We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, clean and basic guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse Borgartun
Ranked #66 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Generally clean throughout the guest house. appears to have good security arrangements. There's a small lift serving to the top floors.
Owners happy to serve breakfast earlier when requested for.

Location : situated by main roads and rooms facing the main road can be noisy ,however, you get a view of the sea and amazing sunsets and sunrises. Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is of a concrete jungle /boring buildings... so, take your pick.
There's a supermarket close by and a reasonably priced restraurant in the Hotel Cabin next door. They do a great value evening buffet for about £8.
A bit of a walk into town but I didn't mind that . However, there's something to be said about staying centrally as the atmosphere is great in Reykajvik day or night.

Rooms: spacious for one person but a little cramped for two. One of the beds is jammed up to the radiator which could be uncomfortable for someone.
There's adequate storage and hanging space. There's a TV that is perched a little way up high and you''ll need to lie down in bed to see the screen properly, otherwise you just might end up with a crick in your neck .
Ensuite rooms, bath and face towels, soap supplied. Good strong shower.
The water in the taps do smell of sulphur and takes a bit of getting used to but then you'd expect that as Iceland's households tap into their natural suphurous thermal water supplies. My friend drank the water and survives to this day but I couldn't handle the smell so I stuck with odour-free bottled water :)
The rooms are warm, bed very comfortable.

The wiring and plug socket arrangements in my room was a bit dodgy, temperamental as the bedside lamp kept going out with the slightest of movement when trying to plug in my charger. There was only one plug point at floor level and had a three socket extension lead attached.. However, it was behind the bed and too short to be brought forward so had to lean over awkwardly behind the bed every night trying to manage the plugging in and out which in turn affected the bedside light.
The other plug point was too high up on the wall to be reasonably accessible ! Not sure why it was placed so high up..at least 7-8 feet from floor level.

Breakfast : was ok, nothing extraordinary. Soya milk available.
Cereals, bread, pastries, fruit. juices , eggs, salted fish, various processed meat slices, cheese and jams
Take note of the old pictures on the dining room wall- interesting to see how some of the glaciers and landscapes have changed/disappeared over time due to weather and geological shifts.
Some of the seating in the breakfast room was too tightly spaced and a bit irritaing to be hemmed in and can't push chair back .

Computer : it's available in the sitting room but very slooow. No free Wifi :( In fact it's quite limited elsewhere in Reykajvik too !)
PC not readily advertised and password only if asked for.
There's a coffee/tea/chocolate drinks machine on the second floor but there's a charge - I think it costed about £2.50- too exorbitant I think .
Overall impression : clean, basic, and comfortable - no major niggles.

Room Tip: Comfy shoes to ensure a comfy long walk into town.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NearlyThere63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Borgartun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

I enjoyed the breakfast, the room was clean and had everything I need from a hotel room. The location was a little bit too far out of town. If I was staying for one to two nights I wouldn't mind the walk in to town as the scenery is lovely, but after walking several times it gets a bit waring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This place is great. I actaully checked out of the Hotel Cabin (which is next door) to stay here again. The rooms are bigger and cleaner than the Cabin, and the bathrooms are nicer. They provide a great breakfast, bar soap, face cloths, towels, and extra pillows.

Plus - the bathrooms do have a hairdryer (unlike Hotel Cabin).

I reccomend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriptoIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We arrived by the Flybus at nearly 3AM, buzzed and were immediately let in and welcomed by the pleasant Guesthouse Manager. We stayed 4 nights in total. The breakfast spread was lovely and authentically Icelandic. Copious amounts of coffee, breads, meats, fish, hard-boiled eggs and not to mention an amazing tomato jam spread nourished us every morning before sightseeing. We had an early morning departure and a special breakfast was left for us, which we were not expecting and were so grateful for. The reviews are correct- the Guesthouse is about a 20 minute walk into the city and the hostel is just around the corner (farther from the city center). The walk didn't bother us as it was a gorgeous one- walking along the seaside pathway, looking out into the distant mountains or, on the other side, Hallgrímskirkja, which was our favorite point of reference in Reykjavík. We would definitely stay again, based on the excellent service, price, and cleanliness. In regards to the location- my tip would be to splurge and book in the 101 (city center) during a night that you go out, and spend the rest of your nights at Borgartun. Another tip: As we did so many excursions/sightseeing our first few days, we didn't have time to have a hot, sit down meal one of the nights we got back to the Guesthouse. We didn't want to make the trek into the center to find food, but found a 10 11 store nearby (they are open 24 hours). The clerk let us use the microwave and we dined on tv dinners and chatted with locals. Great experience. Anyway, Iceland is an amazing place, and you will not be disappointed with Borgartun if you need basic, affordable accommodations. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farfallasnitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

nothing fancy but relatively cheap for an icelandic hotel.
breakfast was good
rooms were big and comfortable
if you don't expect room service or marble floors then this is your hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliope74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,093 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,684 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,006 reviews
Háaleiti
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
#81 of 108 in Reykjavik
72 reviews
Laugardalur
Tower Suites Reykjavik
Tower Suites Reykjavik
#26 of 108 in Reykjavik
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 8,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Guesthouse Borgartun 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing