that have been renovated.)
However, it was clean and comfortable, so no real need to complain.
Word of warning though.
The hot water comes out piping hot so be careful not to scald yourself when showering. It also smells of sulphur.
The cold is extremely cold, but fresh and drinkable.
As all other reviews, breakfast is the best bit. It's very good, with a choice of hot or cold and fresh fruit, yoghurt, supplied.
However, it was very disappointing on our last day.
We had a 6am start, before heading to the airport, and only dry bread for toasting. Along with a little jam and ham/cheese.
We had asked for a grab and go bag, but would've been charged for it had we gone ahead.

**The hotel staff I have to say are lovely and always willing to help in whatever way they can**

We would recommend a stay here as compared to other hotels it's reasonably priced.

Reykjavik.

We crammed lots into 3 days.
The Blue Lagoon 1st. Straight off the flight.
A great time to go before it got busy. A mooch around the sea front in the afternoon and Northern Lights that night.
The Golden Circle day 2 which was amazing and day 3 was spent walking up to the Perlan Observatory, where there is a great view of the city. Then wondering the city sights and old harbour in the afternoon.

Iceland is definitely worth a visit.
3 facts.
The people are so welcoming and friendly.
The temperature half of the UK.
The prices double UK.

Our favourite restaurant was the stone baked pizza house ....think it's called Eldo. The best pizzas ever!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KAZ17Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

My stay was wonderful at the hotel: comfortable rooms, good location, great breakfast… But specially, the people in the desk were very friendly and helpful, trying to answer to all our needs. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mireiacanelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews