We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Iceland”
Review of The Capital-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital-Inn
Ranked #67 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed at The Capital Inn for 5 nights at the end of this January as a 21 year old solo traveler. Having arrived at the inn at around 130 in the morning, I rang the buzzer and was given my key. Upon opening my door I was pleasantly surprised at how big and spacious the room was. The room itself looked much more modern then I was expecting. There was a closet, sink, alarm clock, TV, a reading light above the bed, along with other little things that gave the room good taste. There was also free wi-fi, that I took advantage of. I later found out that I was given a double room instead of a single room as they were renovating some of the single rooms. This was fine by me! The room itself was very clean, beds were comfortable, and every day the bed was made and new towels were given.

I did have to share a bathroom with the hall (one for men, and one for women), but this was never a problem. The bathroom was also clean and well maintained. There was never a noise issue at night (and I am a light sleeper). I did have a room that was not facing the highway so this may have helped. It does seem to cater to a younger crowd and I could hear music coming from the rooms when I walked down the hall at night. It wasn't too loud, but the door to my room was heavy and solid enough that it blocked any of it out. I did see older adults there too, so it appears it caters to all age groups.

Breakfast was basic but adequate. There were different breads, jams, and spreads, three choices of cereal with milk and yoghurt. There were also meats and cheese. Two different kinds of juices were offered with coffee available too, along with some other things. You would be hard pressed to find a place to stay at $27 a night including a free breakfast!

The staff was very friendly. I talked with the owner several times, and he helped me out in suggesting good places to eat and took the time to draw the locations out on a little map. If you had any questions, they were willing to help you out.

The location itself could be a little better. To the Hallgrímskirkja church it was about a 25 minute walk. However, I am young and didn't mind it one bit. It is located in a quiet neighborhood and I actually found the walks into town quite enjoyable. Reykjavik is an excellent town for walking as there are foot and bike paths everywhere. However, if you are older, then you might find this a bit of an issue. I was out late one night and did get a taxi back to the inn from town center. It cost me around 1300 ISK or about $12.70. So a taxi is still reasonable.

The Capital Inn also has bicycles and motorbikes to rent, and the prices seemed reasonable. I would have rented a bike but being that the weather was windy and rainy, I'll have to save that for the next time I stay at the Capital Inn.

In conclusion, the Capital Inn offers excellent value for money. I found the rooms to be very clean and modern, the service was excellent, and the free breakfast was more than adequate for the price you pay. The only downside may be the location. It just depends on whether or not you like walking. I didn't mind the 25 minute walk into town, but some people may find that as a bit of a downside. Either way, I highly recommend the Capital Inn when you visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kuhner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for The Capital-Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 244 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

The guesthouse is conveniently located in a nice quiet neighbourhood and in a walking distance from the Perlan as well as from the downtown of Reykjavik (if you don't rent a car or go with the city tours, it will take you only 30 minutes to reach the city centre). As for service, an incredibly friendly staff works at the place and is always ready to answer any of your questions or provide essential information. I wouldn't say that the rooms are spacious but they are surely comfortable and kept tidy. So, the Capital-Inn is a wonderful and sweet place to stop at if you're going to Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This was my first trip to Iceland, and the Capital Inn is a great place to stay. It is in Reykjavik, near a great bakery and lots of lighted trails. They even have bikes you can rent. The value was incredible and the rooms were very clean. We shared a bathroom, which was no problem, and enjoyed meeting the others staying there, mostly students during the winter. The staff was so helpful and friendly. As an added convenience, there is a wonderful continental breakfast available, and we had breakfast every morning we were there. I will be staying here again when I return to Iceland and have already recommended this property for a couple of friends going there in February.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NordicFunAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

No stairs, very pricey for what it was at $50/night. Shared bathroom was relatively clean but was more like a hostel. The beds were uncomfortable, and the walls were so paper thin I could hear my neighbor sneeze. I stupidly booked a non-refundable reservation on booking.com. I stayed one night and switched to the centerhotel klopp and was much more comfortable. If you are used to slumming it, are a backpacker, or are not a fussy sleeper or sensitive about these things, then it should be fine for you. I am a value traveller, but not a backpacker. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This was the first place we stayed upon arrival in Iceland, and it was perfect for us. We made the most of the room by sleeping in the morning (they were kind enough to let us have the room before the regular check-in hour) and again at night. The room was clean, roomy, had a sink and a TV and plenty of electrical outlets. The Inn provides a "continental breakfast" in the morning which was quite satisfactory. Although the location is not the best (a bit of a walk to the bus station), the shuttle from the airport dropped us off at the Inn upon request, and the staff were great with directions and information, making us feel right at home. Our night here was a good start to a month-long Icelandic adventure and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capitalinn, Owner at The Capital-Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2010

HI,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay with us, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and I hope that you had a nice trip home.

Regards

Arni Solonsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
1,121 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#39 of 109 in Reykjavik
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bus Hostel
#12 of 109 in Reykjavik
335 reviews
Igdlo Guesthouse
#31 of 108 in Reykjavik
208 reviews
Háaleiti
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
#82 of 108 in Reykjavik
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital-Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital-Inn

Address: Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 1,803 - ₹ 10,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Capital-Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital-Inn is ideally positioned for you to experience all that the vibrant city of Reykjavik has to offer. You are within easy walking distance to great restaurants and cafés and impressive shopping at the ,,Kringlan"shopping mall. The ,,Perlan" is just up the street from us, the city centre and the geothermal beach are also just minutes away.The Capital-Inn offers accommodation in spacious budget rooms with shared or private facilities. The guest-house also offers hostel beds on its ground floor with shared facilities. The guest-house offers guests in private rooms a complimentary breakfast, the guests staying in the hostel beds have usage of a large kitchen and a walk-in fridge. The guest-house offers bicycle rental, it also has a new pool table and a seating area where there is a small section with books for guests to borrow while they are staying here. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in the whole building as well as free parking. Situated near the airport, in Reykjavik, this guesthouse is close to Reykjavik University, Hallgrimskirkja, and Perlan. Also nearby are Kringlan Shopping Mall and Kopavogur Art Museum.Hotel restaurant. In addition to a restaurant, The Capital-Inn features ski storage. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry service. Premium satellite Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, desks, and clock radios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing