We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Icelandic Mountain Guides tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Icelandic Mountain Guides
from US$ 222.32
More Info
from US$ 1,874.11
More Info
from US$ 399.09
More Info
from US$ 313.89
More Info
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
934
116
19
9
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
116
19
9
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier walk blue ice experience ice climbing skaftafell national park hotel anna northern lights glacier tongue solheimajokull glacier ice picks hour hike nights tour hiking boots dairy farm amazing glacier hot springs tomato soup tomato farm
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Last Friday the 23rd my wife and I were lucky to do the ‘Take a walk on the ice side’ day trip.
Of all the trips we did over our 5 day visit this was no.1 for both of us.
We were picked up by Margrét our guide and driver of the mini bus, we couldn’t of asked for more, she was a fantastic guide with plenty of knowledge about Iceland and mountaineering. I would defiantly recommend mini bus tours over the large coaches. Little more expensive but way more fun.
After the glacier walk we visited some outstanding waterfalls, pictures don’t do them justice.
Overall great company and a most excellent day out.
Thanks from Mark & Lara - Ireland

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for the review! So glad to hear our tour was the highlight of your visit. Margrét will be happy to hear you had a good day with her, we'll make sure she gets the message. Thank you for choosing Icelandic Mountain guides and recommending us, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We enjoyed the Sólheimajökull Glacier Walk in mid March, with Andrea Geirsdóttir as our guide. We were a small group, only four people, which was great. We saw coach groups, walking in a slow-moving bunch, and were glad to be in our little gaggle. Andrea made sure we were all kitted out correctly, and then we were off, with a brief history lesson about the region and the glacier to start with. She set a good pace, perfect for our group, and kept us topped up with information, funny stories and advice. The glacier was staggeringly beautiful, with plenty of stops for photos (we have loads!) Make sure you have good walking boots, but you can hire these if you need to: you will be wearing crampons on the glacier. If you don't have really good outdoor/waterproof gear, this too is available. It is hard to pick a highlight from our week, but the glacier walk is right up at the top. Thanks Andrea, Ray & Sonja

Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for the review Sonja! Glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. Our guides love to take people on adventures and have a lot of knowledge they like to share. Andrea will be happy to know you had a good day with her. Thank you for choosing us and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Tryggvi aka “T” made this THE best excursion trips I have ever been on. He was beyond friendly, informational, kind and patient. He listed to what we were looking for in an ice climb and picked the appropriate level of difficulty for our group. It was beyond anything we could have exspected!
MOST IMPORTANTLY, he acted like there was nothing else more important than showing us the best possible time. We were on of the first on the mountain and last to leave!
Would recommend this trip to anyone. More importantly would recommend Tryggvi to ALL! Thanks T!!!

Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Fantastic! So glad to hear you had such a good time on the tour, Tryggvi will love to hear how happy you were. Thank you for the recommendation and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Amazing day at the glacier Solheimarjokull. Fantastic instruction and storytelling on a safe, exciting and complete experinece.

Absolutely worth every penny

Thank thetravellingbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMGMountainGuides, Guest Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

We are so happy to hear you had an amazing day and thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I had high hopes for my glacier walk, but just over an hour before the scheduled hike, we were contacted and told the tour had been canceled due to weather. The drive from Reykjavik to get to the glacier is 2 1/2 hours. Thus, we were half-way to the meeting point before they tried to contact us. It is understandable that weather conditions change quickly, but just a little bit more planning on the tour company's part could have saved us from a very long drive and let us adjust our schedule to participate in some other available activity. When you're in a country for a limited amount of time, every minute counts so it was a big disappointment to lose more than 1/2 day, even though the drive was beautiful.

Thank 185chrisgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMGMountainGuides, Director of Sales at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear 185chrisgl

First, I want to thank you for your review. Feedback from our customers is a cornerstone of our operation and a key part in providing good service.

I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

The weather in Iceland can be very unpredictable and can change rapidly. We monitor the weather forecast closely and make our decisions according to the latest forecast to ensure the safety of our clients. We have very clear rules and processes that we follow in case we have to cancel any of our tours to ensure that our customers get all the necessary information as soon as possible.

Although we monitor the weather forecast constantly, we also need to rely on reports from our guides on location. Unfortunately, the weather forecast is just that, a forecast, and occasionally the reality is completely different.

Canceling a tour an hour before departure does not happen often and we understand how inconvenient this can be for our clients. Therefore, a last minute cancelation of a tour is something we try to avoid.

However, if the weather turns on us there is really nothing we can do but cancel the tour and inform our clients as quickly as possible. No planning can prevent a last minute cancellation if the forecast is not accurate or the weather turns unexpectedly.

I assume you have been issued a full refund for the tour and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland.

If you have any further questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at bardi@mountainguides.is

Best regards,
Barði Theódórsson
Director, Sales and Service department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews