We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmannalaugar”
Review of Discover Iceland

Discover Iceland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER is a dynamic adventure travel operator in Iceland offering wide range of day and multi day tours and adventures to suit your desires with luxury. We are here to help you discover all the amazing things you can experience in the Icelandic nature. Our experienced driver guides will take you on a true adventure journeys around the most spectacular Icelandic hotspots in our modified luxury 4x4 Off Road Trucks. We provide you with personal service and make sure you have a memorable trip with us. Discover Ltd is registered tour operator by the Icelandic Tourist Board and cares about your safety on our trips.
Burnham on Crouch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Landmannalaugar”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Although relatively expensive this trip proved to be the highlight of a fantastic holiday. Travelling in March, the F208 road was completely hidden by snow, but with an incredible 4 by 4 and driver we navigated some of the most awesome scenery of mountains, lava fields, rivers and volcanoes to reach our goal of Landmannalaugar. Here we stripped off and sat in the thermal springs surrounded by snow and enjoyed a great lunch. A fantastic day, which we would now like to repeat in the summer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    73
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view of Iceland”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

It was a great experience for my honeymoon with my wife. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on the trip, and it was a good one-day excursion to see some of the best sights that Iceland's natural landscape has to offer. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna, and gave us many insights as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I went to the SuperJeep trip on Landsjokull glacier with George and it is till date one of the best trips I have made so far. George is an excellent guide and he took all of us to beautiful places on the glacier. We were with a group of cars and George made sure we had a great time. He also drove us across water streams. In short, we had a wonderful trip and I will recommend this trip to everyone who visits Iceland. Its an experience you will never forget.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnkitSharma1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, Adventuresome, safe, great service”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

With a very good and pleasant guide we went to the South Shore, walked on a glacier, saw amazing seascapes, waterfalls, interesting rock formations, volcanoes, and beautiful countryside. The highlightwas driving in a cave on the side of the mountain, near tthe surf.
An excellent experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is the best way to see and learn about Iceland”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked with Discover 4x4 tours from the hotel - it was fairly expensive but worth every penny. We shared the jeep with another couple and had a fun filled fantastic day. The Golden Circle tour was combined for us with the Discover Thorsmork and Eyjafjallajokull Volcano.
What a fantastic day. Off roading means you see things like the Glacier Gigjkull up close within touching distance which you could never see on a bus tour -- we stood in the lake bed and marvelled at natures strength. We looked into craters that once held iceburgs under the lake. It was just the best of days.
I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Our guide was knowlegable and fun to be with -- we learnt so much about the country and the people.
If we had a longer stay we would have gone out with Discover again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank exploreandwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Discover Iceland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing